May 15 1 Chronicles 25,26,27; 1 Thessalonians 4

Check out our resources page! We have printable reading plans that include a few verses, a couple chapters, or the full reading plan. Each plan is in the same portions of Scripture each day. Get the whole family reading! Start small, but start now!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Healthy Appetite | Kelley DeAses

S~  … that each of you should learn to control his own body in a way that is holy and honorable… 1 Thessalonians 4:4 (NIV)

O~  In this passage, Paul is mainly addressing issues of lust and sexual immorality — keeping our bodies in check and under control.  But I don’t think it’s too far a reach to imagine we should likewise keep reign over not only our sexual appetites but also our appetite for food.

A~  For most of the past decade, but with heightened awareness lately, I am struggling to maintain a healthy weight, which translates into keeping a consistent exercise and activity routine and making better food choices.  In Lysa Terkeurst’s book Made to Crave, which takes on the nearly universal struggle for women in “middle age,” she told a personal story which has stuck with me.  Lysa came to discover her high-school aged son was getting out of bounds sexually with a girl he was dating and Lysa was forced to sit down with him and address issues of keeping his body pure and exercising self control, some of the same ideas Paul covers in this letter to the Thessalonians.  After her parental lecture, and feeling emotionally charged following such a hard conversation with her adolescent boy, she made a bee-line for the kitchen to indulge in some sweet treat from the pantry.  She was struck by the double standard:  She had asked her boy to control his strong desires, but she was unable to control her own.  Ouch!

P~  Father, As I seek to be Yours more and more, empower my thoughts and actions more and more to come under Your authority, to include and especially in the way of the discipline of eating sensibly and exercising for good health, so as to be a witness to the power of the Holy Spirit living in me.

My Ambition | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  This should be your ambition: to live a quiet life, minding your own business and working with your hands, just as we commanded you before.  1 Thessalonians 4:11  (NLT)

O~  Living a quiet life, should be my ambition.

A~  This verse gives me direction.  I had not really had a desire to do a specific thing in my life.  I don’t yet know what I want to be when I grow up.  Problem is I’m all grown up and I sometimes struggled with the fact that I haven’t really “went” after anything.  I always though of ambition as something you either have or you don’t, but here it sounds like it is what you choose to chase after. Life was just too busy to think of anything other than my husband and children and home.  This verse gives me direction now and also confirms that I was on the right track before.  I didn’t “miss out” on something, instead I was living just how this verse is encouraging me to live now: a quiet life, minding my own business and working with my hands (cause boy, those kiddos kept my hands and feet busy!)

P~ Thank you, dear Father, for encouraging me.  I love you. Amen.

Live With Hope | Kim Chipman

S~ Make it your goal to live a quiet life, minding your own business and working with your hands, just as we instructed you before. Then people who are not believers will respect the way you live, and you will not need to depend on others. And now, dear brothers and sisters, we want you to know what will happen to the believers who have died[a] so you will not grieve like people who have no hope. 1 Thessalonians 4:11-13 (NLT)

O~ Paul is teaching on 2 topics in this chapter: living to please God, and the hope of the resurrection.

A~ There have been SO MANY things in my life lately that have brought high priority to recognizing there is urgency in how I live. My nephew passed away, a friend with a serious cancer diagnosis, 2 friends’ mothers passed, another friend’s mother very ill, a man from church critically ill VERY quickly…the list goes on and on it seems.

But the hope we have as believers is that this is not the end of the story. We grieve, because we miss our loved ones, but “will not grieve like people who have no hope.” In Christ we have the hope of heaven! Of eternity with You! Oh, I can’t WAIT!!

This makes how I live my life that much more important. One thing I know to be true is that I cannot share Jesus with anyone that does not respect me. Live a quiet life, mind my own business, work…THEN there may be an opportunity to share the hope I have in You. I need to live in such a way that I have the relational permission to speak about You and share You.

My life is but a breath. I don’t want to waste my days! This time is precious! There is urgency! There are no guarantees.

P~ Lord, help me to see clearly today, and each day, what Your priorities are for my day. I know life is short and I want to bring as many people to heaven with me as I possibly can! I love You!

Taking Care Of Business…Mine, Yours, and Everyone Else’s! | Michelle Myers

S~ Do all you can to live a peaceful life.  Take care of your own business, and do your own work as we have already told you. 1 Thessalonians 4:11 (NCV)

O/A~ This morning I had to really work at “keeping my peace”.  The towels that I told my daughter to put into the dryer last night, when I was gone to my meeting, didn’t get put into the dryer.  I would have done it myself, except, I was busy driving to pick her from an activity she wanted to do and then making dinner, before my meeting.  When I opened the dryer and saw no towels, I was frustrated.  This happens A LOT.  They have normal chores that they are to do daily and weekly.  They are posted on a board, with Velcro strips, so they can be removed once the job is accomplished.  The putting the towels in the dryer, wasn’t on the board.  However, I did tell her twice and get confirmation before I left last night, that she knew what was expected of her.

Some of my frustration came from the fact, that I now had to give her the consequences that my husband and I came up with, which is 3 days without her phone.  The set consequence is a boundary for me. In the heat of the frustration, as lack of follow through is a HUGE issue in my family, I can let my emotions take over, and take everything away from her, but the hair on her head and the air in her lungs.  Once I calm down, and realize that I may have gone overboard, I have to humble myself and give more reasonable consequences.  I want her to have her phone.  I want her to be able to communicate with her friends.  I also wanted dry towels.  I also want to live a peaceful life (at least as much as possible, with 12 and 14 year old girls).

So, even though I didn’t do it  perfectly, as I probably reiterated too much, how many times we go through this and how frustrating it is, I was able to detach much quicker than I have in the past.  I gave her the consequences, and moved on to making the pancakes I was planning on making for breakfast.  Natural consequences for her (and everyone else that wanted to shower earlier in the morning), came when she came to get a wash cloth from our bathroom and we didn’t have any either.

Detaching is what kept me sane and functioning when I taught Jr. High kids.  It was much easier for me to detach at work, than it is for me to detach with my own kids.  My husband is just the opposite.  He can give a consequence to our kids, drop it, and move on.  Yet, at work, where he is the boss; he goes through the same emotions with his employees that I do with my girls.  He doesn’t like to write people up.  He doesn’t like to fire people.  He asks himself, “Why can they take care of their own business and do the work, the way they were told to do it?”

Now, prior to me actually working through this and giving out the consequence, I tried to find a loop hole for my daughter…….  “Maybe it’s because it isn’t posted on the board, and she forgot.” “Maybe she didn’t hear me when I thought she did.”……” MAYBE, MAYBE, and MAYBE!”……  This is one of my character deficits…too many chances, too many benefits of the doubt, and taking too much responsibility for someone else.  Suddenly, the Holy Spirit slapped me out of it, and I realized that I was doing it AGAIN, and that there was NO logical or reasonable explanation, as to why,  a 14 year old girl could not spend 1 minute, moving towels from the washer, to the dryer, putting a dryer sheet in there, and turning it on.  I could list a handful of other things she did with her time last night when she was done with her homework and regular chores….all benefiting her, all fun and entertaining for her, ALL about her!

In an effort to change my daughter’s behavior, and hopefully keep her from being like one of the adult employees that my husband ends up firing; I had to take care of my business and do my work of being a parent.  Because, nothing would keep me from living a peaceful life, like having my 30 year old daughter living with me, because she can’t keep a job and then eventually having to kick her out, because I couldn’t take it anymore.

P~ Thank you God for my children.  I love them and they are truly blessings.  Thank you also for making both of them pillars of wisdom.  I know that you have given this wisdom to them, because I often hear, “I know mom.” when I am giving directions or explaining something.  Now, I pray that you could just help them demonstrate some of this knowledge, by getting them to follow through, on all that they already know.  That way, I won’t waste my time and energy explaining it to them, or getting frustrated with them.  And, if this is not possible, because of that “free will thing” you gave to all of us, just help me keep my peace when dealing with them, handing out consequences, etc.; and remind me, that I have a husband that will be able to detach from them, when they are 30, and show them where the door is.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Posted on May 15, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

