May 14 1 Chronicles 22,23,24; 1 Thessalonians 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Success! | Kim Chipman

S~ For you will be successful if you carefully obey the decrees and regulations that the Lord gave to Israel through Moses. Be strong and courageous; do not be afraid or lose heart! 1 Chronicles 22:13 (NLT)

O~ David is making arrangements for the Temple to be built. He knows his son Solomon will be the one to build it, but he begins preparing long ahead of time to help him as much as he can. David is handing off the responsibility to Solomon with this advice.

A~ My kids are 15, 13, 10 and 10 right now. I feel a lot like David right here. I know there are magnificent things to be done for You, but not all of them are my assignment. As a Mom I am working to prepare in advance everything I can to help my children be successful. As they are entering their teens, however, I begin the hand off…handing my sweet children over to You.

v. 11 …”may the Lord be with you and give you success as you follow his directions”…

v. 12 “And may the Lord give you wisdom and understanding, that you may obey the Law of the Lord your God”…

v. 13 “For you will be successful if you carefully obey the decrees and regulations that the Lord gave to Israel through Moses. Be strong and courageous; do not be afraid or lose heart!”

To my sweet children: Do not follow ME! I try to be godly, but I mess up, and really, please I want you to follow Jesus and the Lord’s instructions to you! The Lord will be with you and you will be successful if you carefully obey God’s Word! You need to know what is contained in His Word for yourself. In it you can find LIFE and peace and wisdom and understanding! Precious children, be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid or lose heart! If you do, return to His Word to guide you. I love you!

P~ Lord, thank You for Your Word! Thank You that as I hand off my children to You that they can choose the life-giving discipline of sitting with You each day. You are just as available to them as You are to me. I pray they choose it! Please give them the hunger for Your Word – make their souls crave it. Thank You for the privilege of mothering these precious hearts. Help me do it well. I love You!

Everyone Has A Part | Michelle Myers

S~ You have many workmen—stone cutters, bricklayers, carpenters, and people skilled in every kind of work. 1 Chronicles 22:15 (NCV)

O~ My Bible notes say, “In service to God, everyone’s job remains important.  Each person’s part honors God.”

A~ I feel that I could easily replace “God” with family, when it comes to running a household and being part of a family unit.  When everyone is not doing their part, at their age and skill level, things do not function very well.  When people are doing their part, not only does the family and household function better, it is honoring the family unit.  This, in turn, honors God.

P~ Thank you God for your wisdom.  Now, as You know, the chances of this happening just because my kids see the wisdom and honor in it, at the ages of 12 and 14, is probably pretty slim.  So, I pray that you just show me how to respond, when it doesn’t.  I can get very frustrated.  I can become overly responsible.  I can be enabling.  None of this helps.  My main responsibility is to pay attention to me and my responses; and let them face the consequences.

I Choose God | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ But, of course you know that such troubles are going to happen to us Christians.  Even while we were with you, we warned you that troubles would soon come—and they did, as you well know.  1 Thessalonians 3:3-4  (NLT)

O~  When we turn to God we are not immune to suffering.

A~  So, when I came to God, I did come in hopes of not having troubles in my life.  But I soon learned that being with God was not some sort of force field.  When I read these verses, I felt as if I had made a bad decision.  That coming to God didn’t make things better after all. Then I realized that before I came to God, I had troubles and now being with God, his word tells me I will have troubles.  So either way I am going to have troubles, but now I face them with him by my side.  Umm, yes, I made a good decision!

P~  Dear Father, thank you for leading me to you.  Thank you for loving me so. I love you.

Strong Foundation | Carrie Newell

S~ So we have been greatly comforted, dear brothers and sisters, in all of our own crushing troubles and sufferings, because you have remained strong in your faith.  1 Thessalonians 3:7 (NLT)

O~ Paul’s letter to the church at Thessalonica to encourage them in their faith.  Paul is comforted by their strength. While going through persecution and hard times, they have remained strong in the Lord.

A~ Some of the strongest people I know have gone through incredible hardships.  Death of a child or spouse, substance abuse, illness, physical abuse, a failing marriage.  The strength and peace that they displayed during those times was not their own, but the Lord’s.  Their unwavering faith and strength led many around them to question why they would react to something so horrible in such an unexpected way.  It has led others (myself included)  to believe that they could also be strong in the Lord through terrible circumstances.

And now, I can say that this has come full circle for me.  I have watched others rely on God’s strength through sufferings.  The human spirit striving to see a loving God amidst their pain is beautiful.  When I went through my own troubles, I knew to seek the Lord.  It wasn’t pretty, but the foundation laid before my illness sustained me in such a way that no matter how bad it got, I knew there was solid ground beneath me.  And the more I memorized scripture and relied on prayer, the more distance I felt between me and the bottom of the pit.  As I share my story, just like this scripture says, it seems to bring hope and comfort to others also.  What a gift to see my pain being used for good!

P~ Father, thank you for the gift of community.  Thank you for making the human spirit so beautiful when we rely on you.  Help me to continue to lay my foundation in you, so that when trouble rises up, I have a safe place to rest.  And help me share my story to help others lay their foundations too.  Amen.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

Posted on May 14, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

