May 12 2 Samuel 21,22,23; 1 Thessalonians 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan 

Spilled Milk | Jill Terry

S~ For You are my lamp, O LORD; And the LORD illumines my darkness. 2 Samuel 22:29 (NAS)

O~ God is the light of the world. Darkness may creep into our lives but with God as our lamp, the darkness flees.

A~ Some days, my problems seem overwhelming and weigh me down. But by turning to God and allowing Him to light my path or allowing Him to put someone in my path, my issues are easier to handle.

This morning at Bible study, a subject came up that is very difficult for me. I was holding it together pretty well until I went into the kitchen to put away the coffee creamer. I dropped the bottle, the lid popped off and creamer was everywhere. Two of the woman there came into the kitchen to help me clean up. One of them asked me if I was okay and I started crying. We hugged, talked and we prayed. The exact thing I needed without even recognizing it at the time. I realized reading this verse that not only is God my lamp, He graciously put a group of women in my life to help me, hug me and pray with me when life gets hard and I am so grateful for it.

P~ Thank you Lord for being my lamp, for removing the darkness and for placing these wonderful woman in my life.

A Better Way To Live | Michelle Myers

S~ You give me a better way to live, so I live as you want me to.  2 Samuel 22:37 (NCV)

O/A~ The life I have today, was never the life that I envisioned or planned for myself in so many ways.  I always envisioned living a more peaceful life than the one I grew up with.  I envisioned having a healthier, more fulfilling marriage than the one my parents have.  I envisioned having a better relationship with my own children than the one that I have with my mother.   In many ways, the end result of what I envisioned, has come to be.  What I didn’t envision, was the path that it would take to get us here.

One of my sorority sisters posted this quote this morning on Facebook: “For a seed to achieve its greatest expression, it must be completely undone.  The shell cracks, its insides come out and everything changes.  To someone who doesn’t understand growth, it would look like complete destruction.”  Cynthia Occe.

It took me along time to realize, that much of what I thought was a better way to live, was actually what was keeping me from a better life.  You had to get me to the point where I literally could not do it on my own anymore.  I had to choose the path that I felt You had given me, or the path I thought would make others happy with me.  You had to strip me of all that I thought was important and would bring me happiness, worth, and value.  You had to challenge my thinking, my beliefs, and my economy.  You had to crack my shell.  You had to take out all the yuk in me from my childhood, my marriage, and even from the words, expectations, etc. that I placed on myself; and align it with what Your will and plan was for my life, so I could be the person You created me to be.

I didn’t always go “Your way” willingly.  I didn’t always go without a fight.  Eventually, even though it was scary, unpopular, and not what the world would tell me was wise; I followed you. With doubts, confusion, and many times because of sheer exhaustion from trying and not getting anywhere with myself or with people, I put my trust in you.

Had I not, I may still have a house and a job, but we could still be living in the misery were before I left.  My husband could still be immersed in his addiction.  I would still be worn out from trying to handle it all.  My kids would still be suffering from living in a dysfunctional environment.  We probably would still have a lot of “stuff” that really didn’t improve our quality of life.  I would still be snuffing out who You created me to be, so I could appease my mom.  Which never really worked, because there is something wrong on the inside of her; that NO change from outside circumstances or people will ever make right.  After I left, filed, and lost everything; and my husband decided to “fight” for our marriage;  had I followed people and even my own pride, insecurities, etc.; my family would not be together today.  My kids would have lost out on seeing a mostly functioning, two parent household.  All of us, would have lost out on tremendous growth opportunities for us as individuals.  And in the end, probably would still be stuck in some very unhealthy cycles and patterns.  All in all, we all would have missed out on the better way of living You had planned for us, and NONE of what I had envisioned for my life would have come to be.

P~ Thank you God for the work you have done within me.  It wasn’t without pain, confusion, or sacrifice.  I am still not perfect, and I never will be; but it is getting easier to overcome my flesh, my emotions, and my way.  Please continue to help me; as I know, that is what  truly and authentically, is going to give me the better way to live that You desire for me and my family.

Perfect | Kim Chipman

S~ God’s way is perfect. All the Lord’s promises prove true. He is a shield for all who look to him for protection. 2 Samuel 22:31 (NLT)

O~ This is part of the song David sang to the Lord on the day the Lord rescued him from his enemies and from Saul.

A~ *God’s way is perfect -> But I have to choose Your way! there are often MANY other paths that are very tempting. Yours is perfect. PERFECT. Always the best choice!

*All the Lord’s promises prove true -> ALL Your promises. ALL.

* He is a shield for all who look to Him for protection -> I have to look! Requires some effort on my part!

P~ I love Your Word. Thank You for these reminders.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Posted on May 12, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

