May 10 2 Samuel 18; Psalms 56; Matthew 27

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan 

Choose to Trust | Kim Chipman

S~ But when I am afraid, I will put my trust in you. I praise God for what he has promised. I trust in God, so why should I be afraid? What can mere mortals do to me? Psalm 56:3-4 (NLT)

O~ This is written by David, who is likely in fear for his life.

A~ The first part of this verse goes through my mind regularly – “But when I am afraid, I will put my trust in You.” This is a choice. I am not a victim of circumstances. I choose trust. Often my feelings are a big huge mess of fear and hurt and overwhelmed stress. “But when I am afraid, I will put my trust in You.” In other words, WHEN my feelings are a big huge mess, I choose to trust You. Consciously. Choose. I choose to trust Your promises. I choose to trust You love me. I choose to trust You see me and my circumstances and I choose to trust Your authority over them…even when it hurts, even when it’s hard…”But when I am afraid, I will put my trust in You.”

I choose to praise You for what You have promised.

I choose to trust You, so why should I be afraid?

What can people do to me? They can hurt my feelings, they can take advantage of me, they can misunderstand me, they can dismiss me, they can lie about me, they can hurt my body or even kill me. They cannot take away my eternity with You. They cannot take away Your love for me. They cannot change my identity in You. They cannot take away the call on my life to serve You. They cannot take away the power of Your Spirit within me. No one can do that. They can try, but they cannot succeed. My identity in You is secure.

I choose trust.

P~ Thank You for Your Word and Your promises. I love You!

Because of Jesus | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  But when I am afraid, I put my trust in you.  Psalms 56:3 (NLT)

O~ This verse stood out to me as a reminder that you are there and you see me.  I need to turn to you with my fears and doubts.  Then I read the rest of the reading for today, Matthew 27. I read about all the horrible things done to Jesus (verses 26-31) and all this before his was crucified.

A & P~ Jesus, you’re my hero.  You came to this world and lived in your human body (just like me) and you lived doing exactly what God wanted you to do.  You brought many to God and there were those that hated you.  They hurt you badly, yet you endured, you endured painful suffering at the hands of others.  You show me through this that you kept quiet in the midst of all that.  You live in me now and because of that I can face tough situations by keeping my eyes on God like you did.  Thank you, Jesus, for coming for me.  Thank you for giving your life for this wretched soul.  I love you. Help me to live like you did- for God’s will.

Follow Jesus and Shut Up, Michelle! | Michelle Myers

S~ So Pilate said to Jesus, ‘Don’t you hear them accusing you of all these things?’  But Jesus said nothing in answer to Pilate, and Pilate was very surprised at this. Matthew 27:13-14 (NCV)

O~ Jesus knew it was not his place to defend himself.  Jesus knew that defending himself would do no good, because they were going to do what they were going to do regardless.  So he did not waste his time or breath.

A~ I really could be more like Jesus in this area.  I often find myself “defending”……..especially when it comes to people giving me advice that I have not asked for……especially when it comes from people that I don’t think have a clue about what is going on or from what they have told of their story, have never taken a step on the path that I have walked………….especially when it comes to people, to after listening to them for awhile, seem to think they have all the answers (especially about the Bible, Christians, etc.), make critical and judgmental comments about other people (even other Christian people) about their views, beliefs, etc.

I don’t even have all the answers for my life, so how can someone who has never walked in my shoes?  I don’t have all of the answers about Christianity, the Bible, etc.; and often when I try and get them from people who are “trained” in it, they don’t agree or they have different interpretations.  The one thing that Jesus does say is most important, is love.  How is making critical and judgmental statements towards other people loving?

It is not about agreeing or disagreeing with me.  It is about the unloving, know it all attitude behind it.  It is about giving me unwarranted advice, when you have no first hand knowledge or experience in regards to a situation.  There is a difference between reading about it, listening to a sermon on it, and living it.  And for me, anyone who lives through something, is way more of an expert than someone who has only book knowledge.  That includes me, with a multitude of issues.  I wouldn’t give someone advice, even if they asked, on something I only have book knowledge about or without knowing their circumstances.

Jesus had experience.  He had more knowledge than those who were accusing him.  And in his perfect state, he said NOTHING.  I usually open my mouth, and what comes out, is not always righteous.  Then my attitude becomes even more unrighteous.

P~ Thank you God for your word today.  People are going to be people.  They are going to do what they want.  They are going to believe what they want.  Help my heart and my mouth align, so I don’t feel the need to defend myself and so that icky words don’t come out of my mouth.  Help me shut up.  Help me remember that you are my defender.

The Most Holy Place | Joni Tyner

S~ At that moment the curtain in the sanctuary of the Temple was torn in two, from top to bottom. The earth shook, rocks split apart, and the tombs opened.  Matthew 27:51  (NLT)

O~ Jesus has just died on the cross.  The temple had 3 main areas: the courts, the Holy Place, (where the priests were allowed to enter) and the Most Holy Place. (entrance to the Most Holy Place was allowed once a year by the high priest.  They even tied a rope to his foot should he be struck dead so that they could yank him out of the Most Holy Place without receiving their own death sentence.)  This scripture is telling us that the old system of the temple is now destroyed.  We all have direct, immediate access to God.  This is very clearly explained in Hebrews.

“And so, dear brothers and sisters, we can boldly enter heaven’s Most Holy Place because of the blood of Jesus. By his death, Jesus opened a new and life-giving way through the curtain into the Most Holy Place.”  Hebrews 10: 19-20

A~ This verse is powerful!  It changes everything for those who believe in God.  The Israelites were constantly bringing sacrifices and then having the priests present them to God.  There was no personal relationship what-so-ever! The penalty was death for those who tried to “go to God” on their own.   (by the way, I researched about the Most Holy Curtain.. It was  60 feet high, 30 feet wide and 10 inches thick according to one source,  it took 300 priests to hang it up.  :O—anybody else have a jaw dropping experience at visualizing that?)   So, … The big, humongous curtain was completely torn in two, from the top to the bottom, when Jesus died on the cross. The ripping from the top to the bottom signifies God initiating a  way to us.   We, believers in Jesus, will never need a middle man to get or talk to God.  We are to boldly approach the throne.

P~ Dear Lord, I love that I have personal access to You whenever and however my day goes.  This is a You and me thing, I wouldn’t want others to the yuck in my heart, my doubts, my sin.  I thank you for this personal, immediate and unconditional access to sit at your feet.  Thank you for choosing me.

!!!POWER!!! | Nikki Metzger

S~ The bodies of many godly men and women who had died were raised from the dead. Matthew 27:52 (NLT)

O~ I’ve always missed this in the crucifixion of Jesus.  When He died; powerful, supernatural things happened.  A thick, big curtain tore in two by itself, an earthquake, and dead people became alive again.

A~ These supernatural events reveal power.  True power.  This moment, I’m taken aback at how powerful my God is.  My heart is just settling and remembering that He (God, Jesus, Holy Spirit) is what really matters.

Last night at my son’s baseball game, I was stressed out because I had not talked to all the parents.  I felt like I needed to manage the thoughts they had about me, my son, and my husband who helps coach.  And I was going to manage their thoughts by talking to them???? Yeah, I know I’m messed up!

But somewhere in my mind, I have let other people’s quiet thoughts become more important than God’s thoughts.  I think that by saying hi or having a conversation will control them to like me or my family.

As I read about God’s power, I want to shake my head at myself last night.  I want to remind me that God has everything in control, even my relationships with other families.  And it’s not my duty to make others like me. God, in His awesome power and no-mistakes-ever business, gave me this personality for His glory!  What can mere mortals do to me?  God is the One I need to fear!

P~ Father, thank You for truth!  For never changing and never letting me forget how powerful You really are!  I LOVE YOU!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

Posted on May 10, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

