May 8 2 Samuel 15,16; Psalms 32; Matthew 25

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

You Want to Forgive | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  Oh what joy for those whose rebellion is forgiven, whose sin is put out of sight!  Psalms 32:1  (NLT)

O & A~  It was not too long ago that I did not have this joy, but instead a lot of guilt.  Therefore, the way I read this verse was: “there is joy for those whose rebellion is forgiven, whose sin is put out of sight” and I would conclude that since I don’t have that joy it must mean that God did not forgive my sin, and this must not be for me.  This has gotten better for me, I am quicker to hear the truth and believe the truth and not the lies from Satan.  The notes in my bible say:

“God WANTS to forgive sinners. Forgiveness has always been part of his loving nature.  He announced it to Moses, he revealed it to David; and he dramatically showed it to the world through Jesus Christ.”

Forgiveness is for me, it is for everyone and God WANTS to forgive.

1 John 1:9 – But if we confess our sins to him, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

P~  Thank you, Father, that you want to forgive us our sins.  You’re not the one that wants me to live under the guilt of my sin.  Thank you for your truth that is for us all. I love you.

My Everything | Jill Terry

S~ You are my hiding place; You preserve me from trouble; You surround me with songs of deliverance. Selah. I will instruct you and teach you in the way which you should go; I will counsel you with My eye upon you. Psalm 32: 7 &8 (NAS)

O~ My study Bible says to accept the advice written in God’s Word. It really is that simple. God is my rock, my redeemer, my refuge, my deliver and my teacher. He is my everything.

A~ My mom is very sick. As I struggle to grasp what it all means and what is coming next, I know that I can lean on God. He is right there with me. As hard decisions need to be made and things discussed with my Dad and my sisters, I find myself getting very emotional. But I have found myself more than once whispering a two word prayer over and over and over again…Please God…

Before I realize it, I have calmed down and I haven’t taken the emotional route of yelling when my frazzled emotions get the better of me. In the past, my hair trigger emotions would take over and I would make a bad situation worse. The difference now is my daily time in the Bible and having a better understanding of God’s promises. It’s not to say I don’t still get emotional and frazzled, I just handle it better than I used too.

P~ Thank you God for being my everything. You know why things are going the way they are and You alone know how this will all turn out. Amen

Meeting Myself | Michelle Myers

S~ The LORD says, ‘I will make you wise and show you where to go.  I will guide you and watch over you.’ Psalm 32:8 (NCV)

O/A~ I had the opportunity last night to meet myself; or at least a younger version of myself.  I had met a young lady whose boyfriend and father of her baby, was an addict.  He is still very active in his addiction.  The topic of prayer came up, and she said that she was agnostic and her boyfriend was atheist.  My initial thought was, “I am so sorry.”

My response really surprised me.  I grew up in a town filled with “holier than thou, judgmental Sunday church goers”, who by Monday, were back to their not so righteous behavior.  Church was kind of a “clique” for older people.  It really turned me off to wanting to hear or deal with anything related to church, God, or Christianity.  The last thing I would ever want, is to be one of those “self-righteous, phony, pew warmers”, so I had to check my heart to make sure that my response didn’t come from a place of “self-righteousness” or that I was trying to “sell” God by making my life or myself appear to be perfect, all put together, etc.

Whew! To my relief,  my heart was good.  My “so sorry” response came from a place of empathy.  I remembered myself, at her age.  I thought I could do it all on my own.  I thought I could rely on other people, whom I later discovered, really didn’t have my best interest on their hearts.  I remembered the mess I was before I fostered a true, authentic moment by moment relationship with Christ.  I reflected on the mess I am today, and it is NOTHING compared to the mess I was then.

I was sad for her, for many reasons.  Obviously, the big picture is salvation and heaven.  However, when you are first starting out, your life is a mess, you have been repeatedly hurt; you aren’t focused on the ‘big picture’.  You just want to know how to improve your state of being and life, here on earth.  You just want to know, that somebody loves you for you, and that there is someone you can trust, has your back, etc.  The big picture comes later.  The fact that she may never experience….

* the peace that I have,

* know that someone loves her, because of the “good” and in-spite of “the bad and ugly”,

* and, her life is going to be more confusing, frustrating, and harder, because she doesn’t have God to guide her,

THAT  is WHAT makes me sad.  It is not because I think I am better than her, being self-righteous, or that I have it all figured out….because, I alone, am not right nor do I have it all figured out.

P~ God, I am just so thankful for YOU and my relationship with YOU!  It has been quite a journey thus far. There are days that I wouldn’t want myself as a “travel companion”, but you don’t leave me by the side of the road.  I pray that this young lady is able to open her heart to you and see what AMAZING things can happen in her and her life, when she forms a relationship with YOU.

Invest, earn | Nikki Metzger

S~ The servant who received the five bags of silver began to invest they money and earned five more. Matthew 25:16 (NLT)

O~ This is a parable about our gifts and abilities and how we use them for God’s Kingdom.

A~ This servant was gifted five bags of silver and ended up with 10.  That’s good!  A good investment.  It makes me think of things that will last.  What will be around in 100,000 years? What can I invest in now that earn back like that servant? Facebook? A clean kitchen? Baseball? Fancy clothes? A nice house or car? I think people will be around then.  People that have heard the message of God and chose Him.  So, hopefully, in my 80 some odd years on Earth, I need to be investing into people.

P~ Father, I seek to invest in Your Kingdom’s cause, not my own.  Give me love for Your investments!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

Posted on May 8, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

