May 5 2 Samuel 10; 1 Chronicles 20; Psalm 20; Matthew 22

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan 

New Wardrobe! | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ But when the king came in to meet the guests, he noticed a man who wasn’t wearing the proper clothes for a wedding.  Matthew 22:11 (NLT)

O~  The notes in my bible say: “It was customary for wedding guests to be given wedding clothes to wear to the banquet.  It was unthinkable to refuse to wear these clothes.  That would insult the host, who could only assume that the guest was arrogant and thought he didn’t need these clothes…”

I looked up verses with “clothe yourself” and found these:

Romans 13:14  Instead clothe yourself with the presence of the Lord Jesus Christ.  And don’t let yourself think about ways to indulge your evil desires.

Colossians 3:12  Since God chose you to be the holy people he loves, you must clothe yourselves with tenderhearted mercy, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience.

A~  God has given me clothes to wear:  the presence of my Lord Jesus Christ, tenderhearted mercy, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.

P~  Dear Father, thank you for the beautiful clothes you have given to us.  These, unlike physical clothes will never fade with use but most likely shine brighter.  Help me remember to clothe myself with these more often.

To Be Chosen, You Have To Change Your Heart And Life | Michelle Myers

S~ Yes, many people are invited, but only a few are chosen. Matthew 22:14 (NCV)

O~ This is how Jesus ends the parable about the wedding feast, where the original guests refused to come or just expressed open disdain for the king, by beating and killing the messenger servants.  So, he sends more messengers out to invite anyone they can find, good or bad.  However, at the feast, one man isn’t dressed in appropriate wedding attire and is thrown out. After doing some research to make sure that I understand this parable correctly, it is that many people will call themselves followers of Christ, go to church, etc; but only a few will actually do what is so often repeated in the Bible….”change their hearts and lives”.

A~ The “change your hearts and lives” thing catches my attention every time.  I think because for the past five years, my heart has struggled with being put back together, and at times, it would be “in progress” and one more “event” would occur that would break it again.  I also know that there is A LOT that I have struggled to let go of….emotionally and materialistically  My life has changed dramatically from five years ago, but I don’t think that THIS change is what the Bible is talking about.

I am beginning to realize that as long as I am breathing, there is going to be SOMETHING ELSE….if not right at this moment, there will be something right around the corner.  So, I need to get used to it, and appreciate the “breaks” that I do get from God.  But also, appreciate the fact that God doesn’t give me a permanent break from the struggles that are key in making me “change my heart and life”, which is key to me being one of the “many that are invited”, but also being one of “the few that is chosen.”

P~ Thank you God for NEVER leaving me where I am at…..stuck, not growing, etc.  Many days I am fine.  When triggers occur that take me back to what I had before, the pain that I have felt, and plans that I had, I struggle.  I struggle with being materialistic and jealous of people who have way more than I ever wanted.  I struggle with being prideful and loving towards my husband.  I struggle with submitting to your plan for my life.  Please help me remember that this worldly economy is not YOUR economy.  Please help me remember that I am just as sinful and broken as my husband.  Please help me remember that I am here to carry out YOUR plan, which in the end will be way better than mine, anyway.  And help me change my heart, because I do want to be chosen and serve you.

Know His Word and His Power | Tara Wiley

S~ Jesus replied, “Your mistake is that you don’t know the Scriptures, and you don’t know the power of God.” Matthew 22:29 (NLT)

O~ Know the Scriptures.

Know God’s power.

Then the petty questions and doubts and arguments will fade away.

Know.Him.

A~ That’s really all I need, and it’s all my kids need too. Just to know You and the power of Your resurrection – “I want to know Christ—yes, to know the power of his resurrection and participation in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, and so, somehow, attaining to the resurrection from the dead.” Philippians 3:10-11 (and yes, to know and understand that every suffering in this life is the opportunity to take fellowship in Your sufferings! To KNOW YOU in suffering – it’s a privilege).

It’s why I must must must remain in Your Word. There I find the keys to unlocking Your power in my life, and when I know the Word and know Your power, I am equipped for anything life throws my way.

P~ Lord, let me know You more. Let me lead my children to know You more. Show us Your power, Lord! Let us live in that resurrection power made available to us by Your Spirit. Now to Him who is able to do far more abundantly beyond all that we ask or think, according to the power that works within us, to Him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations forever and ever. Amen.” Ephesians 3:20-21

Love them well | Nikki Metzger

S~ Jesus replied, “You must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your mind.” Matthew 22:37 (NLT)

O~ This is Jesus’ answer to: What is the most important commandment in the Law of Moses?

A~ Love God with everything first.  Then love others.  I like to love in a certain way.  I’m loud, animated, maybe a bit emotional 🙂  Hahahahaha.  My most favorite people in the world, the ones I live with, think I’m ‘dramatical’.  Not sure if this good or not.  Is this love to them?

P~ Father, I want to love well.  Love with all my heart, soul, mind, and strength.  How does that look for my family?  Each one specifically.  Thank You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

Posted on May 5, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Luisa– that’s the best fashion to have!!!!

Leave a Reply

