May 2 1 Chronicles 16; Psalm 106; Matthew 19

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan 

Not All My Responsibility | Michelle Myers

S~ So there are not two, but one.  God has joined the two together, so no one should separate them.  Matthew 19:6 (NCV)

O/A~ In my support group meetings, I hear stories from spouses of addicts about how they have or are currently struggling to keep their marriages together.  Some of them have spouses who are trying, to the best of their ability, to be “one with them”.  Some have spouses who have completely separated themselves, refusing to admit they have an addiction or get help for the addiction.  Many of the spouses that are married to an addict, are in limbo, trying to decide whether they should stay or they should go, what is best for their kids, etc.  I have been there.  It is not a fun or easy place to be.  And like many of these spouses, I have felt that ALL the responsibility falls on me.

God hates divorce, so surely He doesn’t like the person who ends up filing, giving up, or who refuses to “just move on with themselves” within the marriage.  It has taken me along time to realize that the “act of filing”, doesn’t necessarily mean that is what separated the marriage; or that God doesn’t necessarily see the person who filed as the one who gave up on the marriage.

Marriage takes two people. We all have choices.  We all have responsibilities.  We will all mess up.  No marriage is perfect.  Yet, there are some marriages where separation has already occurred, because the other partner refuses to be responsible, take accountability, get their priorities in line, etc.; and God doesn’t want me to put myself at risk….physically, emotionally, financially, etc. Which, because of bad advice, criticism, or counsel from therapists, family, pastors, etc.; I got the impression He did.

This was confusing for me.  It was as if I didn’t matter to God.  It was as if, I had all the responsibility in making my marriage work.  I understood the ramifications of divorce….for me, my children, my finances, etc.  Did He understand the ramifications if I didn’t get divorced, and stayed married to a man who refused to “be one” with me, in regards to the children and the finances; but instead decided that his wants and his addiction were so much more important than me, our children, or our well being?  It took me along time to realize that God did understand this, and He was only holding me accountable for my part.  And, part of my part, was to make sure that me and my kids were safe….physically, emotionally, spiritually, and financially.

I hate divorce also.  When I was teaching, I saw what single parents went through,  I saw how the kids were damaged by it.  I also saw people practically killing themselves to take care of a spouse who “separated themselves” along time ago, take care of the kids, and run a house hold.  I also saw children who were ignored and damaged by the stress of people staying married, when one person has already separated themselves, and one person is trying to carry all the load.  I am sure that my own children have been damaged by this also.  And God, doesn’t want that either.

P~ Thank you God for these people that you have put into my life.  I have been where many of them currently are.  There are no easy answers for the situations that they are in.  I pray that you guide them.  And although my marriage remained in tact, and my husband is doing his part, it came at a huge cost….emotionally, spiritually, and financially, for both me and our kids.  I pray that you continue to guide us and provide us with the resources we need in order to heal.

Turn From Sin to Purpose | Kelley DeAses

S~ We have sinned, even as our fathers did, we have done wrong and acted wickedly.  Psalm 106:6 (NIV)

O~ One thing is universal and spans the length of history — we frail and fallen humans mess up!  We fall short of that “best life” God offers us by our big and small choices toward the selfish wants, the easy road, and the shiny lures.  But in this cycle of sin and defeat, through the generations but also in my own heart, we have been given a Savior.  A life preserver in the midst of strong and crushing waves.  We just need to grab hold.

A~ I am learning that it gets me nowhere to focus my attention on curbing my sin and shortcomings (though I need to acknowledge and confess them.  Don’t worry, I will not enumerate those here.) but to replace these thoughts and actions with purpose.  To the extent I am receiving my daily marching orders and trying to be mindful of carrying those out, my energies are directed more toward God’s agenda than my own.  The more I relax that discipline of hearing from Him first thing in the morning, the more apt I am to be steered off course.

P~ Father, If my first act of the day is to sit with You, in response to Your bidding me “Come,” You will provide my daily Bread.  Grow that discipline even more, as it so positively affects my day, and thus, my life.

Everybody Praise God | Jill Terry

S~ Blessed be the LORD, the God of Israel, From everlasting even to everlasting. And let all the people say, “Amen.” Praise the LORD! Psalm 106:48 (NAS)

O~ God is the Alpha and the Omega. He is to be praised by all, all the time.

A~ My greatest desire is for my children to believe in and follow Christ. I have two that do and two that do not believe. I pray fervently for them daily. I have the same desire for total strangers. I hear or read stories about people going through different trials in their lives and their desperate need for God is apparent. However, so often people turn away from Him instead of turning to the One who can calm all of their fears and direct their steps. If they only only Him into their lives. It’s disheartening to witness not only my own children but so many other people trying to fill their need for God with other things.

P~ Lord, please help my boys and all of those who are not believers understand the truth of who You are and begin to follow You.

Your Best | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Jesus replied, “Moses permitted divorce as a concession to your hard-hearted wickedness, but it was not what God had originally intended.”  Matthew 19:8 (NLT)

O~ Divorce was allowed, but it was not God’s best.

A~  Are there things I am allowing in my life that I’m saying it’s ok but it isn’t what God intends? With regard to my thought life, my mental health, are there thought patterns that I give into out of habit, out of familiarity?  I want your best for me.

P~ Dear Lord, help me break free.  I want your best for me, but I default a lot to fear, and that isn’t your best.  Thank you for your love, for being there.  Help me live as you intended for me.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 

Posted on May 2, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

