May 1 1 Chronicles 14,15; Psalm 132; Matthew 18

Check out our resources page! We have printable reading plans that include a few verses, a couple chapters, or the full reading plan. Each plan is in the same portions of Scripture each day. Get the whole family reading! Start small, but start now!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

It Isn’t About Me! | Michelle Myers

S~ Then David knew that the LORD really had made him king of Israel and that he had made his kingdom great.  The LORD did this because he loved his people Israel. 1 Chronicles 14:2 (NCV)

O/A~ It wasn’t all about or for David.  God made David king and his kingdom great, because he loved all the people of Israel.  Lately, God has been showing me how my knee jerk, first responses are often very self centered and all about me.  It usually takes me a few seconds to realize this and then I am able to focus on the big picture, the greater good, etc.  I have noticed that when we go to pick out movies, I try and gear my husband or kids towards something that I know I would enjoy.  Thinking to myself, “I don’t want to watch that”, as they present their choices.

I used to think that my attitude was this way, because for so many years, I took care of everyone else and spent very little time and money on myself.  So, I felt justified in it.  Last night, I was scheduled to facilitate the support group meeting I attend for spouses of sex addicts.  This required me to find a couple of readings to read and for us to discuss as a group.  However, when someone new comes, we do something totally different to welcome the newcomer, share our stores, and help them feel supported and welcomed.  I was just a new comer a month ago.  Yet, I found myself hoping that no new comers started, so I could do what I had picked out and planned.  Last night, we had two new comers.  And although, I was so happy that they were able to find us, have the courage to get help, etc.; my first, internal response was, “Ah, now I can’t do my reading and discussion topic.”

YIKES!  Where did that come from?  That had nothing to do with all the giving, sacrificing, and helping I did over the years.  That was just plain and simple…..ME FOCUSED, SELF-CENTERED, SELFISHNESS……. and it is sinful!

P~ Thank you God for not leaving me in the dark about my own behavior.  I am so thankful for the support group; the spouses that were already in it, before I started; and the spouses who are yet to come.  I know you will guide us in the right directions, and provide healing for each one of us.  I pray that the spouses have the discernment they need, the patience to stick with the program (healing takes time), and the courage to do what you are guiding them to do within and for themselves.  And, as someone who isn’t always good with self-care and boundaries; help guide me to a more balanced life, and help me discern between self-care and selfishness.

Recognize Your Teachings | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  Because you Levites did not carry the Ark the first time, the anger of the Lord our God burst out against us.  We failed to ask God how to move it in the proper way.  1 Chronicles 15:13 (NLT)

O~  David recognizes the reason for God’s anger when they tried to move the ark the first time.

A & P~  Dear Father thank  you for your love.  Help me to recognize what you are trying to teach me, and desire your ways in my life even if that brings pain at times

Seek God first | Nikki Metzger

S~ Because you Levites did not carry the Ark the first time, the anger of the Lord burst out against us.  We failed to ask God how to move it properly. 1 Chronicles 15:13 (NLT)

O~ David is instructing the Levites how to move the Ark.  David tried to move it earlier, but someone died when they didn’t follow God’s plan.  That happened in 1 Chronicles 13.

A~ In the time between moving the Ark the first time and now, David was talking with God.  The first time David never asked God how to move it, and a man named Uzzah died.  Once Uzzah died, David brought it to the Lord and asked for direction in how to move the Ark.

God answered David.  God’s directions to David were extensive, but David followed them and was prepared.  I just cannot get over David’s relationship with the Lord.  Time and time again, David goes to the Lord…..He answers, David obeys.  One time in battle, David faced an exact same situation that he had faced before.  Instead of doing what God had told him to do the previous time, David asked God first what he should do.  God gave him a different response, and David won the battle. I admire that about David.  He goes to God first; inquires, asks, seeks Him above all!

P~ Father, thank You!  I don’t want to fail in seeking Your guidance about anything!  I specifically ask You for your direction about my work.  Lord, I don’t want anything, unless it’s Your next step for me.  I love You and pray this in Jesus’ Name!

Never Grow Up | Kelley DeAses

S~ And he [Jesus] said, “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”  Matthew 18:3 (NIV)

O~ These words make me think about the differences between children and adults which Jesus was alluding to.  What are some of those attractive qualities of “new humans” which fade or are lost as we age?  Children ask questions and are teachable, where adults either think they know everything, are too proud to admit they don’t, or simply don’t care enough to ask.  Children love to play, whereas adults often don’t see the value in such a waste of time.  Children possess a sense of wonder and awe when they see an anthill or a butterfly; those things have pretty much dropped from our radar.  Children have a sweet and pure faith in God, having more recently been knit together in the womb, a faith that has not been clouded by skepticism and doubt.

A~ Last night, my husband and I helped in the nursery during evening church services.  This was our first time in what is to be a monthly commitment.  What a joy for us to hold the tiny ones and rock them to sleep and to watch the older ones explore their surroundings.  We left the building just about as “filled up” spiritually as if we’d heard the sermon.

Then, when we got home and it was time for bed, my 7-year-old grabbed a new book off of his shelf to peruse for a few minutes before lights out.  It was a type of “kid atlas” and in it he found a multiplication table.  Who would have thought that would catch his eye, but he marveled at it, studied it, and vowed to create his own the next day.  Aw, the wonder of a child!

P~ Father, Help me to re-embrace those childlike qualities You gave me years ago which seem sometimes to have crusted over.  But also, give me a renewed patience and appreciation when my little boy is just “being a kid” and keep me from squelching all the silly and fun and “kid-ness” out of him.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Posted on May 1, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Kelley,
    I had the same verse today! And along the same lines for my SOAP notes. Love you, girls!

Leave a Reply

