April 30 2 Samuel 6; 1 Chronicles 13; Psalm 68; Matthew 17

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan 

*Guest post* Katherine Ijames

S~ David became angry because of the Lord’s outburst against Uzzah, and that place is called Perez-uzzah to this day. 2 Samuel 6:8 (NASB)

O~ I cannot even begin to count the times that I have been angry because I was unhappy about something the Lord allowed to happen in my life, or in the life of others. What this boils down to is the fact that I didn’t get what I wanted out of the situation. Let’s face it – that is exactly what is happening in this passage. David is attempting to take the Ark back to Jerusalem and now his plans have been thwarted. The reason: he came face-to-face with God’s holiness and his heart did not respond, instead David’s emotions reacted. Uzzah was slain because he did not have permission to touch the ark. No one did. It was a sign of God’s holiness and in an instant Uzzah crossed the line and violated God’s holiness. God in his righteousness responded by reminding all present that it is a grave mistake to ignore God’s holiness even in an instant when we are trying to “preserve” something sacred. We must let God be God in every moment of our lives, especially those split-second decision moments.

Even in this situation, God’s grace and mercy reign. It is recorded in Acts 13:22 that David was considered a man after God’s own heart long before this instance. In light of that, on the surface, David’s reaction should surprise us. He, like us, should be able to control our emotions, right? However, a quick examination of my own heart in light of this verse reveals that I, too act this way when God’s holiness, righteousness, and goodness prohibits things from going and/or turning out the way I want them to or think they should. Of course, to admit that I have gotten angry at the Lord is not something I have ever freely admitted, until this moment. As a matter of fact, this is the first time I have realized that I was doing it and acknowledged that it has happened. But in the moments, when I think I am in His will and things do not go as planned, my reactions speak volumes to this truth.

Now, here is the beautiful thing. God is a BIG God! This is where His grace and mercy become evident; he does not need my approval to be confident in who He is and continue to allow only good to come from these situations. He can handle my anger. Here is the catch, I must be willing to allow Him to guide me and be the source of peace in my heart so that it will not become hardened in my anger and I sin. Nowhere in this text does it state that David sinned in his anger. This is the lesson to be learned. Being angry is not a sin in and of itself, it is our response to that anger that could lead us to sin.

A~ The take away? I must be honest with myself about my emotions, especially my anger when things do not go “my” way. I can do this by responding like David. The very next verse tells us that David was afraid of the Lord. Perhaps, I should clarify the meaning of “afraid.” This is not fear in the sense of a child who is abused by a parent and afraid for their personal safety. Rather, this is the idea of a child who understands and rests in a parents love, even when they do not get their way. It is a reverent, awe-inspiring respect. So, in these moments, when I get angry (even if it can be classified as slightly upset, or frustrated [all of which stem from anger]), no matter how brief, I will rest in the Lord’s love for me and remember that He thinks only precious thoughts toward me (Psalm 139:17). Resting in His love involves recalling those Scripture verses that tell me of His love for me, singing praises because of His goodness, and even talking to Him about my feelings, to include my love for Him.

P~ Father God, You are so good! I praise Your name because You alone are holy and righteous and just! Thank You for allowing me to bring all my emotions to You, especially my anger, so that it does not harden my heart and cause me to sin. Please help me to rest in Your love and remember that You only think precious thoughts toward me. Even in those moments when I do not understand why You have acted in a certain way, or allowed something awful to happen in my life. When things do not go the way I had planned, may Your grace abound all the more! Thank you for being a faithful God that will accomplish all that He has planned in my life. I love you, too!  In Jesus name, Amen.

He carries us! | Nikki Metzger

S~ Praise the Lord; praise God our Savior!  For each day He carries us in His arms. Psalm 68:19 (NLT)

O/A~ I just had a mental picture of a little girl chest to chest in her dad’s arms.  His big arms stretched all around her, her arms around him with the side of her head against his chest, just listening to him breath and his heartbeat. There are a lot of ways to hold a child; piggyback, in the arms, off the hip, snuggled close.  No matter how I’m held, God is always carrying me in His arms.  I love Him and He always has me.

P ~ Father, I love You!  Thank you for reminding me that You have me snuggled close, even when I don’t feel like it.

**This is a picture of my husband and daughter many years ago, but I love how it reminded me that God is carrying me in His arms every day!

tasha_dad_sleeping

Daily burdens | Kelley DeAses

S~ Praise be to the Lord, to God our Savior, who daily bears our burdens. Psalm 68:19 (NIV)

O~ Daily.  As in every, single day.  Come what may.  We never know what a day has in store for us.  Perhaps it will be sunny and warm, your kid will tell you what an awesome parent you are, you will complete all those to-do’s on your list with time and energy to spare, you will share God’s love with someone who will receive it readily, and your husband will bring you flowers just because he wanted to express his love. (So that last thing actually happened today– awwww! The rest of the list did not.).  Or you could find out you have cancer.  Or your teen had a car accident.  Or your best friend is getting divorced.  Or your husband lost his job. We just don’t know.

A~ In my twenties, I thought I had my life all mapped out.  But my plans didn’t go at all as planned.  When my husband left, so did my “happily ever after” … or so I thought.  But as I began to cling to God in my desperation, He began to show me He would shoulder those burdens for me daily.  All these years later, I continue to take comfort in the knowledge that whatever today or tomorrow may bring, He is with me and will take those burdens I won’t be able to bear alone.

P~ Father, Thank you that You promise to bear my burdens daily. However uncertain my future may be, you already know the course my life will take and are fully big enough to carry those loads I cannot.

One Thing…ONE! | Kim Chipman

S~  Peter exclaimed, “Lord, it’s wonderful for us to be here! If you want, I’ll make three shelters as memorials—one for you, one for Moses, and one for Elijah.” Matthew 17:4 (NLT)

O~ My study bible says: ” Peter wanted to build 3 memorials for these 3 great men. Peter had the right idea about Christ, but his timing was wrong. Peter wanted to act, but this was a time for worship and adoration. He wanted to memorialize the moment, but he was supposed to learn and move on.”

Oh, PETER! I feel you, dude. It’s hard for me to “just” sit, adore, worship. I always feel like I have to DO something! Gah! My being and experiencing and relationship isn’t enough.

Enough.

My battle of enough. Ugh! This is yet another reminder that You don’t always need me to DO…sometimes You just want me to experience, know, and enjoy You. Like Martha I tend to feel like I need to scurry. But even then your reminder is…”There is only one thing worth being concerned about.” (Lk 10:42)

One Thing. ONE. Sitting with You.

P~ Thank You for reminding me. Again. I may be a recovering do-aholic but I’m recovering…slowly…I love You!

(If you are a recovering do-aholic like me, you might be just a little convicted by this Jennifer Rothschild blog post, check it out!)

Small Faith is Still Faith | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ I assure you, even if you had faith as small as a mustard seed you could say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there’ and it would move.  Nothing is impossible. Matthew 17:20  (NLT)

O~ It’s important to have faith but it doesn’t have to be big faith, small faith is still faith!

A~ I needed this today.  My thoughts are on my son and I’m anxious about my parenting abilities.  But I turn to you and ask you for wisdom and guidance and I trust that you will show me the way.

P~ Thank you Father for being there and helping me be a good mom.  In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on April 30, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. love the picture, Nikki!!

Leave a Reply

