April 27 2 Samuel 2; 1 Chronicles 11; Psalm 142; Matthew 14

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Your Stage | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ After this, David asked the Lord, “Should I move back to Judah?”  And the Lord replied, “Yes.”  Then David asked, “Which town should I go to?”  And the Lord replied, “Hebron.” 2 Samuel 2:1 (NLT)

O~  David asked God specific questions and God answered.

A~  God is in control and I can go to God with EVERYTHING!

P~ Dear Father, renew the patterns of my mind to turn to you.  Please show me, Holy Spirit, when I am trying to take care of things that I should be going to you about.  It is not “my life” to figure out the best possible choices, it is “your stage” and I get to be a part of it.  Direct me where you need me to be and with what you need me to do.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

You Alone | Kim Chipman

S~ When I am overwhelmed, you alone know the way I should turn. Psalm 142:3a (NLT)

O~ My Bible says of Psalm 142 – “A prayer when overwhelmed and desperate. When we feel cornered by our enemies only God can keep us safe.”

A~ Things lately have been overwhelming to me. One thing after another is testing my stamina, endurance, focus, priorities, strength, and resolve. This is the perfect reminder for my heart! YOU ALONE know the way I should turn. It’s not left up to me to figure it out (although I usually wear myself out trying to!). It’s not up to my husband, my friends, my anyone to show me or help me or rescue me. YOU ALONE know the way I should turn.

So, perhaps, keeping my eyes, my heart, my thoughts, and my choices FIXED on YOU is all I need to do. I’m pretty sure I’ve learned and re-learned this a billion times, but here it is again. (Musical reminder HERE)

P~ Lord, thank You for Your patience with me. I know I quickly forget. When I am overwhelmed, YOU ALONE know the way I should turn. I love You!

What do I do?! | Nikki Metzger

S~ When I am overwhelmed, You alone know the way I should turn.  Psalm 142:3 (NLT)

O~ Sometimes people that I’m close to cannot see Your truth.  They ignore it, don’t understand it, and then they make me feel like I’m the one wrong when we are talking.  It overwhelms me, like the author of the Psalm.

A~ I get sooo overwhelmed at those times when I’m in relationship with someone, and they choose to ignore God’s truth.  Or when the people that I love so dearly don’t want anything to do with the God that I love so much.  I get super panicky at what I should do.  Why do I get so panicky?  I think it’s because when others close to me, don’t choose God’s truth over their truth, it has deep effects on my life.

I have no control what those closest to me decide to follow and believe, yet I’m a part of the consequences.  It’s frustrating and humbling, and sometimes scary.

P~ Father, You alone know the way I should turn.  Hear my cry, for I am very low.  In Jesus’ Name I pray!

Mama Jesus | Michelle Myers

S~ When Jesus heard what had happened to John, he left in a boat and went to a lonely place by himself.  But the crowds heard about it and followed him on foot from the towns.  Matthew 14:13 (NCV)

O~ My Bible notes say, “John’s unfair execution disturbed Jesus deeply, but he could not escape either the crowds of people or his disciples.” (The Devotional Bible; New Century Version)

A~ This made me laugh and feel bad for Jesus.  All I could think of was “mama Jesus”, because I could relate to him trying to be alone to pray or work through the yuk, and having people “stalk” him.  I love my kids, my husband, and my cats: yet, to be honest, there are some days, that if I were Jesus, I would have just stayed in the boat, on the water, so I could be alone, focus on self-care, etc.

Of course, in modern times, my kids, would just send me twenty texts, asking me, “When are going to get out of the boat?”, “What is taking you so long?”, “What are we having for dinner?” and if I didn’t reply, I would get the usual, “Mom, are you there?  Is your phone turned off?”  Because clearly, if I am not responding because my phone is turned off, I am going to get the text they sent, asking me if my phone is turned off!

P~ Thank you God for my family of stalkers.  I love them.  So, I don’t have to find a boat and a lake to help me escape, please assist me in finding balance.  Please help me discern between what is a true need and emergency, because as you know, everything and anything, that involves them, is a need and emergency, to a twelve and fourteen year old.  And, unlike the people and disciples who followed Jesus, most of the time my kids are not in need of healing or are they left to feed themselves with five loaves of bread and two fish.  Yet, sometimes, my perceptions become distorted and my logic goes out the window, and I feel like I am not doing enough for them.  Also, help me to remain calm and stable in my response to them, when I have not set firm boundaries, or have, and they have not respected them, done their part, etc.  Remind me, that there is a point, where my responsibility ends, and by not holding them accountable for theirs, I am truly doing them a disservice and not helping prepare them for real, adult life.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on April 27, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

