April 26 2 Samuel 1; Psalm 140; Matthew 13

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Following David | Nikki Metzger

S~ David and his men tore their clothes in sorrow when they heard the news. 2 Samuel 1:11 (NLT)

O~ The news that David and his men heard was that King Saul and his sons had died.  That monarchy was over, and it was now time for David to be king.  But David and his men tore their clothes in sorrow.  The tearing of clothes represents BIG emotion; grief, anger, frustration, sorrow.

A~ I would have thought that David’s men would have been thrilled that David was going to be king soon.  Months, maybe years earlier, David’s men were trying to get David to kill Saul so David could be king.  But the men tore their clothes in sorrow over the death of King Saul.  Something happened to David’s men over this time.

Did David’s men just love David as their leader that they followed what he did and tore their clothes as well?  Did David share with his men about his God and so they realized that God’s first anointed king was dead?  Did David’s men fall in love with David’s God as well?

I see David as an example of an amazing leader during this time in his life, one who leads completely dependent on God.  It’s a character trait that I’d like to be  a part of me.  I may not lead an army, but I lead two littles that need Christ.  I have an authority position over vulnerable women.  I am recognized at work as someone who has faith.

P~ God, I desire to lead well in my sphere.  Search my heart and see if there is any offensive way in me.  Bring that out of me and replace with Your truth.  Work in me leadership knitted by You.  That it would bring glory to You.   My heart after Your own heart.

Fertile Soil | Kim Chipman

S~ The seed that fell on good soil represents those who truly hear and understand God’s word and produce a harvest of thirty, sixty, or even a hundred times as much as had been planted! Matthew 13:23 (NLT)

O~ Jesus told and explained the parable of the 4 soils – footpath, shallow, thorns, and fertile soil. The seed represents God’s message…sometimes snatched away, doesn’t last long, choked by troubles…OR produces bountiful harvest!

A~ This parable – and Jesus’ explanation of it – represents these categories as people who fit in one or the other. I can’t help but think, however, that at any given time a person’s heart could be in more than one place…having deeper faith in certain areas that in others…or even move through these categories in different seasons of life. Maybe as teenagers the heart is a footpath, or shallow…but later in life the heart is fertile soil.

It is impossible to truly know anyone’s heart fully. Most days I can’t even figure out my own. Jesus isn’t saying we need to figure it out, though…

So what IS my responsibility? When I think of my kids, my family, my friends…people within my circle of influence wherever they are…I feel like my responsibility isn’t to figure their heart out, but to keep planting seeds. Fling ’em far and wide. hopefully somewhere in their heart, even if just a tiny corner hidden away somewhere, there is a little patch of fertile soil.

Or maybe by loving them well I can help to till up a patch.

P~ Lord, help me to sow Your seeds well, often, liberally. I pray specifically for the hearts of my children. I pray that their lives would be fruitful for You and that Your Word would take deep roots in their hearts. I love You!

Multiplication | Kelley DeAses

S~  He [Jesus] told them still another parable: “The kingdom of heaven is like yeast that a woman took and mixed into a large amount of flour until it worked all through the dough.”  Matthew 13:33 (NIV)

O~  In this passage, Jesus uses the examples of a tiny mustard seed growing into a tree where birds can perch and of a tiny amount of yeast which can produce growth in a large amount of bread dough.  What I read is that even the smallest of efforts on our part, together with God’s supernatural ability to multiply those efforts, can reap a greater benefit than would have ever been humanly possible.

A~  This makes me think of the adult Sunday school class I taught last December.  It was my aim to perhaps spur one or two people in the direction of reading their Bibles more often.  I feared my message might not actually be well received by an audience of mature Christians who have been in the church for years and years.  I mean, who am I to tell them what to do or how to do it?  But God saw my willing heart.  He took my small sacrifice of time (during the hectic weeks leading up to and following Christmas!) and effort to prepare several lesson plans, and He multiplied it.  I was blown away by the notes, emails, and personal testimonies I received following the five-week course — my good friends (a couple married 65 years!), a friend and elder in the church, the pastor’s wife, a single mom, a lady whose husband was in hospice and has since passed away, the church programming director who lined up and promoted the class, and even my own husband (!!!) all reported back to me how they were inspired to read The Word more consistently and how much it was impacting their life.  I still marvel and am humbled that God would use me to help produce such amazing results!

P~  Father, Thank You for taking our willing hearts and using them to accomplish Your great purposes.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on April 26, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

