April 22 1 Samuel 25,26; Psalm 63; Matthew 9

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan:Life Journal Reading Plan

Fighting My Own Battles | Michelle Myers

S~ The LORD will certainly let your family have many kings, because you fight his battles. 1 Samuel 25:28 (NCV)

O~ Abigail is praising David, because he is doing what is right and he is following God.  As a result, she notices that God has David’s back.

A~ “because you fight his battles” is what stuck out to me.  I am getting a revelation that I fight a lot of my own battles.  Many of these battles, I fight for my own selfish reasons.  That is probably why I feel like I am banging my head against the wall many days.

P~ Thank you God for YOUR wisdom.  Show me what battles you want me to fight.  Show me what battles I am fighting for my own, selfish reasons.  And then, help me overcome my flesh and surrender those battles.

Thirsty | Kim Chipman

S~ O God, you are my God; I earnestly search for you. My soul thirsts for you; my whole body longs for you in this parched and weary land where there is no water. Psalm 63:1 (NLT)

O~ David is likely hiding from people who want to kill him.

A~ This verse is precisely how I’m feeling this morning. Life has been rolling at break-neck pace…some circumstances of my own doing, many completely out of my control. I feel the spiritual battle, like I’m hiding from an unseen enemy that wants to take me out. It has been about 2ish weeks of this insanity which has left me feeling exhausted, spent, and a little numb.

The worst part? I haven’t been sitting with You every day, like not even most days, and it has directly contributed to my depletion. My heart feels it. I’m existing in a parched and weary land where there is no water.

But.

There IS water – Your life giving , refreshing, sustaining Word. So today I earnestly search for You. I return…my soul thirsts, my body (and mind) long for You.

The battlefield in my mind has suffered most during my inconsistent devotion time. I realized yesterday that I felt like an utter failure, a terrible wife and Mom, tapped out…even my reserve has been spent. I don’t like this feeling – but the drift is quick if I don’t consistently REMAIN and ABIDE in Your truth, filling my soul with Your living water before it is all drained out as I pour out to others.

P~ Lord, I need You! I am thirsty and weary. Anchor my soul and mind as only You can so I can continue to pour out to others. You are my God. I love You!

3:00 a.m. Worry | Kelley DeAses

S~ On my bed I remember you; I think of you through the watches of the night.  Because you are my help, I sing in the shadow of your wings.  Psalm 63:6 (NIV)

O~ In the margin note of my study Bible, it reads that David may have written this psalm when he fled from Jerusalem amidst his son Absalom’s rebellion.  This was a period of great despair and resignation for a once powerful and confident king.  But yet, through the highs and the lows, David always knew from where, from whom, his help would come — from God.  I love how David’s songs give voice to my emotions as well.

A~ I have always struggled with anxiety, and nighttime, when it is dark and quiet and I am awakened at 3 a.m., is the worst. My mind starts to race……… about my kids, the future, difficult circumstances on my plate……… I can even lay there and stress over my to-do list for the next day!  But in recent months I have gotten a lot better at “taking every thought captive to the obedience of Christ.”  I know where my help come from and I now start reciting Bible verses I have committed to memory to bring His promises to the fore and give me an eternal perspective on my fears in the dark of night.

P~ Father, Your Word is truly a lamp unto my feet, leading me out of dark places and into Your Light and Life.

Do SOMETHING!! | Joni Tyner

SHe said to His disciples, “The harvest is great, but the workers are few. 38. So pray to the Lord who is in charge of the harvest; ask him to send more workers into his fields.”  Matthew 9:37,38  (NLT)

O~ Jesus is addressing His disciples after a couple of very busy days in which they did much ministry.  He taught  to large crowds on the mountain, He performed many miracles including people with leprosy and people possessed with demons. He healed the Roman officer’s servant by simply saying the word. ( the servant was not present, he was back home).  He went against Jewish customs by eating with tax collectors and disreputable sinners. He also was confronted by the Pharisees.

Jesus has the  power to heal EVERYONE  on command,  yet He chose to often perform miracles to be more than just healing, He used the platform of a miracle to change the lives of everyone involved. The disciples were mentored to go out and continue the ministry of serving others and find new people to  “harvest the fields”.

A~ God has the power to heal and bring people to Him, He does.  I think, based on this scripture, one of His preferred methods is to use imperfect people to reach others for the Kingdom. There is great need, everywhere.  He doesn’t need more Christians talking and worrying about the need, He needs people to be His hands and feet.  There is a new Matthew West song out, “Why don’t you do something”. It’s about Christians being frustrated with all of the problems and sin in this world, sometimes when we ask God to “Do Something”,  He wants us to do something.   I like the video because lots of the signs are simple things. Smile. Forgive, Comfort. It’s being the salt and light for the world. Everyone, do something.   If you have time, I invite you to click and watch his video below or HERE.

P~ Dear Lord, I pray for the eyes and ears and hearts of ALL of your people to be opened to the harvest You have before us.  Holy Spirit, I pray for conviction for Your believers to follow through with thoughts and ideas when they are moved by a need.  Lord,  I believe Your ultimate goal is for your believers to reproduce more believers and for You to receive the glory.  I pray for many, many  people to respond in small steps.  We. Can. All. Do. This!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on April 22, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great encouragement today ladies! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

