April 21 1 Samuel 24; Psalm 57,58; 1 Chronicles 8; Matthew 8

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: HERE 

An Unlikely Believer | Joni Tyner

S~ But the officer said, “Lord, I am not worthy to have you come into my home. Just say the word from where you are, and my servant will be healed.”  Matthew 8:8  (NLT)

O~ This is a centurion Roman officer—he was a leader over 100 soldiers. The Romans hated the Jews and thought themselves superior to them.  This Roman officer was showing great humility and compassion by coming to Jesus to ask for healing of his servant.

A~ As I was thinking about this scripture, my mind went to the type of leader this centurion officer was .  He was obviously a man of compassion. He was concerned about his servant that was ill. This officer was so concerned he risked his military status to  be seen asking for Jesus’s help.  He made decisions on his own and could think for himself.  He wasn’t influenced by popular opinion.  I think the Holy Spirit opened his eyes to see who Jesus really was.  He understood Jesus had power and authority—he addresses this in verse 9.  It is obvious to him that Jesus is a King and His Kingdom is not of this world.

I’m not exactly a leader over anyone, but as I become more mature in my faith, I think people watch me in how I respond to situations.  I desire to respond to others with humility and compassion.  I also desire to have the faith that this centurion had.  He likely didn’t have Biblical knowledge but simply believed and trusted Jesus to do what he said he could do.  This is such a great reading today.  I love it!!

P~ Dear Lord,  please infuse humility and compassion in my personality.  I want these characteristics to be my first response to everything.  Thank you for this scripture and example of the centurion’s faith.

Home | Nikki Metzger

S~ Jesus replied, “Foxes have dens to live in, and birds have nests, but the Son of Man has no place even to lay His head.” Matthew 8:20 (NLT)

O~ This is Jesus’ response to the statement of: Teacher, I will follow You wherever You go.

A~ Jesus had no “home base” on Earth.  I wonder if He always had a pull to get back home (heaven) with His Dad?  I feel that way about my earthly home.  When I’m out and about, I just want to get home and be in my own space with my own people.

But my earthly home and this world aren’t really my home.  Satan rules the Earth.  Jesus has authority over it all.  But my true home is where God and Jesus are.

P~ Father God, thank You for giving me my true home!  It’s going to be awesome!  Please give me discomfort of never being quite at home here on Earth.  I pray in Jesus’ Name.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on April 21, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

