April 19 1 Samuel 22; Psalm 17; Psalm 35; Matthew 6

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: HERE

Guard me Lord! | Nikki Metzger

S~ Guard me as You would guard Your own eyes.  Hide me in the shadow of Your wings.  Protect me from wicked people who attack me, from murderous enemies who surround me. Psalm 17:8,9 (NLT)

O~ David is being attacked and he is seeking God for protection.

A~ I’ve heard I’m being attacked with words and conversations behind closed doors from people who love Jesus.  People who I love and respect.  Man, it really hurts! I’m confused and wounded and my gut says to attack back, to rise up and defend myself, to proclaim everything this person did wrong and let others know as well.

But is this really my battle?  In 200 years I’m going to be dancing and singing and praising Jesus with these people.  God can and will fight this battle for me, I will be guarded by Him, and protected by Him.

P~ Father, guard me as You would guard Your own eyes, hide me in the shadow of Your wings.  Protect me from those attacks.  And please help me love and forgive in the midst of hurt!  I LOVE YOU LORD!

First Things First| John Deases (guest post)

S~ But put God’s kingdom first.  Do what he wants you to do.  Then all those things will also be given to you.     Matthew 6:33 (NIRV)

O~ Do Not Worry is the chapter heading for this passage.   Matthew 6:33 talks about God being our provider.  In the Old Testament, one of the names for God was Jehovah Jireh, “The Lord will provide.”  All throughout the Bible, God reassures us He will take care of His children.  And Matthew gives a reminder of that here in the New Testament.

A~ First things first.  I believe that when I prioritize God’s kingdom in my marriage that it means I love my wife as Christ loved the church.  This sounds like an impossible thing to do.  And most days I fall short.  However, there are a handful of days when I think I come pretty close.   I believe this love standard Jesus Christ gives us is possible with the help of the Holy Spirit.  At any rate, I believe as I put God’s kingdom first in my marriage then the overflow is a wife who gives of herself unconditionally (hopefully anyway, LOL).   This makes for a happy life.   I believe that as I put God first in other areas as well, like parenting, this also produces a return of the things I am looking for in my child.

P~ My prayer is that I would put God’s kingdom first in all the important areas of my life to include my marriage, parenting, friendships, and my working relationships.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on April 19, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

