April 18 1 Samuel 20,21; Psalm 34; Matthew 5

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: HERE

Seeking God |Jill Terry

S~ I sought the LORD, and He answered me, And delivered me from all my fears. Psalm 34:4 (NIV)

O~ David looked to God. God not only answered him but he calmed his fears.

A~ I have so many fears. Fears about my mother’s health, fears about the future of my children etc. I know God can calm my fears and answer my prayers if I turn to Him and allow him to help me. So, why do I have fear? Why do I think I can handle situations and problems better than God can? If God is who He says He is, I just need to get out of his way and let Him work through me and calm me. It is so easy to say and know but so much harder to do…

P~ Thank you God for being a God who calms my fears and answers my prayers.

Peace | Nikki Metzger

S~ Search for peace, and work to maintain it. Psalm 34:14b (NLT)

O~ Peace is always there.  Jesus gives us a peace that passes understanding.  If we have Jesus, we have that peace.  But this verse says to work to maintain it.  I think that means that even though I have His peace, I need to stay connected to Him to maintain that peace.  I must put forth an effort to keep that peace………reading His word, praying, serving others, forgiving, loving others.

A~ Lord, I tend to err on the side of laziness if left to my own devices.  You know me, I really do!  But I LOVE peace!  I’m willing to work to maintain it!  In my life, my home, my job.

P~ Thank You for this past year of intentional devotions!  I have never experienced such peace in my life.  I love You!  I know this peace is from You!

Blessed to be Last | Robin Laney

S~ Blessed (happy, to be envied, and spiritually prosperous—with life-joy and satisfaction in God’s favor and salvation, regardless of their outward conditions) are the poor in spirit (the humble, who rate themselves insignificant), for theirs is the kingdom of heaven! Matthew 5:3 (AMP)

O~ God’s Kingdom is upside down. In this world, being first is where it’s at. We strive to be the strongest, fastest, smartest, richest, prettiest. We want to be seen, to be noticed, to be appreciated, to be right. Jesus tells us in this first of the Beatitudes that we have it all wrong. He says that to have true joy, we must actually think of others as better than ourselves. Those who serve others in love, who take a back seat and who help people succeed; they are the ones who will know the blessings of Heaven in this life. The ones who give the spotlight to someone else are the ones who experience God’s best.

A~ Oh, humility. It’s really a hard thing to attain. We pride ourselves on being humble.

I think it’s so hard for us because this world rewards those who are first. From a very young age, we are taught that we can be anything we want to be. We are told that we shouldn’t let others push us around or take advantage of us. We believe the lie that what we have is gained wholly through our own hard work or ingenuity. Who we are is who we have made ourselves to be. We have rights and no one should trample on them.

In reality, all we have is from God. He created us, He sustains us and He gives us every good gift by His grace and love. Anything in us that is good or holy is given by Him for His glory. We are nothing without Him, no better or worse than any other human being. The knowledge that we are born in such a state that Jesus would have to die in order to bring us in to right standing with God should sober us up and cure us of any self-aggrandizement or sense of entitlement.

Truly, humility is foundational to our life in Christ. Without it, we cannot come to him and submit to His Lordship. We cannot grow to be more like Him if our pride keeps us from being teachable. We cannot love others well if we think ourselves better than them. We cannot see people and situations as He sees them if we place ourselves above Him.

Humility is not an action but a state of being. What we do for others does not make us humble but rather who we believe ourselves to be in relation to the Creator of the Universe. True joy comes from serving one another in love realizing that the only reason we can love is because Jesus first loved us, humbly submitting himself to death on a cross for our sake, considering our lives and our salvation to be worthy of sacrifice.

To be humble is to be truly free from having to fight our way through this life. There is so much more joy in being a champion for someone else.

P~ Lord, let me always be aware of who I am before You and what You have done for me. Let me see others as more important than myself and let me humbly serve not to gain for myself but to give them joy and to honor You.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on April 18, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great insight today. Robin, that was really helpful about your detailed writing about humility. We use the word often, yet I’m not sure how many people “get it”, I think you hit on it about the Lordship of Christ. When we see a person claiming to be a Christian, yet there is no humility and no evidence of Lordship to Christ, it looks fake. Acts of service and love are the result of humility and how we obtain humility. (Although I’m sure God uses opportunities of people being “forced” to serve to open their eyes and bridge a relationship with them.

Leave a Reply

