April 15 1 Samuel 17; Psalm 9; Matthew 2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: HERE 

Trust | Kim Chipman

S~ David replied to the Philistine, “You come to me with sword, spear, and javelin, but I come to you in the name of the Lord of Heaven’s Armies—the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied. 1 Samuel 17:45 (NLT)

O~ David, the shepherd boy, not a soldier, but an unlikely opponent for a giant. His brothers make fun of him, Saul calls him ridiculous, but David does not want anyone defying God. He wasn’t afraid – wasn’t concerned that he was inadequate or ill-equipped. He just simply trusted in God’s ability and wanted Him to be glorified. v47 – this is the Lord’s battle

A~ How many times have I missed seeing You because I felt inadequate? It doesn’t even occur to David that it makes no sense for him to fight the giant. There is no logical reason he should be victorious. Really, how do I ever expect to see You do amazing things if I don’t ever step into a situation that requires You to show up!? You created me as a pretty high capacity person. I can get a lot done. But I will never see You move in amazing ways unless and until I stop seeing my limitations and start believing and trusting You the way David did.

Defy MY God and His power? Nope. Not on my watch.

P~ Lord, help me! Help me to look past myself and rely on Your power and not my own. If You want something done it WILL happen. Help me to let go and let You work through me. Like the song says…”Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders, let me walk upon the waters, wherever you may call me. Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander, and my faith will be made stronger, in the presence of my Savior.” (VIEW) Help me to live unafraid of my shortcomings and failure. Help me to live deeply rooted in trust. I love You.

Sunday School Memories | Joni Tyner

S~ So David triumphed over the Philistine with only a sling and a stone, for he had no sword. 1 Samuel 17:50 (NLT)

O~ This is referring to David, the shepherd boy, killing Goliath, the giant Philistine soldier with his sling shot.  Earlier in the chapter, Saul gives David his own armor (v.38) and David gives it back because it was awkward and he couldn’t move in it. He was comfortable with his faith in God and the abilities he had mastered as a shepherd boy. He was attentive, he had skills to watch and anticipate danger, (v. 34-36) and he knew where his faith and security was. (v. 37)

“The Lord who rescued me from the claws of the lion and the bear will rescue me from this Philistine!”

A~ I remember being taught this story on a flannel board in Sunday School as well as teaching it to toddlers and elementary kids over the years when I was a Sunday School teacher.  The kids loved it!  We could bring in props from home and they would act out this drama…I’m guessing many readers remember this story from their youth??  Still, like all Scripture, it isn’t for entertainment, it is given to us to study, learn and apply.

One thing I see is David using his past to help him find success in the battle.  He was a humble shepherd that understood how to protect the livestock .( v.34, 35, 36) He perfected what he was good at, he didn’t try to be something he wasn’t. (wearing Saul’s armor–v. 39) He used his past experiences to help him battle a current problem.

I think the most important lesson from David fighting Goliath was that he trusted God.  He had faith that God was with him. (v. 37) “The Lord who rescued me from the claws of the lion and the bear will rescue me from this Philistine!”   David trusted God and faced a huge challenge in fighting the giant.  I wonder if he remembered this battle when he faced depression after the death of his son? If he remembered God’s faithfulness and what victory felt like? Again, I wonder if he used his past experiences to once again find success.

P~ Dear Lord, thank you once again for showing me that your Word is more than just a childhood story. It isn’t like reading books about Santa, it is truth, it has purpose, it is for our benefit.  Please help me to use the skills you have given me in a way that blesses others.  I don’t have to be proficient in everything, just what You have specifically assigned to me.  When life’s giants jump out at me and I need to go to battle, please help me be fearless so that I may successfully win the battle with You.

Trust Always | Jill Terry

S~ And those who know Your name will put their trust in You, For You, O Lord, have not forsaken those who seek You. Psalm 9:10 (NAS)

O~ Those who know God put their trust and their faith in Him through the good and the bad. God promises to always be there for those who seek Him and place their trust in Him. It doesn’t mean life will be easy. It just means that God will be there with those who love Him through the pain and joy.

A~ This week has been a difficult time of reflection and pain. I have been really struggling with the “whys of pain and death.”I am struggling so much with why we as believers fight death. Why do we struggle and fight to keep a sick elderly woman alive and a precious little boy who has barely lived passes away. Our lives are but blip in time in the grand scheme of things. As a believer of Christ, I know where I am going when my time is up here on Earth. So, why do we fight or fear death? It makes no sense to me and the more I ponder it, the less I understand.

Heaven is a glorious and wondrous place. I cannot even fathom how amazing Heaven truly is. All I know is there will be no pain, no suffering, no heart disease, no cancer, no epilepsy… Heaven will be truly extraordinary beyond words. So, why do we try so hard to outsmart death?

P~ Dear Jesus, help me make sense of the last two weeks. Thank you for being at my side through it all. I just don’t know how I would’ve got through it without you. I love You Lord. In Jesus name I pray. Amen

Not my pit, Not my net | Michelle Myers

S~ The nations have fallen into the pit they dug. Their feet are caught in the nets they laid. Psalm 9:15 (NCV)

O~ Sometimes we create our own problems.

A~ I have dug myself into some pits in my lifetime, mostly when I was younger and naïve. The most recent pit of uprooting my children, leaving my husband, and losing a lot of financial and material stuff is something that I have wrestled with for a long time. Even before leaving, there was a lot of wrestling going on, as to what I should do. I didn’t understand why my husband was being so impossible to live with. I didn’t understand why he wouldn’t get the help that he needed, to the degree that he needed. I, now understand why.

Since being back, I have examined every aspect of the situation and asked myself, “Was there a better way? Was there an alternative?” I mean a better way for me and an alternative on my part. Obviously, there was one on his part. And the answer I have repeatedly gotten is, “No”. I had done all I could do, and God was not displeased, angry, or punishing me. Yet, I still felt this sense that I had upset God in some way. For me, the outcome would have been the same had I filed for separation or divorce. I still would have had to pay for an attorney. I still would have had to pay for separate housing and expenses associated with it. Plus, I don’t know if my husband would have taken the separation seriously enough. It didn’t have the same finality to is as divorce did. And quite honestly, I didn’t leave with the goal of having him take anything seriously. I just wanted a safe, healthy, environment for my kids and I to come home to. What he did with himself, after I left, didn’t matter anymore.

My husband and I were talking the other day about the past. As he progresses in his recovery and his mind becomes clearer, he is realizing the pit he had dug and fallen into. He told me during our conversation that God had been wrestling with him for sometime, about coming clean, before I caught him in the first lie, that lead to the disclosure of many and his addiction. Yet, he said that he would rationalize it with God, “No, telling her would hurt her too much, and I don’t want to put her through that pain.” Clearly, the mind of an addict is not rational.

I didn’t think much of that conversation, until the next day. Again, in the middle of vacuuming, my mind started to wonder toward the, “Was there a better way? Was there an alternative?” And, immediately, God told me, “What did I reveal to you last night? It was your husband I was wrestling with. I tried to get him to be obedient, so he would not dig a deeper pit to fall into and get his feet caught in the nets that he laid. I am not angry or disappointed in you.” At that moment, a weight had been lifted off of my shoulders, and I knew that I had done what God had wanted me to do. There was nothing more I could have done, and it was not me who was being disobedient, it was my husband.

Yet, even with the deep pit and the huge entanglement, God is great. He has turned it around. He did in my husband, what I could not do. My wrestling with God came later, when He wanted me to return to my husband. Had I not trusted Him in that and been obedient, maybe I would have dug myself and my girls a bigger pit and had gotten our feet even more entangled.

P~ Thank you God for giving me discernment and releasing me of the uncertainty I had within myself, in regards to the decisions I had made. Thank you for the healing that you are doing in me, my marriage, and my family. Thank you for working on my husband’s mind, and showing him, what he could not see before, when his mind was cluttered with so much sinful junk. Once again, it is evidence of just how awesome you are. And, it once again, affirms the importance of my relationship and connection with you. People confuse me. But when I am guided and hear from you, there is no confusion. It is a release…a release that is peaceful and freeing.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on April 15, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Michelle Myers

    Jill, I am glad that my entry spoke to you. God speaks to me most, in my ordinary moments. I think to show me that I need to let things go, and He will make it clear to me in His timing and HIs way. I tend to spend a lot of time in my head trying to figure things out.

  2. Michelle, I love how God came to you during an ordinary moment of cleaning. It made me cry this morning. In fact, Joni and Kim both of yours made me cry this morning too. I think perhaps God is trying to get my attention about trusting Him.

Leave a Reply

