April 14 1 Samuel 15,16; 1 Chronicles 5; Matthew 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: HERE 

Obedience to Your Voice | Kim Chipman

S~ But Samuel replied, “What is more pleasing to the Lord: your burnt offerings and sacrifices or your obedience to his voice?Listen! Obedience is better than sacrifice, and submission is better than offering the fat of rams. 1 Samuel 15:22 (NLT)

O~ Saul was commanded by God to destroy the Amalekites – destroy EVERYTHING. But Saul did not destroy everything. He kept the best of the livestock – “everything, in fact, that appealed to them” – including the Amalekite king. When Samuel confronted him about it he justified it by saying he was going to sacrifice it all to God.

A~ Oh, how I see myself in Saul. It seems he really believed in what he was doing by saving the plunder. He certainly passionately defended it and seemed to believe he did it all for God. It seemed to him that was a good thing to do. Made sense to him. It just wasn’t what You asked him to do.

I tend to be a do-er. I could easily see myself justifying a good sacrifice for You, I’ve done it before. I’ve added or tweaked what you asked because it seemed good to me. I’ve ended up in seasons when I do lots and lots of things FOR You, but don’t spend enough time WITH You and end up stressed out and overloaded. I know if I walk in obedience to You that You would not lead me to that place.

My dear Pastor Wayne (Cordeiro) wrote a book called “Leading on Empty” in which he talks about a season of burnout – and recovery – that he went through. One thing he said really stood out to me: “We won’t be held accountable for how much we have done, but for how much we have done of what He asked us to do.”

P~ Lord, help me to listen and obey, not just DO  and justify. I know I can be used for You and Your glory if I just do what You ask – even when another way makes more sense to me. I love You!

Power of the Holy Spirit | Nikki Metzger

S~ And whenever the tormenting spirit from God troubled Saul, David would play the harp.  Then Saul would feel better, and the tormenting spirit would go away. 1 Samuel 16:23 (NLT)

O~ David, full of the Holy Spirit, would play a harp for Saul, full of a troubling spirit.  Holy Spirit is stronger so the troubling spirit left.

A~ I see this spiritual element at work in my life, in my job.  The Holy Spirit lives in me, I go into people’s homes, sometimes they have that troubling spirit.  That spirit leaves. Great things in happen in the time we are together – a relationship blooms, not because of them, or me, but because of an amazing God!  Our time is good, the person feels better, encouraged, but then that spirit comes back.

P~ Father God, thank You for this work!  God, how do I connect Who lives in me with the people I interact with during the work week?  I want to introduce them to You!  I want them to know You and love You!  I pray this in Jesus’ Name!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on April 14, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I am chewing on today’s sharing as well. That is really a powerful quote from Pastor Wayne. I too, get caught up in all of the “doing”, yet I feel like I know what my purpose is and when I read Nikki’s post, it seemed to make sense, We are taking the Holy Spirit with us into a dark world, it gives them temporary peace, when we leave, it goes. (if they don’t have it on their own.) I think that is how we are light to a dark world. Also, people want that, they want what we have and there lies the ripple effect of advancing the Kingdom. We love others with the filling of the Holy Spirit, not ourselves!!!! If we are too busy doing stuff, we will be tired and overwhelmed and less likely to be “out there” and also probably less attractive– they will think, “Look at those tired church ladies.” Pray for Carol and I as we go down to the YES outreach this afternoon. I want to be a Jesus magnet and not look tired and boring. Thanks team!!

  2. Michelle Myers

    Kim, thanks for the clarification and reminder that it is not about how much we do, but doing what God has told us to do.

  3. Kim, I love that quote from Pastor Wayne Cordeiro. It echoes the main thrust behind John Bevere’s book, Driven by Eternity, in which the author suggests we will all be called to account for what we did and did not accomplish during our time on this planet. It won’t matter how great or small the accomplishment, but whether it was what God gave us to do. Years ago, I actually had to put that book away because it scared me. These days I have more confidence that I am hearing God speak and trying to do what He has laid before me to do.

Leave a Reply

