April 13 1 Samuel 14; 1 Chronicles 4; 2 Corinthians 13

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: HERE 

Sadly, I share that sweet Susan Aken will be stepping off our writing team for a season. Susan is such a gifted writer and God is leading her to some other work for Him. We have appreciated and enjoyed her heartfelt notes since this ministry launched last January. You can continue to follow Susan’s writing at https://aken53.wordpress.com/ Thank you so much Susan! We love you!

Unhindered – Robin Laney

S~ “Let’s go across to the outpost of those pagans,” Jonathan said to his armor bearer. “Perhaps the Lord will help us, for nothing can hinder the Lord. He can win a battle whether he has many warriors or only a few!” 1 Samuel 14:6 (NLT)

O~ There sat Saul, under a pomegranate tree, with a priest and about 600 men. Jonathan and his faithful armor-bearer snuck away from the camp to attack the Philistines on their own. Jonathan’s faith was not in himself or his armor bearer or his weapons. It was in God.

A~ Many are the stories we read in the Bible about people God used in great miracles. Sometimes the people He called were uncertain of their own abilities. Some of them would argue that they were unfit for the task at hand but Jonathan went forth knowing that God was able to give them victory no matter what challenge was facing them.

David defeated a giant with a sling and a stone. The walls of Jericho fell flat as Joshua and his army marched around them. Gideon and his 300-man army crushed another army 135,000 strong. Elijah called down fire from Heaven and defeated the prophets of Baal. Peter walked on water. Jesus gave his life and conquered death. All in God’s power.

He still send people out.

P~ Lord, oh, that we would have so much faith and trust in Your great power that we would say, “Yes!” to whatever You would call us to knowing that You are the One who makes great and mighty things happen. Let us not worry about our weaknesses and insufficiencies because it is You who fully equips us for Your purposes. Send us, Lord.

Standing for truth | Nikki Metzger

S~ For we cannot oppose the truth, but must always stand for the truth.  2 Corinthians 13:8 (NLT)

O~ Paul is closing out a letter to believers who are struggling with truth.  The church seems to believe the person who is the best preacher or speaker, regardless of truth or not.

A~ I had such an interesting conversation yesterday with someone who is super passionate about her religion.  When I shared that all my truths come from God’s Word, and that is what I use for ultimate authority in my life, she disagreed.

She said the Bible was fine for me and my ultimate truth, but not hers.  In fact, she didn’t even think I was able to read the Bible and understand it because I didn’t go to school for it.

My heart breaks.

She has believed several lies; one being she isn’t capable of taking God’s Word in for herself.  The second lie is pretty familiar in our time; we all have of our own ‘personal truth’.

P~ Father, thank You for that conversation yesterday!  Insight into how deeply rooted beliefs are and how just talking about faith doesn’t change hearts…there needs to be love, action, You!!  God, please pour Your blessing over her life and draw her closer to You.  Give her a hunger for Truth, not spoon-fed, regurgitated, man chosen truth.  Help me Lord to never oppose the truth but always stand for it, like Jesus did.

Using My Authority, The Way God Wants Me To | Michelle Myers

S~ The Lord gave me this authority to build you up, not to tear you down. 1 Corinthians 13:10 (NCV)

O~ Paul is warning the Corinthians, once again, about their sinful behavior.  Prior to this verse, he says that he is writing this, while he is away from them, so that when he does come to them he will not be harsh in his use of authority.  Paul was a wise man.  He knew the importance of distance, when there is a great chance that our emotions will get the best of us.  He knew that God put him in this position to give people hope, show them God’s greatness, and to help them grow in their faith.

A~ There is so much that came to me, when I saw this verse.  How many times have other people, who had some sort of authority over me, used it to tear me down?  How many times have I used my own authority, over someone, to tear them down?  It may not have been my intent, but because of the tone of my voice, the harshness of my words, or the expression on my face;  that is exactly what it did.  And, to be quite honest, regardless of what “wrong” thing they did, that elicited this response from me, it says just as much about my character as their sin does about theirs.

Now, I have also had people in my life, who have given me and other people the responsibility of “building them up” and fulfilling them in ways that only God can do.  These people are people who are “ok”, if you are stroking their ego, bending over backwards to accommodate them, and are not challenging them in anyway to grow, get out of their comfort zone, or give something back.  And even, yet, I have had people in my life, where even this, isn’t enough for them.  They will never be happy or satisfied with anything, because they are never happy or satisfied with themselves.  To be honest, these people have sucked the life right out of me.

In knowing where my responsibility begins and ends, when dealing with these people, and where to put up boundaries in trying to keep myself healthy around these people, God has told me to rely on 1 Corinthians 13: 4-7 (the love verses).  It is a good guideline.  If my words, actions, and heart are in the place these verses describe; and I am doing the things these versus talk about, then I have done my part, and am not accountable for how they respond to me.

There are days that I fail at this.  There have been times where I have made tremendous progress, and something or someone hurts me again, and BAM!  I am back to behavior or words that can tear down and not build up.  This is especially true, if I am overly busy, overly tired, and overly stressed; because it is then, when it is so easy for my attention to get diverted from Jesus and focused on me and the world.

P~ Thank you God for  your patience with me.  Help me to remember that you love me, as it is described in 1 Corinthians 13:4-7, and that I am supposed to be loving people, in the same manner.  And, please help me, when it comes to the strength to do it.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on April 13, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Jill, i think you have great insight and really “get it”. I’ve learned alot from your posts since you started writing, I even quoted you on one of my journals. 🙂

  2. Nikki, I once felt the same way and even was taught the same thing. I believed I was incapable of reading the Bible or understanding it. I was taught from a very young age that God equipped others to do that for us and I was to listen to those people. It is a very hard thing to overcome!

Leave a Reply

