April 12 1 Samuel 13; 1 Chronicles 2,3; 2 Corinthians 12

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: HERE

Expendable| John Deases

S~ “You have done a foolish thing.“  Samuel said.  “You haven’t obeyed the command the Lord your God gave you.  If you had, he would have made your kingdom secure over Israel for all time to come.  But now your kingdom won’t last.  The Lord has already looked for a man who is dear to his heart.  He has appointed him king of his people.  That’s because you haven’t obeyed the Lord’s command.“  I Samuel  13:13-14 (NIV)

O~ Saul’s army was at war with the Philistines.  The Philistines were many and mighty.  Saul’s men were full of fear with the battle that lay ahead mainly because they were outnumbered.  Samuel told King Saul to wait 7 days for his return.  When 7 days had passed, King Saul became  impatient and took it upon himself to offer sacrifices to the Lord in order to seek God’s favor. In doing so, King Saul was assuming the priestly duties of Samuel  the prophet.  Lo and behold, Samuel the prophet shows up, just as King Saul had finished up with the burnt offerings. To say that Samuel the prophet was upset would be an understatement.  Samuel basically laid into King Saul for acting without regard for God.  Israel’s  first king was in hot water for this breach.   The consequence for King Saul’s negligence was that another person was being prepared by God to take the king’s place.

A~ Wow.  What a story and what a sad outcome.  Several things can be said about this story, but I will focus on three points.  King Saul was in a position of leadership and acted hastily which resulted in a verbal lashing from Samuel the prophet.  This serves as a warning to me to be very careful when I make a leadership decision.  I need to make sure that I am making decisions that are God-honoring to ensure that I don’t get ahead of God’s timing.  Secondly, I need to act within my authority.  King Saul overstepped his bounds which was a big deal.  In my place of employment, I am a Sergeant, which means I am called to uphold the rules and regulations of the department.   It is not my job to create rules and regulations.   True enough, it would be easy at times to make things up as I go along, but that would not be right nor honorable.  Lastly, I feel that within this story is the notion that King Saul was easily appointed and could easily be replaced.  I know that God is in the business of promoting people, but he also regulates his chosen ones and if need be, he can replace them.  If I am not doing His will in my life nor workplace, I feel He should replace me.  In this story, it appears if God raises somebody up and that person chooses to wander, then it is within His prerogative to do what He wants.

P~  Lord, thank You for this story which really speaks to me.  I pray You help me stay within Your timing, act within my authority, and not take my promotions in life for granted.

Pain and Grace | Jill Terry

S~ Because of the surpassing greatness of the revelations, for this reason, to keep me from exalting myself, there was given me a thorn in the flesh, a messenger of Satan to torment me—to keep me from exalting myself! Concerning this I implored the Lord three times that it might leave me. And He has said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:7–9 (NAS)

O~ Paul was given an affliction or “a thorn in his flesh.” My study notes say the exact illness Paul suffered from is unknown. Paul asked God to take away the problem, not once but three times and God answered him, “ My grace is sufficient for you.”

A~ I needed to be reminded of that this morning. It has been such a sad week. My mother has been sick and in the hospital, a sick little boy passed away after a long fight with a horrible illness and my seizures make life difficult.

I don’t understand why all of this has happened or continues to happen. But I don’t have to either. I just need to remember that God’s grace is sufficient for me and He will see me through it all. I have to trust that all of this pain and heartbreak is part of God’s perfect plan. I cannot imagine what handling all of this would be like without being able to lean on the strength of God. My faith makes the pain so much easier to bear.

P~ Dear Jesus, Thank you for Your grace and thank you for guiding me through the pain. In Your name I pray. Amen

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on April 12, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

