April 11 1 Samuel 11,12; 1 Chronicles 1; 2 Corinthians 11

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: HERE

Want a shorter reading plan? www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com 

Farewell | John Deases

S~ But be sure to have respect for the Lord.  Serve him faithfully.  Do it with all your heart.  Think about the great things he has done for you.  But don’t be stubborn.  Don’t continue to do what is evil.  If you do, both you and your king will be destroyed.  I Samuel 12:24-25 (NIV)

O~ On the heels of Saul becoming king, Samuel the prophet gives one final speech to people of Israel.   Samuel’s farewell speech is chock-full of directives and warnings, one for the ages.

A~ Words to live by.  I think this excerpt encapsulates the essence of what a person should strive for if they want to honor God.   I know my life is moving in the right direction when I incorporate the words of Samuel.  And the converse is true, my life is moving in the wrong direction when I choose to violate the words in this Scripture.  Samuel’s speech was truly inspired.   I would do well to purpose my life to follow the decrees of God.

P~ After hearing the final words of Samuel, my prayer is that I would live accordingly.  May the words of Samuel be sealed within my spirit.

Pure Grace | Jill Terry

S~ But I am afraid that, as the serpent deceived Eve by his craftiness, your minds will be led astray from the simplicity and purity of devotion to Christ. 2 Corinthians 11:3 (NAS)

O~ Paul is warning the church of the danger of being lead astray by false teachers, false beliefs or even false gods. Jesus offers such a simple answer to the evils of this world, it sometimes seems too easy to be true. I didn’t comprehend for a very long time how simple faith could be. I really struggled with grasping the pureness of grace offered by Jesus. It just seemed to easy. No rules, no legalism… just pure grace.

A~ I don’t deserve grace but Jesus gave it to me. In return, I am so often ungrateful and whiny and questioning. I am so unworthy of grace and yet so very grateful for it. I want everyone to know of the love and peace offered through a pure devotion to Jesus. I want everyone to experience the joy and peace that only comes through a life being a follower of Jesus.

P~ Dear Jesus, Thank you for your sacrifice and your gift. Thank you for unmerited grace. Help me to boldly proclaim your love to everyone I encounter. In Your name I pray. Amen

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on April 11, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

