April 10 1 Samuel 8-10; 2 Corinthians 10

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: HERE

Want a shorter reading plan? www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com 

Take Heed| John Deases

S~ In spite of what Samuel said, the people refused to listen to him.  “No!” they said.  “We want a king to rule over us. Then we’ll be like all the other nations.  We’ll have a king to lead us.  He’ll go out at the head of our armies and fight our battles.”  I Samuel  8:19-20 (NIV)

O~ The people wanted a change.  They were unhappy with the shenanigans of the judges.   The judges were doing things that were questionable, like accepting bribes.  So it was decided by the elders that a king was needed.    Samuel, the prophet, was not happy.  Samuel prayed and God revealed to Samuel that the people were  turning their back on God.  So a warning was given to the people of Israel, detailing the demands of having a king.  The people persisted in their desire for a king.

A~ God clearly did not want this change to take place.  He knew the fallout of what was about to happen.  God used Samuel the prophet to warn the people how their lives were about to change forever.  There was mention in the passage that the people would become slaves as a result of their decision to have a king.   But because they were so persistent, God gave them what they wanted.

P~ May I be sensitive to Your voice and take heed to any warnings You may be giving me.  I pray I would never walk away from You nor desert Your teachings.

Choose Your Weapons | Robin Laney

S~ It is true that we live in the world, but we do not fight from worldly motives. The weapons we use in our fight are not the world’s weapons but God’s powerful weapons, which we use to destroy strongholds. We destroy false arguments; we pull down every proud obstacle that is raised against the knowledge of God; we take every thought captive and make it obey Christ. 2 Corinthians 10:3-5 (GNT)

O~ Paul is defending himself against those who were criticizing the methods he used in teaching and preaching. They thought him weak in his approach.

A~ Paul knew that he couldn’t win a spiritual battle with worldly weapons. We don’t battle against flesh and blood but against spiritual forces of evil. Those enemies can only be defeated by the power of God and His powerful weapons – prayer, faith, hope, love, His Word and the Holy Spirit. Paul was humble and Christ like in his response to arguments against God. He relied on God to give him the words to speak and spoke with wisdom and love.

I have certainly been one to wrongly use the world’s weapons to fight spiritual battles, especially on social media. It’s so very easy to pop off and whip out a response to someone’s comments without knowing their hearts. Boldness is easy when we are not face to face. We justify our firm replies by telling ourselves that we are simply speaking the Truth, defending our faith, standing up for God. Many, if not most, times our words are not perceived as wise or humble or loving but as proud, self-righteous and lacking compassion much like a clanging cymbal. We end up sounding like any another angry, ignorant, prejudiced, judgmental person in this world.

The fact is that we have a formidable foe in the battle for people’s souls. He blinds them to God’s Truth and is the Father of Lies. He can bend and twist our words, play games with our intentions, distort our messages and make a real mess of things when we give him ammunition. We must not fall prey to his tricks and traps. Jesus was set up many times. There were people who tried mercilessly to trip him up with his words and actions. He knew their hearts and minds and so recognized their motives and used wisdom to answer their questions.

We, unlike Jesus, do not have the power to know people’s hearts and minds before they even speak. We do, however, have access to God’s power, through prayer and the Holy Spirit, which can help us to love people in a way that allows us access, insight, discernment, wisdom, and influence that can tear down spiritual walls and break through the enemy’s strongholds. God’s Word, though not always readily accepted, never returns to us void. When offered with love and compassion it can give hope and grow faith. Do not wage war against people with your words but against evil in God’s great power. He does not need defenders but, rather, imitators of His Son who showed great love.

P~ Father, teach us to be like Your Son who is humble and wise and compassionate, who did not come to destroy but to give life. Help us to use our mouths to ask questions instead of accuse. Open our eyes to see people like you see them and our hearts to love them like you love them. Let us really listen and give us discernment as to when and how to respond. Feed us the words to say, when necessary, and shut our mouths when words are not helpful. Make us constantly aware that our battle is not with the people around us but with the powers that seek to destroy us. Let us fight the good fight!

Not My Doing | Jill Terry

S~ But, “Let the one who boasts boast in the Lord.” 2 Corinthians 10:17 (NIV)

O~ All bragging abut accomplishments or actions is for naught. We should only being bragging about the things we have done because of the strength Jesus provides.

A~ The things I am good at and the gifts God has blessed me with aren’t worth anything, if I don’t share the love of Christ with others. I need to fully step up and boast about the gifts in my life and the wonderful things God has and will accomplish through me. I must only brag about God and how awesome He is. I am nothing without Him so why would I brag about something that doesn’t come from Him?

P~ Thank you Lord Jesus for the gifts in my life and for uniquely qualifying me to do the tasks You have called me to do. Amen

For You | Kim Chipman

S~ When people commend themselves, it doesn’t count for much. The important thing is for the Lord to commend them. 2 Corinthians 10:18 (NLT)

O/A~ As I am processing the death of my 6 year old nephew, I am thinking an awful lot about life. About who I am. About what I believe. About the legacy I want to leave. About the relationships I have. Here’s what is standing out today…

Almost every day I get up early, make coffee, and sit with You in Your Word. When I’m happy. When I’m scared. When life is good. When I’m tired. When I’m *exhausted*. When I’m excited. And, even when I’m very, very sad. You never change and I am so very thankful for the anchor of Your truth. You never fail. Sometimes people do, and leave me disappointed and hurt. I bet I do that to others, too. I am thankful for the truth that never changes…reminders to be thankful in all things, pray at all times, trust You with all my heart, lean not on my understanding…reminders to love well even when people don’t deserve it. I’m thankful for Your Word and for the habit of sitting here no matter how I’m feeling. Your peace permeates my feelings. Your sweet, precious peace.

Also, I want to do this life well for You. I care what others think to the extent that in order to love well I need to know what’s going on in their hearts. I can’t live only concerned for my own needs, but for the needs of others. I really can’t live for their approval, though. Doesn’t count for much to commend myself…and really it doesn’t count for much if it’s from other people either. It’s encouraging…but You are my Audience of One. The important thing is for YOU to commend me. That requires me to get my heart right and choose you moment by moment, day by day. Only then can Your purpose and plan for MY life be realized.

I can get better at this. I fight my flesh. I like my way. In light of eternity, though, this life is but a breath…a whisper in the breeze. The hope I have in You is SO much better than any sneaky lie the devil is trying to sell as fulfilling. Living for You is fulfilling. It isn’t easy, but it’s worth it.

P~ Lord, when it’s all said and done my heart’s desire is to hear, “Well done my good and faithful servant.” Help me to remember what is important. Help me to live this life well, for Your glory. I love You.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on April 10, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

