April 7 1 Samuel 1,2; Psalms 66; 2 Corinthians 7

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: HERE

Want a shorter reading plan? www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com 

Acknowledge Them | Nikki Metzger

S~ “In that case,” Eli said, “go in peace! May the God of Israel grant the request you have asked of Him.” 1 Samuel 1:17 (NLT)

O~ Hannah, in anguish and sorrow, went to pray at the Tabernacle. Eli thought she was drinking and reprimanded her, but Hannah just said she was so discouraged and was pouring her heart out to God. Eli acknowledges her sorrow and sends her on the way. Verse 18 shares that Hannah was no longer sad. Hannah had a change of emotion when Eli acknowledged her sorrow.

A/P~ God, thank You! Please help me acknowledge those who are in sorrow that are in my path, maybe it’s all they need. I LOVE YOU!

Let Me Tell You | Kelley DeAses

S~ Come and listen, all you who fear God; let me tell you what he has done for me.  Psalm 66:16 (NIV)

O~ It has stuck with me for several years now, this phrase my former pastor encouraged us with: “You do not own the copyright on your own story.”  God does.  And He desires we tell our stories of what God has done for us, through us and in us whenever and wherever we have opportunity.

A~ I love my new job at a church for this reason — the workplace conversation.  Working with a team of believers who are passionate to further His kingdom by using their gifts in their own sphere of influence, our chitchat around the office is not limited to sports and the weather.  We can talk about current events in the local news or around the globe in view of what God has to say in His Word.  We can share joys and concerns about friends and family relationships.  We can encourage each other to read books or see films we found edifying. We can share our true selves with one another beyond the surface parts or any trite gossip.  We share our stories and our testimonies as a family in Christ.

P~ Father, It is clear You have directed my steps to lead me to this job at this time in my life.  I was not looking for this position at all, but You provided it.  I now enjoy the same freedom to discuss spiritual things at my workplace as I do in my own  home or with my friends.  After many years employed at a government office, it is refreshment for my soul.

TAKING SPACE WITH GOD | Michelle Myers

S~ The kind of sorrow God wants makes people change their hearts and lives.  This leads to salvation, and you cannot be sorry for that.  But the kind of sorrow the world has brings death. 2 Corinthians 8:10 (NCV)

O/A~ I was having a conversation with my husband the other day in regards to addiction.  He had said, ” When you are in the middle of it….still in denial, still prideful, still selfish….it is beyond one’s ability to believe that it could cause you to lose everything.  But it did.”  The sorrow of losing his wife and children, his home, etc. made him see the need and want to change his heart and life.

As his sobriety progresses and his  mind clears, I am happy for each revelation that he has.  Especially, the ones that have created consistent changes in his behavior, attitude, etc.  Because the acknowledgement and consistent effort show a true heart change.  The true heart changes are what help rebuild the trust that I had lost in regards to him.  He has made tremendous progress compared to where he was prior to me leaving and even after coming back.  Yet, there are a few areas that still have remained inconsistent enough, that trust is non-existent.

When I am triggered by an unexpected event, a memory from the past, etc.; I struggle with seeing anything good and trusting him in any situation.  I have found that it is not good for either of us, if I go to him, when I am dealing with these triggers.  They are confusing.  They are painful.  They can come from nowhere.  And when I am going through that, I only see him as the person who caused the confusion and pain.  I don’t see the good that has come out of ALL the pain and sorrow.  I don’t remember the areas in which he has rebuilt my trust.  I don’t see what we have left.  In the middle of this, I very much have tunnel vision and there isn’t a rainbow, a pot of gold, etc. at the end of that tunnel.

However, ALL of this the pain, the loss, the triggers have forced me to really rely on God more and more.  I have seen him cover financial messes that I thought were hopeless.  I have seen him open doors in areas where I can serve Him and give Him glory.  In the midst of a trigger the other day, I decided it was time for me to make some changes in how I deal with them.  Giving my husband a heads up, so he didn’t feel like I was purposely withdrawing out of anger or trying to reject him, I decide physically give myself some space.  For about three days, I stayed in one area and he stayed in another.  It was kind of lonely.  I missed him.  But I also wasn’t focused on the pain so much, as I was on God.  Giving me that space, allowed me to focus on letting God heal the pain, instead of focusing on the pain and the man who caused it.  At one point, I thought I was ready to “go back” and have a conversation with my husband.  After just one text, I knew that I wasn’t, and that the conversation would have just resulted in more hurt and confusion on my part….no matter what my husband said or did.  So, back to God I went, for more healing, more discernment, and more guidance.  And, the next morning, I got up and felt that it was time.  We met for breakfast, and had a long, productive discussion in which I wasn’t a confused, emotional wreck.  This allowed both of us to be more open to hearing each other’s perspective and not get defensive.  This allowed me to focus on the good and the healing, instead of being blinded by only the pain and loss.  In hearing a calm, stable wife; my husband was able to get some new revelations about past hurts and my perspective on them.

P~ Thank you God for giving me guidance and showing me what boundaries I needed, in regards to myself and for myself. This allowed me to heal a little bit more, change my focus, and participate in a healthy, productive, and constructive conversation with my husband.  Although working through the emotions and not acting on them, was hard; I also felt very empowered by going to YOU and taking the time to process through them with YOU.  Please continue to work on everyone’s healing, as addiction and the consequences they result in, have an impact on the whole family.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on April 7, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Michelle Myers

    Thank you Susan I will pray about that.

  2. Michelle, I want to encourage you to write a book about your experiences. I think it is much needed in our world! What a gift that both you and your husband are willing to have such transparency. That is rare! A book telling about your journey could impact many lives. I hope you will pray about that. Thank you for your honesty as you share here.

Leave a Reply

