April 3 Judges 17,18; Psalms 89; 2 Corinthians 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: HERE

Want a shorter reading plan? Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

My strength | Nikki Metzger

S~ You are their glorious strength. It pleases You to make us strong. Psalm 89:17 (NLT)

O~ You alone are the only thing worthy and good in my life. I like to take credit for the good, but really, it’s all You.

A~ Is this true? Does it please You to make us strong? I feel weak and helpless and very unsure of life. Am I missing something? I don’t feel strong at all.

P~ Oh God, thank You for Your patience! I want You to be my glorious strength! I pray for this in Jesus’ Name!

Don’t Brag On Me | Michelle Myers

S~ We are not saying that we can do this work ourselves.  It is God who makes us able to do all that we do.  He made us able to be servants of a new agreement from himself to his people.  This new agreement is from himself to his people.  The new agreement is not a written law, but it is of the Spirit.  The written law brings death, but the Spirit gives life. 2 Corinthians 3:5 (NCV)

O~ Paul starts this chapter by asking, “Are we starting to brag about ourselves again?” 2:Corinthians 3:1 (NCV)

A~ My husband has often and repeatedly apologized for the hurt, pain, and turmoil that he has caused.  He has often told me that he appreciates my grace, and he appreciates that I am still here, in this marriage.  I tell him to thank God and appreciate God, because if it weren’t for Him; I wouldn’t be.

I love my husband.  I have been with him for over half of my life.  Yet, this marriage has dealt me more than I ever could have handled on my own.  Plus, we weren’t even Christians when we got married.  If I had never learned about God; formed a relationship with Christ; had the discernment of how He prepared me for this trial; and watched while He brought me out of situations that seemed impossible, I would have left.

Looking back on it, I can see where He had been calling me my whole life, wanting a relationship with me.  Yet, I was very worldly.  I grew up in a worldly home.  I didn’t know any better.  And in my worldly family, at the first sign of trouble in a marriage, you leave.  And if you don’t leave, you become a miserable person, who is bound and determined to make everyone else around you miserable.

So, it is by the grace of God that I am able to see the big picture of how the pieces of my life fit together, have the discernment to understand how they have helped me grow spiritually, and ability to see that there is a bigger picture.  This world that we live in, isn’t it.  My husband’s addiction, is not all there is to my husband.  More important than my physical comfort or my desire for materialistic things, is my willingness to serve God, glorify Him, and leave a legacy of Him to my girls.

P~ Thank you God for your grace and help.  I know the things that I just wrote about.  I know them in my head.  I know them in my heart.  So, when my worldly flesh wants to override what I truly know, help remind me.  When I am struggling with, “I can’t do this anymore”, remind me that I can, if I rely on YOU.  When I can only see the hurt, pain, and addiction; remind me that my husband is so much more than that.  Please help me remember God.

Son, You Are A Letter | Kelley DeAses

S~ You show that you are a letter from Christ, the result of our ministry, written not with ink but with the Spirit of the living God, not on tablets of stone but on tablets of human hearts.  2 Corinthians 3:3 (NIV)

O~  Paul is affirming his friends by telling them their very lives are a living, breathing testimony to Paul’s ministry among them and to Jesus Christ Himself.  Paul gives all the credit and glory to God, but marvels at how the Holy Spirit has worked so mightily in their hearts.  Paul speaks with all the pride of a father for his children.

A~ When I read this verse, I cannot help but think of my son, Thomas.  He is mostly “out of the nest” at this point, attending college 500 miles away.  But I could not be more proud of the young man he has become and the walking witness of Jesus Christ he is wherever he goes.  In the face of adversity– his dad leaving our home when Thomas was very small, and having a strained and distant relationship with him his whole childhood — I did my best to raise him “in the admonition of the Lord” and provide him a Christian community to reinforce my faith to him.  Anything I did right in his upbringing was certainly by God’s grace and I made countless mistakes in my frail humanness, but to see him now, I behold that “letter from Christ” Paul was talking about.

P~  Father, Thank You for entrusting Thomas to be my son.  Our son, as You became the Father he really needed all along.

Freedom in Christ | Susan Aken

S~ He has made us competent as ministers of a new covenant—not of the letter but of the Spirit; for the letter kills, but the Spirit gives live…Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. 2 Corinthians 3:6,17 (NIV)

O~ Paul is teaching the truth of what has changed with the new covenant. The old covenant (living by the law) has been replaced by grace. The old covenant brought death (we are not capable of keeping the law) but the new covenant gives life (Jesus kept the law for us and has set us free from it)

A~ The Spirit of the Lord lives in me. Therefore I have freedom. I am not under the law. I don’t have to earn salvation. I am His forever. That doesn’t mean I am free to sin but I am free from having trying to earn salvation. I am free from condemnation. I am free to praise Him no matter what. Trying to keep the law ends in death. Accepting His Spirit by faith brings eternal life. Thank you Jesus!

P~ Thank you Jesus for living for me and dying for me. Thank you that you kept the law for us knowing we were not capable. I love you Lord!

Your Truth | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Now, the Lord is the Spirit, and wherever the Spirit of the Lord is, he gives freedom.  And as the Spirit of the Lord works within us, we become more and more like him and reflect his glory even more.  2 Corinthians 3:17, 18b  (NLT)

O~ This is truth.  Not dependent on me, what I did or didn’t do.  This is for me and for anyone who puts their faith in Jesus.

A~ Why do I struggle with these things Lord?  Why is my default: “this isn’t for me, maybe for others”?  So I read this over and then over again. And I realize that it is for me.  It is a truth about you Lord, and it is for everyone!  Verse 16 says: But whenever ANYONE turns to the Lord, then the veil is taken away.  (capitals, mine)

P~ Dear Father, thank you for reminding me of your truth today.  Thank you that you have not given up on me.  You say as your Spirit works in me, in us, we become more and more like you and reflect your glory.  Help me follow your lead.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on April 3, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

