April 1 Judges 11,12; Psalms 50; 2 Corinthians 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: HERE

Want a shorter reading plan? Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

Thank Offerings | Susan Aken

S~ Sacrifice thank offerings to God, fulfill your vows to the Most High, and call on me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you, and you will honor me…Those who sacrifice thank offerings honor me, and to the blameless I will show my salvation. Psalm 50:14,23 (NIV)

O~ The psalmist is telling us to give thanks to God as a sacrifice

A~ These verses struck me as they ask us to give thanksgiving to God as a sacrifice. Meaning to thank Him when it is hard to do. The NASB says, “Offer to God a sacrifice of thanksgiving.” Two things come to my mind. First, that God wants us to find what we can be thankful for in every circumstance. Even in the most painful of circumstances, we can thank God for salvation, for the hope of eternity. Second, it strikes me that thanksgiving honors God; He accepts it as a sacrifice. I have been struggling some lately. Just feeling disconnected a little and losing some of my focus. But I can thank God that He never leaves me and His love will never fail.

P~ Thank you Father for loving me with an everlasting love. Thank you that even when I falter, fail and fall down, you love never changes. Thank you for the countless good gifts you pour into my life. I love you Lord. Help me to offer to you a sacrifice of praise continually.

Comforting | Jill Terry

S~… who comforts us in all our affliction so that we will be able to comfort those who are in any affliction with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. 2 Corinthians 1:4 (NAS)

O~ Jesus helps us through our difficulties so that we may in turn help someone else through theirs.

A~ I need to help other people with chronic illness accept their “affliction” and grow in their faith. God helped me to accept my own unresolved chronic illness. It is now my turn to do the same for others so they may accept their own unresolved illnesses.

P~ Lord, even though I am not healed, You have helped me accept my epilepsy. Help me to reach out to others so that they may accept their own chronic illness . Amen

Finding Comfort, With Those Who Share Our Story | Michelle Myers

S~He comforts us every time we have trouble, so when others have trouble, we can comfort them with the same comfort God gives us. 2 Corinthians 1:4 (NCV)

O/A~ I suffered alone for along time when it came to my husband’s sexual addiction. I mean alone. I tried therapists. Many of them had no clue as to what it was like to live with someone with a sexual addiction. I found the same with pastors. Friends could only empathize so much, and naturally in areas where we shared a similar struggle….infidelity, financial issues, etc. I had yet, to meet, anyone who was blessed enough to get the “whole enchilada”, like I was. I looked for support groups in my area a few times, and could not find anything. I know, that as much as I sometimes feel like I am the only one; I am not ever the only one dealing with an issue. So, I surrendered it to God, decided to look into starting my own group, and asked that He open some doors. That afternoon, I was looking for some books to read on the subject. In the back of one of the samples I was reading, was a list of resources for spouses of sex addicts. I did some research, made some calls, and found a group that meets right down the street from where we live. I attended my first meeting last night. Then, one of the ladies there told me about another group that meets in the city on another night. BAM! Just like that, God had opened some doors.

We all have issues. We are all human. None of us have a perfect life. I get that. Yet, there is nothing like being around people, who share in the same trouble that you do. Last night, I found myself being thankful that my husband was in recovery. Not all husbands are. Last night, I found hope in hearing some of the women talk about how their marriage’s are now and how they too, are in the process of rebuilding, now that their husbands have been sober for a good stretch of time. Yet, the most comforting thing was that I was around people, who also had periods in their life, where they had gotten the “whole enchilada” and could empathize with every aspect of my story. The second most comforting thing, was that this group had nothing to do with my husband. It was about my own healing. It was about my own growth.

P~ Thank you God for opening doors, and allowing me to find people, who share in the same kind of trouble, to the degree that I do. Thank you God for recognizing, that as much as I was willing to, I really didn’t have time for or want to start my own group. Please continue to give me the courage and strength to share my story, so that other people can be comforted and know that they are not alone.

Faith into practice | Nikki Metzger

S~ But that does not mean we want to dominate you by telling you how to put your faith into practice. We want to work together with you so you will be full of joy, for it is by your OWN faith that you stand firm. 2 Corinthians 1:24 (NLT) emphasis mine

O~ Paul is speaking to believers. The emphasis on OWN in that verse is mine. I need to remember that I cannot stand firm in my faith for Chad or my kids.

A~ I find myself dominating my people by telling them how to put their faith into practice. It just doesn’t work. Paul knew that. Paul was smart! So here is a fact: Cody, my son, will need to stand firm in his own faith. Tasha, my daughter, will need to stand firm in her own faith.

I am not the owner of my kid’s faith. I do have a part though! God has instructed me in how to parent and share about Him, so I need to do that!

P~ God, thank You! I struggle with this control of my people’s faith. I think it’s because I want more faith for them then what I had at their age. You know – You love them way more then me 🙂

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on April 1, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

