March 31 Judges 9, 10; Psalm 49; 1 Corinthians 16

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: HERE

Want a shorter reading plan? Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

God’s Economy | Kelly DeAses

S~ Though while he lived he counted himself blessed — and men praise you when you prosper — he will join the generation of his fathers, who will never see the light of life. Psalm 49:18 (NIV)

O~  The world’s measure of a successful life is vastly different than God’s.  Wealth, possessions, status, power, fame, and pleasure are desirable commodities, and we envy those we see as having more of any of these than we ourselves possess.  But when we take a broader view, we come to the inescapable conclusion that all of these are: (1) fleeting; (2) not worthy of our precious time on this earth striving to attain; and (3) not ultimately fulfilling even if we did.

A~  I have a family member who once lived a life devoted to the Lord, but now, after years of small compromises made in the pursuit of wealth, status, and ego, and pulling away from his wife and children, his church, and his God, is now embroiled in an extramarital affair, on the brink of a divorce, all but alienated from his teenage children, living outside of the family home, and facing the demise of his business as well.  So many of us have been praying for a Divine wake-up call to rouse him from this clouded, self-serving deception and allow him to see the devastation he is causing, but also to realize that “… with God all things are possible” (Matt. 19:26) and even these gaping holes can be repaired and lives redeemed.  Before it is too late and he no longer has the chance to turn back.

P~ Abba Father, I plead for the life of my relative.  Spirit, though he has been smothering Your influence for some time, I pray You would break through and convict him and guide him back to Your loving and forgiving arms.  I pray this in the power of Jesus’ mighty name.

What do I really need? | Carrie Newell

S~ So don’t be dismayed when the wicked grow rich, and their homes become more splendid. Psalm 49:16 (NLT)

O~ This psalm is a warning about trusting in the things of this world, especially money.  It is also about being jealous of what others have.

A~ Sometimes I feel like we will never get ahead with our finances.  Something always comes up.  And then I see people who have priorities other than God making it rich.  Big houses, nice cars, vacations…. ahhh vacations.  And the green monster in me comes out.  I want all those things too.  But, I know that those things aren’t lasting.  Those things are just that- things.  My family and I have recently decided to move into a smaller home, for a lot of reasons, but sometimes I wonder if this is Gods way of opening our eyes to how much we truly have- and how much we don’t NEED.  That the space we live in isn’t really the important thing, but it’s who lives in the space, and how we choose to focus our time, energy, talents and thoughts.

P~ Lord, you are more than enough.  Thank you for all that you’ve given us, and for the new home in our near future.  Thank you for always providing for our needs.  I love you!  Amen.

Live Love | Kim Chipman

S~ Be on guard. Stand firm in the faith. Be courageous. Be strong. And do everything with love. 1 Corinthians 16:13-14 (NLT)

O~ Paul is writing to the church in Corinth with instructions about what to do until he returns to visit

A~ This is great advice while I wait for Your return!

**Be on guard – The evil one wants to destroy us – wants to pull us away from You however he can. He is manipulative and sneaky and will attack when I least expect it.

**Stand firm in the faith – Don’t let doubt creep in! I need to know who I am in You and what Your truth is in the midst of situations that could easily make me doubt. Stand firm. KNOW what I believe.

**Be courageous – Walking in faith can be scary sometimes. Taking steps of faith requires me to trust You by definition. If I understand it all I wouldn’t need to trust You.

**Be strong – It takes some training to be strong. I can’t sit on the couch and be physically strong, nor can I have a life of comfort with no struggle and be strong in my faith. I need to learn from trials and grow.

**Do everything with love – Everything. I need to work on this.

P~ Lord, give me the strength and focus I need ~ fill me with Your precious love so it spills out to those around me. I love you!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on March 31, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

