March 28 Judges 4, 5; Psalm 39, 41; 1 Corinthians 13

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: HERE

Want a shorter reading plan? Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

Watch What I Say | Jill Terry

S~ I said to myself, “I will watch what I do and not sin in what I say. I will hold my tongue when the ungodly are around me.” Psalm 39:1 (NLT)

O~ My study Bible indicates David made a resolution to not sin with his words by not complaining about God to unbelievers. David instead took his problems and complaints directly to God both in prayer and through the Psalms. The various Psalms David wrote have been a great comfort to me through the years. I love the human side of David and the fears, the frustration and the joy he shows in them. I so often relate to the emotions David expresses both positive and negative and how real he becomes through his words.

A~ Sometimes, when I struggle with the trials of life I just want to complain to whomever is near. But, I need to temper my tongue around those who are not believers. I don’t want my complaints and my tongue to be the reason people stay away from God. I want my life to be a beacon of light to those who do not know the joy of Jesus.

I do not want others to think that my problems are a result of my faith. I want everyone to know that the only reason I am able to go on despite my problems is because of my faith. Without God, I am nothing and with His strength I can do anything even temper my words which so often tumble out before I stop to think about what it is I am saying. One thing I truly desire is for people to look at me and say “Yes, Jill has issues in her life but her faith in Jesus got her through it all.”

P~ Thank you Lord for giving me the strength to watch my words and proclaim Your goodness in my life. Help me to be strong and to be a light in a world of darkness. Please help others see You through me. Amen

Time | Nikki Metzger

S~ Lord, remind me how brief my time on earth will be. Remind me that my days are numbered – how fleeting my life is. Psalm 39:4 (NLT)

…our busy rushing ends in nothing. ~Psalm 39:6a (NLT)

O~ In the big picture, we don’t really get a lot of time this side of heaven.

A~ God, I’ve been using some free time to listen to a certain preacher. She is passionate, persistent, and loves You! Her message is quite different (from my perspective) than other Christians that I listen to or read.

She speaks of go, go, go in ministry. I don’t hear of her speaking of margin, or those unscheduled moments of peace.

Then I read this psalm….I don’t have much time here on Earth to pull my sphere of influence into Your eternal dwelling. ( I do understand that You are the one that really does this anyway, but I must participate.) My days are numbered, so I want to do what You have called me. But I don’t want the busy rushing that ends in nothing.

I want Your work that produces fruit, believers, grows disciples, plants seeds….whatever You would have for me.

P~ Lord, remind me how brief my time on earth will be. Remind me that my days are numbered and how fleeting my life is. With this short life, please don’t let busy rushing end in nothing. What do I need to give up? What needs to be added? Thank You!

Love is… | Kim Chipman

S~ Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. 1 Corinthians 13:4-5 (NLT)

O~ Paul is teaching what love is – and what it is not.

A~ Loving well is hard. It goes against my flesh nature which is selfish and prideful. The thing is, that as hard as it is to give I sure know how it feels to get it. It feels like love to me when others are patient and kind. It does not feel like love when others are irritable or bring up my past failures. It does not feel like love to GET my own way when I have to demand it – it feels loving when it is a choice made freely because my feelings matter.

P~ Lord, help me to love well. Love is a choice. Help me to be sensitive to the needs and hearts of others. I need Your power to do this. I’m pretty selfish on my own. I love You!

But…I DO want what others have!!! 😦 | Joni Tyner

***The following journal note contains personal information, I would appreciate not sharing this post with others without my consent. If you feel this would benefit another person, please contact me and I would be happy to discuss it with you. Thank you for respecting our families privacy. –Joni

S~ “Love never gives up.”

“Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have.”

“Doesn’t keep score of the sins of others.”

“Never looks back, but keeps going until the end.” 1 Corinthians 13: 6-8. The Message

O~ I chose to journal from The Message today because I really like how it describes love.  This includes everyone.   Know anyone who that is  really, really hard to be around?  Yea, that person.  How about the person who is self-centered and keeps on messing up, maybe someone who has broken  promises and destroyed trust in the relationship?

“Love never gives up.” This tells me that there is always hope, another chance to make it right, There is forgiveness…

“Love doesn’t  want what it doesn’t have.”   It’s so easy to compare, to see what other people’s kids are accomplishing and secreting wish that my kid did that. That my kid wasn’t doing ____________.

“Doesn’t keep score of the sins of others.”    As far as the East is from the West—Jesus forgives,  we get a clean slate. Our  challenge is to offer that same level of love to others. ( I think I have a few “situations” in permanent marker in my brain, I just do!)

“Never looks back,  but keeps going until the end.”   It’s about letting go of the “what might have been”. We push on.  (insert my sigh—exhaustion here)

A~ I initially journaled the above verses last February and posted it to the Discover One Thing.  I shared about the struggles of loving someone with an addiction.

it still isn’t easy, this is still where God has me, continuing to “never give up”, to “keep going until the end.”

I’m tired.  I’m weary. I’m sad. I’m questioning God in this mess our family STILL lives out on a  frequent, (thankfully not daily)  basis.  I confess, I DO want what others have.  I want to have a child that makes good choices. I want to not fear ringing phone calls.  I want to believe in the future and see a long life that is filled with family dinners and laughter and grandkids and the joy that comes with seeing your kids walk with the Lord.

So, just last weekend…another phone call.  This time is was speeding in excess of 100 mph on his motorcycle and he needs our help. ( the cops leave you sitting on the interstate waiting on a ride when this happens)  …And now the consequences of this impulsive behavior begin to be apparent.  Of course, being a mom, I shake at the close brush of death he had and the reality that this might only be another phone call away.

I’m struggling, I just don’t have much love right now. I don’t know how to live out this verse in a God honoring way? .  I’m tired frustrated and, as I said, I want what others have.  (insert my temper tantrum right here _______)… I don’t want this mess, I want to love and know there is a happy ending…I just do.

P~  Dear Jesus,  please forgive me for complaining and not being on board with your plan for my life.  I desire to serve You and give You glory in everything. Please continue to pursue me with Your Word and give me comfort as I find a way to hold on and believe in all of Your goodness.  I pray that you would relentlessly pursue this child of mine whom I love so much;  use every circumstance to melt his heart and bring his eyes and focus back to You.  I need help in figuring out what love looks like in this relationship.  I don’t want to hinder Your work, I don’t want to enable irresponsible behavior.  Please help me be the mom You created me to be.  I know you love this child more than I do and I want to believe that is enough.  …please don’t leave us, WE NEED YOU!!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on March 28, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Oh Joni, That hit home for me today. I have an adult child with an addiction too and it is so very hard….

  2. Jill, that was so great how you pointed out how complaining around others can make our faith look “bad”. Whoa!!….i need to be mindful of that, just another BIG reason to watch our tongues!.

  3. Michelle Myers

    Thank you ladies for reminding me that I am not alone in my struggles with my mouth, my pride, that often prevents me from loving well, and loving someone with an addiction.

Leave a Reply

