March 27 Judges 1-3; 1 Corinthians 12

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: HERE

Want a shorter reading plan? Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

He leaves us battles to fight! | Nikki Metzger

S~ He did this to teach warfare to generations of Israelites who had no experience in battle. Judges 3:2 (NLT)

O~ God left some nations in the Promised Land after Joshua died so His people could learn to fight and be warriors.

A~ God loves us so much that He leaves some things in our life that we have to fight for. I am a warrior! I need to armor up because I’m in a battle. EVERY.DAY! God is teaching me to fight. Every battle is hand picked for me; to shape me into a warrior like Jesus!

P~ God, teach me warfare!

Good Gifts | Robin Laney

S~ Now to each one the manifestation of the Spirit is given for the common good. 1 Corinthians 12:7 (NIV)

O~ Paul is clearing up conflict within the Corinthian church surrounding the issue of spiritual gifts. The people were arguing about which gifts were most valuable. Paul very clearly lays out for them that there are numerous gifts and all of them are given for the common good, for the building up of the Body. The Spirit manifests in each person in the way that God sees fit for His purposes.

A~ I have been in churches where I have been given surveys to determine my spiritual gifts. I have been in some that don’t speak of the gifts at all or pick and choose among them, staying away from those that make them uncomfortable. I have been in gatherings where the main focus was to pray out loud until the gift of tongues came upon individuals. I have spoken to people who feel unworthy or unholy because they don’t have certain gifts. We make much of the gifts, themselves, and forget that the point of the gifts is the Kingdom. We, like the Corinthians, get caught up in how holy we are or want to be and lose focus on the reason for the gifts.

God gives spiritual gifts based on what He deems necessary for His purposes. He knows what the Body needs. He knows who He is trying to reach through us. His timing is perfect and his attention to detail is uncanny. We can trust that He knows what He is doing.

We do not have to fret and sweat over which gifts we have or don’t have. Our part of the deal is to have a heart that is inclined to God and an intense desire to receive His gifts and be used by Him whenever and however He chooses. We should be eager to receive the good gifts He gives so that the Church can be built up. It’s not about us.

P~ Lord, Your gifts are wonderful and Your Church is beautiful. I desire to be used by You!

Opening My Eyes | Jill Terry

S~ But one and the same Spirit works all these things, distributing to each one individually just as He wills. 1 Corinthians 12:11 (NASB)

O~ This chapter is discussing all of the various gifts people are given to be used to help the Kingdom of God. The Holy Spirit pours out gifts to all people and they are all very different. The way gifts are distributed and the way people use those varying gifts are as different as each individual person. So, why should I be jealous of or desire a different gift?

A~ This verse just freed something within me. I struggle with self esteem issues and feeling like other people “get it” better than I do. Other Christians pray better, study their Bible better, lead groups better or whatever else better. I just had a big AHA moment when God helped me to see that I am good enough. If Jesus thinks I am good enough, why do I need affirmation from the world that I am a good enough Christian, wife, mother writer, etc.? I just need to do the things I have been equipped to do and be ready to say yes to anything else He may ask of me. I just need to accept me for me and know there is a reason that the Holy Spirit chose to bless me with the gifts He did.

P~ Dear Jesus, Help me to be less critical of myself and more thankful to You for giving me the gifts you did and not the ones I wanted. Thank You for the gift of Your Word this morning. In Your name I Pray. Amen

God Knows More Than Me (Duh!) | Kelley DeAses

S~  But in fact God has arranged the parts in the body, every one of them, just as he wanted them to be.  1 Corinthians 12:18 (NIV)

O~  Paul is discussing the body of Christ, His Church.  It is certainly a fitting analogy to compare the various functions and giftings of the people in the church to the various parts of a physical human body, working together to achieve its purpose.  There is no sense trying to rank, value, or compare the usefulness of each member part as all are needed to operate at full capacity.

A~  I am always amazed to look up and discover God has been at work in my life, moving pieces around for my good.  (At my age, why am I still surprised?)  My most recent small testimony — in the midst of the larger testimony of my salvation and the numerous occasions He has been at work to grow me up in my faith — is that I recently applied for and interviewed for and prayed for a certain position on a church staff.  I was seriously disappointed not to have been selected for that job, but, much to my surprise, was asked to consider taking a different position on staff just a few months later.  With some reluctance, I accepted.  And what a perfect fit it has turned out to be at this time in my life (i.e. young child still at home).  I have come to learn the first job I so desired involves lots of evening and weekend hours and more responsibility than I really wanted to take on at this point.  The role I am in as support staff is valuable, but does not detract from my primary role as wife and mom.  It’s as if God knew what I needed more than I did! Imagine that!

P~  Father, Thank You for the reminder You are so much better able to handle my life than I am.  You, who see the beginning from the end, have a broader perspective than I can even conceive of.  I can rest in knowing You can be trusted with my future.

We are One | Susan Aken

S~ So that there should be no division in the body, but that its parts should have equal concern for each other. If one part suffers, every part suffers with it; if one part is honored, every part rejoices with it. 1 Corinthians 12:25-26 (NIV)

O~ Paul is comparing the church (the body of Christ) to the human body. He is teaching that as a body, the church should be in unity with every part having equal concern for the other. Just as the human body suffers if any part of it is hurt, so the body of Christ suffers if any part is hurt. Also, if any part of the body is honored, every part should rejoice. We are a body and should be operating in unity.

A~ Too often when we look at the church in the world, there is so much division. The body of Christ struggles to operate the way Paul describes. I think because it is so important, the enemy particularly attacks us and tempts us in this area. Perhaps we have the most unity when part of the body suffers as it did recently with the 21 martyrs. All of the body of Christ suffered when that was made known. I think it is harder for us to rejoice with the successes of others in the body. I know my flesh is weak and so prone to jealousy when others are honored. I want to be able to rejoice equally for all of His body when they are honored. We are all one.

P~ Father, thank you that we belong to you. Thank you that your church is one and operates as the body of Christ. Please help us glorify you by having no division and by honoring each other above self. Let it be so in my heart.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on March 27, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

