March 26 Joshua 23, 24; Psalm 44; 1 Corinthians 11

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Printable reading plan: HERE

Want a shorter reading plan? Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

Choose, This Day, Whom You Will Serve | Robin Laney

S~ Now fear the Lord and serve Him with all faithfulness. Throw away the gods your forefathers worshiped beyond the River and in Egypt, and serve the Lord. But if serving the Lord seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your forefathers served beyond the River, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the Lord. Joshua 24:14-15 (NIV)

O~ Joshua is relaying God’s message to the Israelites, reminding them of all God had done and provided for them. He then challenges them to choose who or what they will worship and professes his allegiance to God.

A~ We may not be tempted, as the Israelites were, to serve the ‘gods beyond the River or the gods of the Amorites but, in our world today, there are many idols we do worship; money, work, status, happiness, ourselves. We seek provision and knowledge from many sources other than God and we look to astrology, mediums and the occult. We long for eternal security and so we work hard to observe and practice religious traditions and rules. We all worship someone or something.

The Truth is that God, the Creator of the Universe, the only true God provides everything we have. Our very breath is from Him. Each sunrise and sunset is crafted by Him. He keeps the planets and the stars aligned so that we can survive each day. He transcends all space and time and knows all things. He alone is worthy of our worship and will be acknowledged by every person whether in life or at death.

A friend and pastor I know was once asked by a child, “Does God really send people to Hell?” His response was so good. He answered, in effect, ”No. We each choose where we spend eternity.” God has provided a way for all of us to spend eternity with Him and he has left the choice up to us. He tells us in His Word that none of us has an excuse not to know Him as He has made Himself visible to us through His Creation.

Joshua took a strong stand for the Lord among his fellow Israelites who were divided in their allegiances. In a world full of temptation and shiny things to chase after we, like Joshua, must choose God every day and worship Him only. We must acknowledge that every good and perfect gift in our lives comes from Him and we must live in such a way that He is honored above all else – not so that we will be saved (that was accomplished on the Cross) but so that others will see our commitment to Him and know that He alone is worthy of our worship.

P~ Lord, today I reaffirm my choice to follow You. Every good thing down to my very breath is from You and I thank You. I pray that my words and actions, today, reflect my thankfulness to You and that I will not be distracted from my worship by the things of this world that will rust and rot but let me bow only before You who is eternal.

This verse! | Nikki Metzger

S~ But as for me and my family, we will serve the Lord.  Joshua 24:15 (NLT)

O~ My best friend growing up had this sign in her home.  I read it every time I went over to her house (I was there a lot!!)  These people were legit.  They loved, and still love the Lord.

It was through that family that I gave my life to Christ.  Thank You God for them!

I want and desire my family to have this as our mantra of our home.  Not just because it’s a cool saying, but because a family that serves the Lord, changes the world!

P~ Father, I love You!  Thank You for the family that served You by encouraging me!  God, please let our family choose You!

You See My Heart | Kim Chipman

S~ If we had forgotten the name of our God or spread our hands in prayer to foreign gods, God would surely have known it, for he knows the secrets of every heart. Psalm 44:20-21 (NLT)

O~ Israel had been defeated despite their faith and obedience to God. The psalm writer could not understand why God allowed this to happen, but he was trying to figure it out. He knew that God would have known if they worshiped foreign gods because He knows the secrets of every heart.

A~ I cannot hide from You. There is still a part of me that sometimes feels like I can fly under Your radar, like maybe my “little” sins, justifications, delays, procrastinations, questionings, transgressions…maybe You won’t notice? Yet every single little tiny victory you WILL!? I take great comfort in knowing I am seen by You…You see my heart…You see when I choose You…You see when I bite my tongue…You see when I choose love…yet, how do I reason that you will NOT notice the times I choose poorly? Why do I not take my sin more seriously? Please. You see it ALL. You love me regardless and forgive me always, but YOU SEE!

P~ Lord, help me to live with complete integrity, knowing nothing I ever do for You is wasted. you see every secret place in my heart…the hurt, the sacrifice, the sin – and You love me regardless. Help me to honor You in all I do. Help me to take sin seriously. I love You!

Back to the Basics | Joni Tyner

S~ So anyone who eats this bread and drinks this cup of the Lord unworthily is guilty of sinning against the body and blood of the Lord. 1 Corinthians 11:27  (NLT)

O~ Paul is giving instructions about the Lord’s Supper—communion.

A~ I think it’s a good thing to remember the basics. It’s good to remember why we do what we do in our faith.  As believers in Jesus, we are instructed to remember the sacrifice Jesus made for ALL of our sins on the cross.  This is a BIG DEAL.  Jesus death was  required for us to be “made clean”, for us to be able to approach the throne of God without the blemishes of our sin.  Paul tells us to never forget!! We are instructed to prepare ourselves before taking communion by asking for forgiveness. We are asked to remember and then think forward about our hope in Him.  We are to have hearts of gratitude as we take communion.  We also should have reverence and respect for the seriousness of what the bread and cup represents.

At our life group last night, we were discussing loopholes in faith and theology and how sometimes people start to worship the rules rather than the One the rules were initially created to honor and worship.  I saw this passage this morning and thought celebrating the Lord’s supper was one of the “biggies” in this category.  So many opinions and rules about the right way to do it.  Should it be daily? Weekly, Quarterly? On Wednesdays? Sunday mornings?  Is there a “right” age to take communion? Should we kneel? Sit? Go to the front of the church? Real wine? Grape juice?  Music? What type of music?  On and on…

I think sometimes we just need to get back to the basics— 1 Corinthians 11 is telling us to remember the reason Jesus came—He came as a baby in the manager to live a perfect life that led to a painful, horrible death on the cross. This was God’s plan to save us.  We must always remember this.  I believe our response as we take communication is to have a feeling of overwhelming gratitude, we are receiving a gift we don’t deserve. We can never earn it.   EVER.

So…my application for this passage is to make a renewed effort to prepare my heart when I take communion.  I need to approach  this tradition with a broken spirit of my unworthiness.  As I take the cup and bread, I look forward to heaven, to the hope I have that someday, every tear will be dried and every wrong that has happened on this earth will be right.

P~ Dear Lord, thank you for this passage.  I believe You are speaking to me to always come back to Your Word.   I pray for discernment and wisdom, that I might always find answers in Your book, not from the words and rules of men.  I love You and thank You for all You’ve done. Thank You for choosing me, I am blessed to be called one of Yours.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on March 26, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

