March 23 Joshua 15-17; 1 Corinthians 8

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Show Love | Jill Terry

S~ Knowledge makes arrogant, but love edifies. 1 Corinthians 8:1b (NAS)

O~ Knowledge often creates a sense of arrogance regarding a subject. According to the dictionary the word edify means to instruct and improve especially in moral and religious knowledge.

A~ True Christian love is more important than Biblical knowledge. I can know the Bible and all that is in it but if I do not exhibit Christian love, what good am I? As I continue to I read and learn God’s Word, I sometimes find myself being arrogant or prideful about how much I seem to have learned. Then, God seems to get my attention with a verse like this one. And I realize yes, I need to continue to learn and read God’s Word but I should be truly striving to show Christ’s love to everyone who crosses my path.

P~ Thank you Jesus for showing me what true love is and for prompting me to share that love with others. In Your name I pray, Amen.

Love is a Choice | Kim Chipman

S~ But while knowledge makes us feel important, it is love that strengthens the church. 1 Corinthians 8:1b (NLT)

O~ Paul is giving instructions about Christian freedom, specifically, eating meat offered to idols.

A~ Love strengthens the church. WE are the church. I AM the church. Knowledge can make me feel important and maybe even look good, but love will strengthen us.

So, what is love?

“Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.” 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 (NLT)

My husband was reading an article in the paper yesterday about all the children orphaned by war. So horrible. So unfair. If the church – all of us – me included – truly lived this out, we would change the world! But it starts by dying to myself, living for others, and loving well. That’s hard, but love is a choice and Your Spirit is available to provide the power.

P~ Lord HELP! I love You.

I Don’t “Have This”! | Michelle Myers

S~ We know that ‘we all have knowledge’. Knowledge puffs you up with pride, but love builds up.  If you think you know something, you do not yet know anything as you should.  1 Corinthians 8:1-2 (NCV)

O~ Paul is talking about eating meat as a sacrifice for idols.  Yet, this passage can apply to any situation in which I think, “I have this.” or “I know what so and so should do in that situation.”v In our society today, it is easy to pick out people who are “puffed up” because of their degree, education, etc.  Yet, they really have no clue as to what would be a realistic solution to an issue. Nor are they looking at it from the perspective of just “loving someone” and relying on God to give themselves and others the answers and solutions they need.

A~ I used to be one of those “puffed up” people.  I have had enough life experiences to realize that I really don’t know anything and I don’t “have this”.  When it comes to other people’s lives, I have learned that I don’t have all the answers or see the big picture.  I am just supposed to love them through it.  Yet, with my own life, I can easily think, when things are good, “Wow!  I have it. all worked out.  I am finally on track.”  It doesn’t take long before God starts to shake things up a bit.  He reminds me, that the only reason I have anything, is because of Him and my relationship with Him, through the moment by moment connection I have with Him.  Without Him, I am a frantic and can’t manage my schedule.  Without Him, I am grumpy and irritable, and can’t manage my emotions.  Without Him, I can easily get sucked into a purchase I didn’t plan or need, and not manage my budget well.

P~ Thank you God for your discernment.  I feel as if I am juggling fifty different balls and having trouble staying connected to you.  Please show me, how I can better stay connected to you.  Remind me that I need to slow down.  Remind me that I can delegate and ask for help.  Remind me that I need to love others and build them up.  And when I am out of balance, that is often hard to do.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on March 23, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

