March 18 Joshua 1, 2; Psalm 37; 1 Corinthians 3

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Come Walk With Me | Jill Terry

S~ This is my command–be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid or discouraged. For the Lord your God is with you wherever you go. Joshua 1:9 (NLT)

O~ This is God telling Joshua to not be frightened for He will take care of him. Joshua is in charge now as Moses died just as they were getting ready to go into the land God had promised them. A little later in this same chapter, Joshua is telling all of the people that Moses has died and He will be leading them and they respond with, “We will do whatever you command us, and we will go wherever you send us. We will obey you just as we obeyed Moses. And may the Lord your God be with you as he was with Moses. Joshua 1:16-17 (NLT)

My first thought was really? Don’t you remember why you wandered the desert for 40 years? You are only now getting to see the Promise Land because you would not listen to Moses or believe the miracles God did for you!

A~ I am detecting a pattern here. God repeats himself a lot. I never really noticed this consistency in Scripture before. I, also recognize I am no better than the Jewish people were, I doubt God and I forget the miracles He has performed in my own life. It is frustrating to realize how much smoother things could have gone if I had just listened to God and let Him be in charge. What a fool I am. How can I truly think I am more capable than God?

Trust is key here. I know God is more than capable of attending to every detail of my life and He loves me more than I can fathom. So, it’s time to allow Him to be completely in control of my life.

There is a song by Frontline Worship that has been on repeating in my head all morning. It perfectly fits for today. View HERE (if not visible below)

P~ Dear Lord, thank you for always being in control. Help me to get out of Your way and let You be in charge of my life. Remove my fear and help me to be strong. Amen

An unlikely Choice | Joni Tyner

S~ So the two men set out and came to the house of a prostitute named Rahab and stayed there that night.  Joshua 2:1 (NLT)

O~ Joshua sends two spies into Jericho and God leads them to Rahab, a prostitute whose house was built into the city wall.  My Bible notes say that God directed the spies to Rahab’s house because he knew her heart was open to Him and she would be willing to help the Israelites win victory over Jericho.

A~ Earlier in chapter 1 of Joshua, verse 8, “Study this Book of Instruction continually. Mediate on it day and night so that you will be sure to obey everything written in it. Only then will you prosper and succeed in all you do.”  This was initially the verse that I was going to journal on—then I started mediating on Rahab.  I kept thinking about how God led the spies to her.  He positioned her in an place to advance His Perfect Plan. He chose her to be instrumental in His plan.

Why her?  Why not the mayor?  (did they have a mayor?  …no idea)  Why not a man?  (again, no idea.)  Maybe, just maybe, she was broken and humble in her sin.  Maybe she wanted to be molded by something bigger than she could even wrap her mind around.  I wonder if God wanted me to see that a person’s past doesn’t define their future?  And, popular opinion and believe doesn’t always make things true.— I can almost hear the gossip going on at the well, “…seriously, Rahab, the woman who does THAT for a living, who wears THOSE clothes? Who talks like THAT?”.

But,…Rahab was a chosen woman for God’s perfect plan to save the world.

She is the  great, great….(I’m not sure how many greats) grandma to Jesus (see Matthew 1:5).

P~ Dear Lord, thank you that You actually like messed up people.  You always see potential.   Thank you for reminding me to see others with Your eyes. Please forgive me for the many times I’ve been prideful and discounted someone for their past. Help me to love like You love.

Beyond Anything I Can Do | Michelle Myers

S~ Depend on the LORD; trust him, and he will take care of you. Psalm 37:5 (NCV)

O/A~ WOW! I can not believe I was sitting at the high school last night, listening to information in preparation for my oldest daughter to start high school next year.  Time has just flown by, and I have to be honest, I am not ready.  Yet, I don’t know if I will ever be. The reality that we are getting ready to enter the final years of her being a child, living with us, etc. makes me sad, but also excited for her.  We are blessed with two wonderful daughters, and I know that is by the grace of God.  I am confident that they will be successful and productive people.

Yet,  I started to feel myself get anxious about all that needed to be done to graduate high school, get into college, the price of college, etc.  I realized along time ago, as I listened to information on how much tuition has increased over the years, is that no matter what I did, how much I worked, how many summers I taught summer school; there is no way that we could flip the entire bill for college.  Yet, the notion of her starting off with huge amounts of student loan debt, doesn’t seem wise.

As my mind and emotions started to wonder over to the dark side, I remembered God.  I may not have all the answers.  I may not know what to do.  I may have done all I can do, and it may not seem like enough; but what I have learned about God and my life, is that’s when He is glorified the most.  My job is to depend on Him, trust Him, and do what He tells me to do.  Right now, that is to just be a mom, who is there to emotionally and academically help both my girls.  I am to love them, and help guide them into the people God created them to be.  The rest is up to Him.  Whew!  That is a huge weight off of my shoulders.

P~ Thank you God for my two girls.  Thank you for the healing that you have brought about in our marriage, family, and my relationship with my girls.  Thank you for reminding me of my part, and that the rest is up to you.  Please continue to guide me, show me, and help me make the best of what little time I have left with both of them, before they are independent adults.

No other foundation than Jesus Christ | Nikki Metzger

S~ For no one can lay any foundation other than the one we already have – Jesus Christ. 1 Corinthians 3:11 (NLT)

O~ Paul is talking to believers – Jesus HAS to be our foundation.

A/P~ This is an emotional THANK YOU to my God!  I LOVE YOU!  I believe You!  The bible – it’s truth and I cannot believe how You’ve gotten inside of me and changed me!

Things that I have never thought possible, are possible!  I read a book about experiences in my field of work, women’s health.  It was an expert writing about something impacting health, from her educational position.  While it was good and insightful, God, You just reminded me of truth and what You had to say about the topic.  I was empowered to take that book and information inside, but not make it part of my foundation because it wasn’t truth.

And my actual day to day work…..God, You have transformed my eyes to beauty, hope, love, possibilities in these women.  Only You could do that!  Thank You!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on March 18, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

