March 16 Deuteronomy 30, 31; Psalm 40; 1 Corinthians 1

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

My to do list:  wait patiently | Nikki Metzger

S~   Psalm 40: 1-4 (NLT)

I waited patiently…….vs 1
He lifted me…and steadied me….vs2
He has given me…..vs 3
Oh, the joys of those who trust in the Lord….  vs 4

O~ The I person in the psalm is me, the He person is God.

A~ I don’t do the heavy lifting in my relationship with God.  In fact, I need to wait patiently, He does the work, and ultimately will find joy because I’m doing that and trusting Him.

P~ Father, thank You!

Wait Just a Minute | Kelley DeAses

S~ I waited patiently for the Lord; he turned to me and heard my cry. Psalm 40:1 (NIV)

O~ My first-grader was taught a lesson on patience in his Sunday School class this past week and was debriefing his grandparents and me at brunch after church.  He was quite frustrated about the game they played in class where each child had to draw a card to find out his or her next move.  On every one of his three turns, he drew a card which read, “WAIT.”  He was not happy!  What’s worse, when our waitress came to the table and took his order, he had the audacity (and terrible manners!) to tell her he was “starving” and to demand his food be brought to him “in 5 minutes or less.”  Seriously?!  He needs to hear that lesson a few more times!

A~ I don’t do a great job with patience myself, to be honest.  It was seven whole years from the date of my divorce decree, after my first husband had an affair and left our family, until God saw fit to bring me a godly man and a second chance at marital happiness. (Which I got and which I am enjoying immensely!)  Unfortunately, I was anything but patient during this period — always looking and scheming and failing to trust God would really bring the right person at the right time (or sustain me in the meantime….)  He blessed me anyway, but according to His timetable and not mine.  Looking back, I think of all the angst I could have avoided by just trusting Him with that process.  I could have epitomized the beautiful picture described in this verse, one in which I waited patiently for my God and He, in His great compassion, turned my way and heard my cries.

P~ Father, From this and so many other trials You have brought me through, I should have learned just to trust and wait on You.  Remind me when I slip into distrust and impatience again that You are big enough to handle my life and You will because of Your great love for me.

Sharing My Faith | Jill Terry

S~ I have not hidden Your righteousness within my heart; I have spoken of Your faithfulness and Your salvation; I have not concealed Your lovingkindness and Your truth from the great congregation. Psalm 40:10 (NAS)

O~ David is proclaiming that he has not concealed the glory of God within him. He has spread the love and faithfulness of God with everyone.

A~ David boldly proclaimed the faithfulness of God with everyone. I have long struggled with sharing my faith with others. I felt I wasn’t capable to share the glory of God with others people due to my lack of biblical knowledge. I know I will never be a biblical scholar but I can still share what God has done in my life. If I am sharing the Gospel with someone and they ask me a question I don’t have an answer to I will just be honest and tell them I don’t know but I will find out.

P~ Thank you Lord for Your never-ending faithfulness and love. Help me to share Your love with those who need to hear it and give me the words to say when I share your love with others. Amen

We’ve Got it All! | Robin Laney

S~ Just think—you don’t need a thing, you’ve got it all! All God’s gifts are right in front of you as you wait expectantly for our Master Jesus to arrive on the scene for the Finale. And not only that, but God himself is right alongside to keep you steady and on track until things are all wrapped up by Jesus. God, who got you started in this spiritual adventure, shares with us the life of his Son and our Master Jesus. He will never give up on you. Never forget that. 1 Corinthians 1:7-9 (The Message)

O~ Paul was encouraging the believers of the Church in Corinth as they were arguing over which gifts were more important in the Christian life. Their assurance needed to be in Jesus Christ who saved them and gave them everything they needed in this life and the next, not in themselves.

A~ I hear people say, and often hear some of it rumbling through my own brain, “Am I good enough? Is what I am doing enough to please God and make it to Heaven? If only I had THAT spiritual gift like so and so does. I wish I spoke in tongues – that’s the real proof of my faith in God.” And the list goes on and on. Fill in the blank for what you perceive as your weakness or lack of gifting.

If only I was better at ___________________.

Paul is guaranteeing the Corinthian believers and all of us who believe today that the work of Christ on the cross through his death and resurrection is what saves us and will allow us to be presented to God as blameless when Christ returns.

Our gifting has nothing to do with our performance in this life. Paul says that we lack nothing. It’s about the grace of God, His promise to keep us strong to the end and His faithfulness to finish what He has started in us. He provides what we need to fulfill His purposes in this life.

I need to be constantly reminded of this so that I don’t spend my energy trying to be good enough when I need to be fully available and open to what He has for me each day, knowing that if He puts something in front of me to do, He will also equip me to get it done. My failures do not determine my eternal fate when I fail. My eternity is secure in my strong moments as well as in my weak ones as long as my faith in Christ endures.

P~ Lord, You are incredible! Not only, do You save us for all eternity but You give us all the good gifts we need to live out this life abundantly and for You. Help me to be mindful always that my life is all about You and that I can be secure, knowing that You will be with me every step of the way. You are so faithful and good and wise and loving. Thank You!

All Praise Goes to God | Susan Aken

S~ God chose things despised by the world, things counted as nothing at all, and used them to bring to nothing what the world considers important. As a result, no one can ever boast in the presence of God. God has united you with Christ Jesus. For our benefit God made him to be wisdom itself. Christ made us right with God; he made us pure and holy, and he freed us from sin. Therefore, as the Scriptures say, ‘if you want to boast, boast only about the LORD.’ 1 Corinthians 1:28-31 (NLT)

O~ Paul is writing to the believers in the church in Corinth.  Evidently they have been quarreling and choosing sides. They have not been united. Paul is calling them to unity and rebukes them for boasting. He reminds them that few of them were great or important when God chose them. In fact, God chooses the weak things of the world to show His strength. Any good thing we have is a gift from Him. We have no wisdom or strength of our own. Jesus is our wisdom. Therefore we never have a reason or a right to boast about anything but the LORD.

A~ Pride is such a temptation! How often do I fall into the trap of wanting to boast about things as if I had anything to do with it? Any good thing that comes from me is because of the LORD God. It is His grace that allows me to live, His grace that brought me to faith and if any good comes from my life, it is because of Him. This is also true of other people. If I see someone I admire or look up to, I shouldn’t exalt that person but the One who created them and who gives them every good gift. He is the source of all good gifts.

P~ Father, thank you for your gifts.  Thank you that every good gift comes from you. May you receive all the praise and glory. Help me to only boast about You. Please glorify your name on this earth.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on March 16, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Michelle Myers

    I have had the same issue Jill. I have often felt that I was at a disadvantage, because I did not grow up in the church or reading the Bible. Yet, I now realize that God has given me spiritual knowledge and grown my faith through many life experiences. I am definitely willing to share these experiences, the growth that occurred as a result of them, and give Him the recognition and glory for all of it. Because, when I did try and do it myself, those are the times in my life story that are plagued by dumb choices, failure, a mountain of messes, and constant internal struggle. When I rely on Him and am obedient, I may not be comfortable, but I am much more wise and internally peaceful.

Leave a Reply

