March 15 Deuteronomy 28, 29; Galatians 6

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Virtue is its Own Reward | John DeAses (guest post)

S~ Make sure you obey the Lord your God completely.  Be careful to obey all his commands.  I’m giving them to you today.  If you do these things, the Lord will honor you more than all the other nations on earth.   Deuteronomy 28:1 (NIV)

O~ Moses speaks God’s words to the Israelites, specifically the blessings for keeping God’s ways.

A~ To obey God is to follow His ways.  And in doing so, God will pour out his goodness and/or rewards for my actions.  In the earlier years of my journey of faith, I was big on the rewards   for obedience.  If I went to church, attended a bible study, gave an offering, or I happened to overlook an offense perhaps, God would take notice and pour out some kindness and make my life easier and more comfortable.         I then graduated to a place where the rewards of obedience are not necessarily the goal but the means to an end.  That end being a closer relationship with the Lord and the satisfaction of knowing that I am pleasing to my Heavenly Father.  Today, I am motivated to be obedient to the Lord because of the good feeling I get in treating people right and doing the right thing.

P~  I pray that I would continuously choose to be obedient and live a lifestyle that is honorable.  I pray that I would enjoy the tangible rewards of obedience.  But may my ultimate motivation for being obedient, be to enjoy the good feeling that it produces along with the enhanced intimacy with the Lord.

God Always Knows | Jill Terry

S~ The wicked think, “God isn’t watching us! He has closed his eyes and won’t even see what we do!” Psalm 10:11 (NLT)

O~ So many people think or perhaps pretend that God isn’t watching what they do. God sees all and knows all. There is no hiding our sins from God.

A~ I struggle with this. I have had a weight issue for years which stems from so many different things that have happened in my life. I pretended and did not acknowledge for many years that my food struggles were sinful. I have in the last few months made a connection with my dietary habits, my faith and the inner turmoil I often feel. I read a verse which really resonated with me. “For life is more than food and the body more than clothing.” Luke 12:23 and then I began reading a book “Made to Crave” by Lysa Terkuerst. To say God got my attention with these two items is an understatement.

I cannot keep pretending that God does not see what I do, what I put in my mouth and whether or not I exercise. God knows and God cares and so I continue on my quest to become healthier and to honor God with a healthy body. It is a daily struggle but one I can win with God’s help.

P~ Dear Lord, You know how I struggle with food. You know that I am closer than I was yesterday but I still falter. Please help me to remember that you are the ultimate comfort and can fill me up in a way no food ever will. Amen.

Work Just For Me | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  Be sure to do what you should, for then you will enjoy the personal satisfaction of having done your work well, and you won’t need to compare yourself to anyone else.  For we are each responsible for our own conduct.  Galatians 6:4,5 (NLT)

O~  God has given each of us work to do and it is  meant specifically for me, for you.  Whatever that may be.  Here this verse reminds me to turn my attention to doing my best with what is mine to take care of and when I do that, I won’t need to compare myself to anyone else because I am only responsible for what I do.

A~  This is freeing. It also reminds me that what I do matters and is just as important as other people’s work that seem to carry more value in our culture and sometimes in my own eyes.  I am only responsible to do my job well, and I can be satisfied because of that.

P~  Dear Father, thank you for your encouragement today.  For showing me that I don’t need to compare myself to others (and that you don’t compare me), I just need to do what is my part.  Please guide me today, help me to be still before you that I may do my part well.

Keep Moving Forward | Carrie Newell

S~ So don’t get tired of doing what is good.  Don’t get discouraged and give up, for we will reap a harvest of blessing at the appropriate time.  Galatians 6:9 (NLT)

O~ Paul is writing to the church of Galaltia- to encourage them in their faith.

A~ I love this encouragement from Paul.  He really ‘gets it’ doesn’t he?   Lately, God has been taking me on this journey.  He is reminding me through song, scripture and friends that he is not done with me yet.  He has also shown me some ways that I can help him heal me.  My health has been rocky for the past 2 years, but over the last 2 months, he has led me to try some new things, with amazing results.

It usually goes down like this: he prepares my heart through song or words (from the bible or some amazingly wise people in my life), then he moves.  He opens the door a little wider, or he instills in me a new passion to do something for him.  If I move forward, I see some awesome progress.  We are a pretty good team— when I participate.  See, as much as I KNOW that I need to do my part with exercise, prayer, and nutrition; I get weary.  I get tired of the dailyness of it all.  I want a break– after all, I’m working pretty hard– ha;)  But the beat goes on.  And God doesn’t leave me.  He just patiently waits for me to get my self put back together so we can move forward again, together.

P~ Lord, thank you for always being by my side, for showing me your restoring healing power.  Help me to be strong, to not get tired of doing the good things you’ve called me to.  And help me to encourage others to do the same!  Amen.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on March 15, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

