March 14 Deuteronomy 25-27; Galatians 5

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

The Freedom Of Choice | Michelle Myers

S~ We have freedom now, because Christ made us free.  So stand strong.  Do not change and go back into the slavery of the law. Galatians 5:1-2 (NCV)

O~ God wants us to have a relationship with Him, because of how awesome He is, not because we feel “bullied” into it.

A~ It has taken me so long to realize that I have the freedom of choice in so many areas of my life.  It starts with choosing to have a relationship with YOU, continually throughout the day. It is not an assignment that I have been given, it is the way I chose to live my life.  That relationship with YOU, is so important in knowing what choices would be wise, what choices are my responsibility, and what choices would align with YOUR will for me as an individual and in my life.  YOU are the only one who knows the entire “picture” of Michelle.  You know my thoughts, my heart, my circumstances, my strength, my weaknesses,………EVERYTHING……..even more than I know about myself.  Therefore, I need to listen to YOU, and not laws, opinions, views, etc. of man or the world.  This also includes the laws I make up for myself in my own head, where I try and make the world, my life, my family, my day, etc. fit into some sort of black and white play book, where there is no room for margin, mistakes, flexibility, etc.  That is NOT God.

P~ Thank you God, for giving me the freedoms I have.  Thank you for allowing me to live in a country where I am free to openly worship you.  Please continue to help me remember that we don’t live in a black and white world, that you see the entire picture, and that no matter how much I try to make it or me, 100% black or white, perfect, etc.; it will never be.  Yet, YOU love me anyway, and Jesus died for me, in spite of it or me.

All About Love | Susan Aken

S~ …The only thing that counts is faith expressing itself through love…serve one another humbly in love. For the entire law is fulfilled in keeping this one command: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself’…but the fruit of the Spirit is love… Galatians 5:6b, 13b, 14,22a (NIV)

O~ Christianity is all about love. God is love. He created love. Not the selfish love that wants for self but the Agape love shown by Jesus. The kind of love that is willing to deny self or even die to save another. Love should be the identifying characteristic of Christians.

A~ Sadly, love is not always the identifying characteristic of Christians. We still battle the flesh as Paul says in verse 17; the flesh and the Spirit are in conflict with each other. It is obvious which one a person is following. I want to follow the Spirit. I want His love to be shown in my life.

P~ Lord, I want your Spirit to rule in my life. I want your love to shine through me. I want the fruit of your Spirit to grow in me. Help me to serve others in love and to love others as myself. I can’t do it in my strength. Jesus, help me to live by the Spirit.

Not me, not all of it | Nikki Metzger

S~ Those who belong to Christ Jesus have nailed the passions and desires of their sinful nature to His cross and crucified them there. Galatians 5:24 (NLT)

O/A/P~ God, yes.  Some things I’ve nailed to the cross and am done with.  But not all things, because I struggle and fail a lot.  I know that I belong to Christ.  I AM HIS!  HE IS MINE!  But I haven’t nailed down all the passions and desires of my sinful nature to the cross.

Some days I feel like I am being over taken by my sinful desires.  I eat and eat and eat to fill something inside of me that’s already filled by Jesus…..

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on March 14, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Susan, this is such a good reminder with absolutely divine timing for me today! Thank you for sharing.

  2. Michelle, thank you for sharing this. Sometimes I don’t even realize I’m not walking in the freedom he has purchased for me. He has set us free!

Leave a Reply

