March 12 Deuteronomy 19-21; Galatians 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Nothing Without You | Luisa Penaherrea

S~I ask you again, does God give you the Holy Spirit and work miracles among you because you obey the law of Moses?  Of course not!  It is because you believe the message you heard about Christ.  Galatians 3:5 (NLT)

O~ My faith in Christ is the foundation, the very core of life in Christ.  It is not following special rules.

A~ I consider myself a rule follower (most of the time). I like routine.  Then Jesus comes on the scene and he says, “Follow me”.  I can relate with the Galatians as to how easy it is to revert back to the old ways.  But there is no YOU in there.  It is ME trying to make myself right.  As if it was even possible.  It isn’t, which is why Jesus had to come.

P~ Dear Father, you know this, you know there’s no hope for me without Jesus.  And you also know that all these attempts of mine to make myself right, apart from faith in Christ, are all futile.  I’ve tried and it’s exhausting and not possible.  Thank you for sending Jesus to save me.  Thank you for your precious Holy Spirit.  Thank you for loving us so. ❤

Hidden in Christ | Susan Aken

S~ For all of you who were baptized into Christ have clothed yourselves with Christ. Galatians 3:27 (NIV)

O~ Paul has been giving detailed teaching that we are saved by faith and not by works. Here he reminds us that anyone who has been baptized by the Holy Spirit into Christ has been clothed with Christ. This is past tense. We are His.

A~ What a fantastic, beautiful picture! I know Christ lives in me and this verse says I am also clothed with Him. So He surrounds me inside and out. He completely covers me. When God looks at me, He sees Jesus. I am hidden in Christ.

P~ Father, thank you for your perfect love that lives in me and clothes me and keeps me safe in you. You are amazing Lord! Your love is the most incredible gift that we cannot comprehend. Thank you that I am yours forever.

One with Jesus | Jill Terry

S~ There is no longer Jew or Gentile, slave or free, male and female. For you are all one in Christ Jesus. Galatians 3:28 (NLT)

O~ Paul is telling the churches that Christians are not under the law of the Old Testament neither are the Jewish people who are now believers in Jesus. He is making it clear that they are all equal under Christ.

A~ My youngest son was very worked up yesterday over “blackoutday” on Twitter. He was appalled at the amount of hate people were receiving over their pictures. This child of mine is unlike anyone I have ever meet. He does not judge, condemn or belittle anyone. His anger over the harsh treatment people were receiving lead to an interesting discussion about racial tension and gender issues. It boiled down to this…

If a person is a Christian and believes the salvation message, this same person also must believe in the Creation story in Genesis. The point being if every single person came from Adam and Eve, why do people hate? We are all related. It does not matter what a person’s race, gender or sexual preference is… Jesus loves us all, every last one of us. He died for the sins of every single person who has ever lived and who will ever live. How can we hate something that God created?

P~ Lord, It pains me to see the hate in the world over race or gender. Help our broken world learn to love one another. Shine your light through me so that I can help be a lamp of Your love in this world of darkness and pain. Thank you for blessing me with this child who has such a pure heart. In Your name I pray. Amen

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on March 12, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Michelle Myers

    Jill, your topic got me thinking about people I know, who just seem to be “haters” for no apparent reason and what makes them this way. Pride plays a big part of it. We all have pride issues, but it dawned on me, that everyone I know that also has just nasty, hate in their hearts, also has a huge problem with pride. They have to in some way, shape, or form; feel that they are better than someone else. Unfortunately, many times, this “pride” in the form of hate, is just a mask for their own low-self esteem issues. Thanks for getting me thinking this morning!

Leave a Reply

