March 9 Deuteronomy 10-12; Mark 16

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Teach Your Children Well | Kelley DeAses

S~ It was not your children who saw what he did for you in the desert until you arrived at this place. Deuteronomy 11:5 (NIV)

O~ This passage tells of all the wonders performed by God’s hand — both what He did for the people in terms of blessing and provision, and against them by way of discipline and rebuke. The little children did not see or experience all that; their parents did. Therefore, God calls the mature members of the assembly to: (a) observe the Lord’s commands, and (b) teach them to their children.

A~ I am in a tough season in the area of parenting. My firstborn with whom I’ve always had a close bond and an easy relationship has moved out of state to attend college. So, while I am proud of him and his choices, I am missing him. The younger one still at home is harder for me to parent. I know I have the responsibility to “train him up in the way he should go,” just why does he have to buck me at every turn? I get discouraged when I don’t see the fruit of my labors. I think one of the differences between these two boys is the older one lived through some of that desert trek the Israelites had to take and was able to see God’s hand for himself. The younger one, with an intact family, Christian parents, nice house, and private school, has only lived in the Promised Land. So it is up to those of us who have experienced God’s provision and His discipline — namely his father and me — to persist in telling him and teaching him. He will surely face trials in his future and hopefully will have that foundation to fall back on.

P~ Father, Remind me daily of my sacred privilege to parent this child well. Even when it’s hard and he pushes back. Give me Your words, Your patience, Your grace, and Your love for him.

God Loves Everyone|Jill Terry

S~ For the Lord your God is the God of gods and the Lord of lords, the great, the mighty, and the awesome God who does not show partiality nor take a bribe. Deuteronomy 10:17 (NASB)

O~ Moses is letting everyone know that God loves every single one of us. God does not play favorites and He listens to the prayers of everyone. God doesn’t love anyone more than anyone else. Moses is making clear that God is greater than any false god or idol. He is the Alpha and the Omega, there is no other God greater than Him!

A~ I was always taught that God listened to the prayers of little kids, priests, pastors, nuns or saints before He listened to the prayers of the average person. I believed that rich people who gave a lot of money to the church had an “In” with God. I didn’t have money so I thought wasn’t good enough to talk to God.

It took me a long time to realize and understand that I was able to come before God, broken and sinful and He still listened, He still loved me and God didn’t care how much money I had or didn’t have. What a turning point for me to understand and believe the truth of Who God really is and who He will always be.

P~ Dear Lord, thank you for allowing me to come to You directly with my praises, my prayers and my fears. Thank You for loving all of us and not just a select few. Amen.

Letting The LORD Choose | Michelle Myers

S~ Be careful that you don’t sacrifice your burnt offerings just anywhere you please.  Offer them only in the place the LORD will choose.  Deuteronomy 12:13-14 (NCV)

O~ Since it is 2015, I don’t have burnt offerings.  The offerings I have to give the LORD, for His glory, come in the form of time, money, and attitude.

A~ Today, I feel overwhelmed with ALL the stuff I feel I have to do.  I say “I feel”, b/c I know in my heart, that I don’t HAVE to do ALL of this stuff.  I know you have been calling me to sit with YOU and calm my mind, and YOU will show me WHAT YOU WANT me to do.  I also feel overwhelmed by the finances.  Thankfully, by YOUR grace, there is excess money to pay the extra chiropractor bills, the orthodontist, etc.  However, as I listen to my kids and their long list of “needs” and  “wants”, it can be overwhelming.  I am trying to sift through what is doable, what is truly a “need”, and what is the best way to get them the doable “wants” without me enabling their attitudes of entitlement.  The ferret that Eryn wanted to replace her dead goldfish with, well, that was an easy one…you and I both know, except for a divine intervention from YOU, that isn’t going to happen. I have the same issue with time and finances, when it comes to extra school things, charity, organizations, etc.   When it gets overwhelming, all of these demands for my time and money, can often cause me to have a stinky attitude.  That happened this morning.

P~ Thank you God for your blessings.  As many people and things can solicit me for my time and money, please help calm my mind. That way, I can hear where YOU would like me to offer those resources as a way of  glorifying  YOU.  Please help me keep YOUR peace, so I can also glorify you with a good attitude.  And, thank you God, as I am feeling much better and more focused after writing this.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on March 9, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

