March 8 Deuteronomy 7-9; Mark 15

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

 Unending Love | Jill Terry

S~ Understand, therefore, that the Lord your God is indeed God. He is the faithful God who keeps his covenant for a thousand generations and lavishes his unfailing love on those who love him and obey his commands. Deuteronomy 7:9 (NLT)

O~ God’s love is forever. This verse does not limit God’s love to a thousand generations, it indicates who will benefit from His everlasting love. (According to Gill’s exposition of the Bible)

God is faithful and follows through with what He promises and as long as we believe in Him, we will all be the beneficiaries of His unfailing mercy and love.

A~ What a wonderful and glorious thing to trust that all who believe in Him will enjoy the love of God. Prior to becoming a Christian, I couldn’t wrap my mind around a God who loved me regardless of the things I had done. Sometimes, it is still hard to wrap my mind around it. But this is where my faith comes in. I don’t have to understand it all, I just have to believe.

P~ Thank you Lord for loving me regardless of the mistakes I have made. Thank you for opening my eyes to Your truth and for my faith. In Jesus name I pray. Amen

Conquering enemies | Nikki Metzger

S~ Perhaps you will think to yourselves, ‘How can we ever conquer these nations that are so much more powerful than we are?’  But don’t be afraid of them!  Just remember what the Lord your God did to Pharaoh and to all the land of Egypt.  Deuteronomy 7:17,18 (NLT)

O~ How can I ever conquer ___________?  __________ is so much more powerful than me.  Don’t be afraid of _________ and the process!  Remember what the Lord my God has already done in my life and family.

A~ I cry out!  How will I ever have victory in ___________?  I’m standing here at the edge of the Jordan asking myself that question.  You tell me to remember what You’ve done in my life before I faced this battle of ______________.

(Insert me going to read journals from the past here)

You got me into nursing school!  You helped me break a stronghold of pleasing others that I didn’t even know I had.  You have given me hope and control of the anxiety that rises up in me when my heart threatens to beat out of my chest.  You saw my marriage through time and gave me a husband that just rolls with my crazy (THANK YOU FOR THAT!!) You have put me in a work environment that has trained me and given me significant insight into human behavior.  You have taught me that every single person is worthy and made to be loved.  Lord, You are good!  You have opened my eyes to the design of marriage and shaped my heart more like Jesus’ through being married to Chad.

You have fought for me and are fighting for me now!

P~ Father God, I see You fighting for me through all those things we walked through in the past!  I still think how can I ever conquer ________?  Well, I can’t can I?  It has to be You fighting for me!  Help me remember all those things You did for me in the past as I face this new challenge of _____________.  I LOVE YOU!  Thank You!!

Wait, What Wild Animals? | Robin Laney

S~ The Lord your God will drive out those nations before you, little by little. You will not be allowed to eliminate them all at once, or the wild animals will multiply around you. Deuteronomy 7:22 (NIV)

O~ I love how God told the people, through Moses, His plans for them and the reasoning behind them. This verse shows us so much about who God is; all-powerful, wise, discerning, ordered, faithful, providing, caring. He is not a God of chaos or impulse. He sees the big picture and cares about the details of our lives. He also communicates well with His people, not giving them every detail of how this takeover is going to go down but letting them know that He has considered it fully and has their best interest at heart.

A~ When I first read this passage I found myself a little jealous. I mean, wow, how cool would it be to hear from God not only His plan for the future but also the reasoning behind His methods? I found myself wondering, over the past few days, how I get to a place in my relationship with Him where I can hear and understand the hows and whys so definitively.

This morning, as I read the verse once more and reconsidered His words, He showed me a different picture. I see this scene playing out in which the Israelites have heard this plan and they still have a million and one questions; Wait, what wild animals? When, exactly, will we cross into the land? How soon before we have to fight? Who of us will die? What will our homes be like? What jobs will we have? How will we sort out what belongs to whom? What kinds of troubles will we face there? Once we are settled, what then?

I don’t know if they had those questions or not. Maybe that explanation was all they needed. As for me, I always have questions. But why? Why do I have this need to know every detail? Every time? There is no peace in wanting to know exactly how things are going to play out. Peace comes in knowing that God has proven, throughout history and in my own life, that He is all-powerful, wise, discerning, ordered, faithful, providing, caring. He is not a God of chaos or impulse. He sees the big picture and cares about the details of my life. He communicates well with me through His word, through His Spirit and through others, not giving me every detail of how life is going to go down but letting me know that He has considered my circumstances fully and always has my best interest at heart.

The Israelites’ faith and trust in God should have been unshakable because of what they had seen Him do for them. How much stronger should mine be as I have not only seen what He has done for them but have also experienced Him fully in my own life.

I love this quote by Tim Keller, “God will either give us what we ask or give us what we would have asked if we knew everything He knows.” Although my life doesn’t always reflect it, I would much rather God, all-seeing and all-knowing, direct my journey than struggle through this life on my own.

P~ Father, thank you for always taking care of me in the best ways. Help me to be trusting and give me more faith so that I don’t worry about the details, knowing that You see the bigger picture and that Your ways are best. I know that You love me and are faithful. Help me to give up control, trusting You in all things to direct my path.

Gold in the Paydirt | Tara Wiley

S~ He gave you manna to eat in the wilderness, something your ancestors had never known, to humble and test you so that in the end it might go well with you. Deuteronomy 8:16 (NIV)

O~

* Manna in the wilderness, something your ancestors had never known

— God placed the Israelites in a position that allowed them to experience aspects of His character and provision that they would not have known otherwise.

* to humble and test you

— Life is a test. I love that the word “test” in the Bible means to prove. It’s a test that reveals something, like testing a sample of earth for its nutrient contents (or even better, testing a sample of paydirt for gold!). When God humbles and tests me it’s not to shame me with my failure or to require that I meet some invisible standard. Rather, it serves as an opportunity for revelation, a proving grounds to show both what He has deposited in me through the Holy Spirit, and to reveal areas where I need to grow.

* that it might go well with you in the end

— I can trust that all God allows in my life serves as a refining and preparing for all to go well with me. I love how Paul puts it: “For momentary, light affliction is producing for us an eternal weight of glory, far beyond all comparison.” 2 Corinthians 4:17

A~ I love the whole 2 Corinthians 4 passage, but especially 4:16, “Therefore we do not lose heart, for though our outer man is decaying, yet our inner man is being renewed day by day.”

In many ways, I am in that place of blessing God is speaking of as He addresses the Israelites in Deuteronomy 8. He’s reminding them to never forget the struggles they came through. To be vigilant to remember the lessons and provisions. To remember how they arrived in this place of abundance. I must never forget and must always nurture those character traits hard-won.

In other ways, I am still struggling. Autoimmune disease, arthritis, the usual little illnesses, aging. I compare my body to a temperamental Italian sports car, so sensitive to slight bumps, always in need of tune-ups. I get discouraged when I’m doing all the right things and yet things still go ‘wrong.’ I must remember where I came from and how good it is now, and remember the goodness of knowing God in ways I would otherwise never know.

All of this is preparing me for an amazing end where it WILL GO WELL with me, an ETERNAL weight of glory, far beyond all comparison. Wow. How can I get discouraged if I keep my eyes on THAT goal?

P~ Lord, we all have our struggles. Mine just happens to be this temporary flesh I’m living in. Thank You that I am so much healthier today than I was a few years ago. I can be productive in ways that were impossible before. Yet, I must never forget the lessons You taught me in the wilderness, the deep lessons found only in stillness and rest. Lord, let me return to those places and nurture those gold-prizes even today. And when things get rough again, as they will, keep me focused on the goal: all WILL be well. As I submit to You and let You refine me and use me in my weakness, You use these struggles to produce an eternal weight of glory. Keep my eyes on heaven, Lord – on YOU. You are my Prize, my weight of glory.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on March 8, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

