March 7 Deuteronomy 5, 6; Psalm 43; Mark 14

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

The Purpose Behind The Blessings | Michelle Myers

S~ Remember that you were slaves in Egypt and that the LORD your God brought you out of there by his great power and strength.  So the LORD your God has commanded you to rest on the Sabbath day. Deuteronomy 4:15 (NCV)

O/A~ Rest, one day a week for former slaves, seems like it would be a pretty enjoyable luxury.  The freedom given to them, was given to them by God.  The enjoyable luxury of taking the day off was not only given to them by God, it was commanded by Him.

Everything I have, has been given to me by God.  I know that there is nothing special about me that makes me more worthy of it than anybody else. It often times is difficult for me to enjoy the freedom and luxuries that God has given to me.  According to American standards, what I have, is in no way flashy, extravagant, or over the top.  I also try and use what I do have for His glory, as I realize that it is gift from Him.  Yet, the lies from the enemy that I shouldn’t enjoy this, I haven’t done enough, I am unworthy of that, God is disappointed in me, etc. has often kept me in a place where I felt “wrong” for enjoying my life.

God is working on me in this area.  He is showing me that NOT enjoying the simple luxuries that He has given me, is dishonoring to Him.  As much as people don’t want to be around a judgmental, self-righteous Christian, they also don’t want to be around a miserable, barely-get-by, and never-can- do enough Christian with a martyr complex.  He is showing me that, just as it is important for people to see the servant and sacrificial part of a Christian, it is just as important for them to see the joy He has made available to them, through His power and strength….even when things are not perfect, even when I mess up, and even when I feel I don’t deserve it (b/c the truth is, I don’t, and neither does anyone else).

Never would I want to give the misconception that once you become a Christian, all goes well in one’s life.  That would not be the truth.  Nor, would I want to give people the misconception that once you become a Christian, you can’t enjoy anything.

Listening to God (b/c He is the one that matters),  on what He has blessed me with to enjoy, to use for others, and to give up; is what has really given me discernment on what to do with the blessings He has given to me.  He has freed me from the lies of the enemy, that I am not to enjoy anything, that I need to do more, and that God is so very disappointed in me.

P~ Thank you God for your blessings.  Please continue to show me the purpose behind each one of them.  Remind me, that I am to be a good example of the joy you have made available to me, regardless of my circumstances.

My Heart | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Oh that they would always have hearts like this, that they might fear me and obey all my commands!  Deuteronomy 5:29 (NLT)

O~ God commended the Israelites for their hearts of respect for him.  The notes in my bible say:  God told Moses that he wanted the people to incline their hearts to fear him- to want to respect and obey him.  There is a difference between doing something because we want to.  God is not interested in forced religious exercises and rule keeping.  He wants our hearts and lives completely dedicated to him.  If we love him obedience will follow.

A~ I can get caught up in doing things out of obligation, and because of routine-but I don’t want it this way, and neither do you. I want my heart to be in it and my heart to want to.

P~ Dear Father, work in me a heart that fears you, loves you above all else and wants to obey.  In Jesus’ name. Amen.

When God Says No | Susan Aken

S~ ’Abba, Father,’ he said, ‘everything is possible for you. Take this cup from me. Yet not what I will, but what you will.’ Mark 14:36 (NIV)

O~ Jesus is in the Garden of Gethsemane praying. He knows He will soon be arrested, tortured and killed. He knows He will suffer the burden of carrying the sin of all mankind and be separated from God the Father. He has a request for His Father: “Take this cup from me.” And God said no.

A~ I have always focused on fact that Jesus ended the prayer with “Not what I will, but what you will.” He is a great example of yielding our will to God. But this time it struck me that Jesus did ask for the cup to be taken away. He asked and God said no. So often when I experience God saying no or a friend or loved one experiences God saying no, we tend to interpret it that something is wrong with us or that God must not really care. Jesus was His perfect Son! He had perfect faith. Yet, God’s purposes were much higher than the request Jesus made. Jesus knew that God had a greater purpose and would do the best thing. Do I realize that God’s purposes and plans are always the best for me? I have such limited knowledge and vision. I don’t know what is best in view of eternity. Only God knows that. I think the hard thing is realizing that sometimes God’s best in view of eternity involves me experiencing some suffering in this brief life.

P~ Father, thank you that I can trust your will for my life. Thank you that you love me and that you love all those I care about. Please help me to trust you no matter what knowing that you see the end from the beginning and you always know what is best. Please help my faith and the faith of those around me not to fail.

Questioning suffering | Nikki Metzger

S~ And he broke down and wept. Mark 14:72b (NLT)

O~ Peter broke down and wept when he heard the rooster crow.  Jesus said Peter would deny Him three times before the rooster crows twice.  Peter said he would never deny Jesus.

A~ God, can anything be made good with out the not-so-good?  Can my heart be closer to You, go deeper in relationship with You without the suffering?  You built Your church off Peter, a man who denied You three times.  Had he not broken down or even denied You, would his faith been as strong?

God, I’m just reminded in a new way of how You do things is so different from the world’s.  Your story is beauty from ashes.  God, I don’t want the ashes part of my life, or the suffering.  Can we (me) have You to the fullest that we can here on Earth without the pain and suffering?

My gut says no, but maybe (hopefully) yes?  When You  were about to lead the Israelites into the Promised Land, You told them that all would be well with them if they OBEYED your commands.  But I know how well I obey You………….

P~ God, please give me perspective of eternity.  I just want to be full of You, everything in me to glorify  You.  To trust You.  That everything in my life, because I’m Your daughter, will end up as good.  Let me see the strength of suffering on Earth compared to the eternity of Heaven.  I love You!  Thank You for letting me be a part of Your story!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on March 7, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Good morning all!! God is so good, i just want to say that. I met with a friend yesterday who is trusting Jesus and He is her provision. She unexpectedly lost her job on Monday, walked out of the office and proceeded to look for something else. By Tuesday, she found a job just minutes from her house, (saving money and valuable family time with a shortened commute) got a pay raise, AND this new boss is a believer and was fine with her listening to Christian music at work. (the old job told her to turn it off, it gave them a headache.)

    “Dear Lord, thank you for this sweet friend of mine and holding her hand during crazy life circumstances. Thank you for Your continued faithfulness. She is another example of beauty rising out of the ashes. We love You!”

    Also, I have tears in my eyes and a lump in my throat after reading Susan and Nikki’s post this morning. Good stuff. …and God said no to His Perfect Son. That hit me hard, I’m going to meditate on that this morning. love ya all!!

Leave a Reply

