March 4 Numbers 34-36; Mark 11

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

When God Takes His Time | Joni Tyner

S~ The is the route the Israelites followed as they marched out of Egypt under the leadership of Moses and Aaron.  Number 33:1  (NLT)

O~ Numbers 33 gives a DETAILED account of the Israelites’ 40 years in the dessert after they left Egypt. There are 50 verses that “move” them through the journey.  It appears to me they had to pack up every 6 months or so.  There were over 500,000 people plus all of their livestock so I’m guessing they moved pretty slow, no speed records here.

A~ As I looked over all of the places the Israelites camped, I couldn’t help but think, “what an amazing journey.”  It was filled with difficulties and miracles. These people were doing their life on the desert road to the promise land.  They were the eye witnesses to the parting of the Rea Sea, to mana dropping from Heaven.  They also had to have struggles with their faith, their marriages, their mental state.  I wonder if many struggled with depression as they seemed to push on and on and on. Forty years of births, marriages, death and hardship.     Forty years.   Forty years.    WOW.

I read somewhere that God could have gotten them to the Promised land in less than a week, yet He knew that the shortest, fastest way would not be the best way.   plan.  God wanted them to LEARN and LEAN ON HIM so He allowed time, hardship, struggle and I’m sure, many unanswered prayers to be on the journey to produce a legacy of faith for the generations to come.  We have the benefit of reading this in the Bible and of course it was God’s Divine Design and definitely worth the effort. …but, still, it had to be hard to be one of the Israelites on a forty year trip —I’m just say’n I can sort of identify with the whining;  I’m not very patient and I like to see progress and results.

P~  Lord, You know me. I’m super impatient!!!!  I love you and want to see Your glory—like now!!! It’s so hard to be in the middle of the process of life’s long journey and all the struggles that accompany it.  Thank you for the detailed accounts of Your faithfulness to the Israelites who wandered in the desert.  It encourages me to press on.  Even though I don’t like waiting, I trust Your plan, Your time table for my life.

Pride, UGGGH! | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ If anyone asks what you are doing, just say, ‘The Lord needs it and will return it soon.’ As they were untying it, some bystanders demanded, “What are you doing, untying that colt?” They said what Jesus told them and they were permitted to take it.  Mark 11:3,5,6 (NLT)

O~ Jesus prepared the disciples with what to say if anyone were to ask them what they were doing.  They were asked, and they said what Jesus told them.  Simple.  No attitude.

A~ Sometimes, I have an attitude problem when I am questioned.  I don’t like it. I think that’s pride. Satan had pride.  I don’t want to follow Satan, I want to follow Jesus.

P~ Dear God, please forgive my attitude. Forgive me for being prideful.  Help me to be humble, to see myself as you see me.

Forgiveness | Nikki Metzger

S~ But when you are praying, first forgive anyone you are holding a grudge against, so that your Father in heaven will forgive your sins, too.  ~ Jesus in Mark 11:25 (NLT)

O~ Jesus is talking about faith and believing that God has already given it to us.  Forgiving others is part of God’s plan when blessing us with our desires.

A~ Oh God, I messed up yesterday at work.  I spoke poorly of someone to another person.  Something is going on in my heart.  I think this verse describes it perfectly: I’m holding a grudge against this person.  My view of our relationship is distorted.  I see my side/their side.  I have to pray myself up every time we have a conversation.  I also find it impossible to show Your love to this person as well.  So when you say to forgive them, I don’t even know where to begin.

P~ Lord, You say to first forgive…I don’t know how.  Please pour out Your blessings all over this person’s life.  God, bless them with financial blessing, emotional blessing, relational blessing, physical blessing, healing from hurts, pour encouragement all over them, let them feel Your love.  Lord, work in my heart a miracle…to be free from this grudge and to offer pure and full forgiveness.  This has to be all You…in Your Name I pray!

Allowing God To Define A Relationship, After Forgiveness Occurs | Michelle Myers

S~ When you are praying, if you are angry with someone, forgive him so that your father in heaven will also forgive your sins. Mark 11:25 (NCV)

O~ I sin; and just like God has done with me, I need to forgive those, whose sins have hurt me.

A~ I am getting better and stronger when it comes to just releasing things, and not getting caught up in the moment.  I am getting better at looking at the motives behind peoples behavior, words, and mix-ups.  This has helped me a great deal in, not only not getting angry with some people in certain situations, when their motives clearly weren’t selfish, mean, or evil; but they are just merely broken, flawed human beings.  Even when people’s motives are self serving, malicious, etc.; God has helped me get to a place where I can just release it.  There is a moment when the emotions hit, and I have to make a choice.  I can choose to forgive, move on, and trust that God sees what is going on, and He has it under control (way better than I could, regardless of what I do), or I can succumb to the fleshly emotions of anger, frustration, and hurt.  In doing so, I am not able to move on and do what He has called me to do.

In examining people’s motives or reasons behind the words they say or the behaviors they exhibit; God has also given me formulas in regards to what forgiveness looks like in different relationships.  For some, it is merely laughing off  or laughing with them, in regards to their  poor choice of words or the failure in their actions.  For others, it is just releasing the hurt and frustration of their words and actions and letting God deal with it, in regards to them, their heart, and their motive.  These are relationships, where firm boundaries are needed, many times in the form of very limited contact or no contact at all.  God has shown me, that in spite of how they respond to the boundaries, what their motives are, or how they try to manipulate the boundaries or situations, I am to remain stable, calm, and loving in regards to my tone and words, with my ultimate goal being to glorify Him and carry on with the work He has given me to do.

P~ First, thank you God for my daughter, Corinne, as today is her 14th Birthday.  I am so blessed that you have entrusted her to me.  Being a wife and mother are two of the jobs that you have set before me.  Please continue to show me what to carry on with, how to carry on with it, and what I need to put down.  Continue to help me forgive the people in my life that have hurt me, and don’t seem to even have any insight into what they have done, why it is difficult, or where their motives are so far out of alignment with You.  And, as always, make myself aware of this, within myself.  I am very well aware that I am also human, and I am not immune to sin nor are my motives always a 100% right.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on March 4, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

