March 3 Numbers 32, 33; Mark 10

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Am I settling? | Nikki Metzger

S~ The the men of Gad and Reuben repled, “We, your servants, will follow your instructions exactly.” Numbers 32:25 (NLT)

O~ The people of Gad and Reuben wanted to take land east of the Jordan.  This wasn’t land that was part of the promised land.  Gad and Rueben tribes liked what they saw and they wanted to stay.  The warriors of Gad and Reuben had to continue with the rest of the Israelites to take the promised land.

A~ Did the tribes of Gad and Reuben quit too early?  They picked a place to live that was good, but was it God’s best?

Did weariness of the 40 year journey, or grumbling and complaining of the people make the leaders of Gad and Reuben say, ‘OK, let’s just pick here to live’?

If they would have waited just a little more would they have gotten God’s best for them?  I wonder if I do this?  Ha ha ha.  Of course I do!  I’m the Queen of taking the easy path in life.  Do I settle for things in my life because they are good enough?  Should I be fighting, pushing on, being patient for God’s best?

I know one thing I settled on and didn’t push for God’s best, my bible study.  I didn’t speak up about digging into God’s Word daily and finding the one verse God had for me that day.  I settled for a good study and great relationship with these women.  Good, but not God’s best.  I’m sorry Lord!

I know I settle for good things in my marriage, parenting, and work as well.  Sometimes I’m so weary from the journey of life that I can’t wait or am too exhausted for God’s best.

I don’t want to settle for good, like the people of Gad and Rueben.  I want God’s best!  I want the promised land in ALL areas of my life!

P~ Oh Lord, I don’t know what Your best for my life is, but I want it!  Give me the wisdom to know the difference between the promised land and settling for good enough.  I pray this in Jesus’ Name!

Deal With It! | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  But if you fail to drive out the people who live in the land, those who remain will be like splinters in your eyes and thorns on your sides.  Numbers 33:55 (NLT)

O~  Notes in my bible: God warned that if the Israelites didn’t drive the wicked inhabitants out of the Promised Land, later these people would become a source of great irritation.  That is exactly what happened.  Just as the Israelites were hesitant to clear out all the wicked people, we are sometimes hesitant to clear out all the sins in our lives, either because we are afraid of it ((as the Israelites feared the giants) or because it seems harmless and attractive.

A~  Is there sin in my life that is hanging around because I’m not dealing with it and getting rid of it?

P~  Dear Holy Spirit, please show me where there is sin that I’m hanging on to, that is keeping me from living life as you intended for me.  And please help me get rid of it.  In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Everything | Kim Chipman

S~ Jesus looked at them intently and said, “Humanly speaking, it is impossible. But not with God. Everything is possible with God.” Mark 10:27 (NLT)

O~ Jesus was teaching the disciples about being saved. They asked “Who in the world can be saved?” and this was Jesus’ response.

A~ Humanly speaking – impossible. I can’t possibly, in my humanness, be good enough. I can’t. But with God EVERYTHING is possible. Everything.

I’m fretting because I think I left my kindle at the dodge ball tournament I took my son and his friends to last night. In the process of gathering up a herd of stinky boys I think I left it sitting at the table.  Which is a bummer…but the bigger bummer is that I realized my camera was in the front pocket of my kindle case, filled with pictures I haven’t backed up anywhere. So as I sit down this morning all I can think/pray about is my darn camera/kindle situation. I’m not so fretful about the devices – which can be replaced – but about the pictures, which could not.

My prayer as I sat down is for You to calm my anxious heart and racing mind. There’s nothing I can do about those items right now…it’s 5am and I’m not calling the people who could have found them. I know it is fully within Your power to have them returned to me. And even more than that, I needed the reminder that EVERYTHING is possible with You. Everything. My anxiety can be taken away. In light of eternity this would be disappointing, but certainly not the end of the world. I’m more excited about the EVERYTHING in my heart that You can do than about my stuff.

P~ Lord, be my comfort today. Everything is possible with You. Godly contentment is possible. Peace, true peace is possible. “You will keep in perfect peace all who trust in you, all whose thoughts are fixed on you!” Isaiah 26:3 I memorized this verse, thank You for bringing it to my mind. You will keep me in perfect peace when I trust You and fix my thoughts on You! I love You. 

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on March 3, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

