February 28 Numbers 24-27; 1 Corinthians 13

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Love Does Not… | Susan Aken

S~ “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.” 1 Corinthians 13:4

O~ This chapter teaches us what love is.

A~ My two greatest enemies: envy (jealousy) and pride. These do not come from love. When I am jealous of someone or when I am feeling proud, I do not love the other person. If I love, I am thinking more about them than I am about me. Love is patient and kind. Patience and kindness focuses on the other person.

P~ Lord, please fill me with your Spirit and enable me to love others. Thank you that you continually remind me what love is and that you convict me when I am wrong. Help me today to show patience and kindness to others. Thank you that my husband was born on this day 54 years ago. Thank you for how he loves me and always shows me patience and kindness. I love you Lord.

Scorekeeping Love?  NO! | Nikki Metzger

S~ It does not demand it’s own way.  It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. 1 Corinthians 13:5 (NLT)

O~ This whole chapter describes love.  Love, higher than wisdom, prophecy, sacrifice.  This is the type of love that changes the world!

A~ Two people come to mind when I read this verse.  I have not loved these two people like God has described here.

It’s funny, I’m going to see one of those people today.  I’m quite frustrated with her and she is not cooperating within the bounds of our relationship. But does she need a stern lecture about responsibility?  (This is what I want to do)  No, she needs love!  And as I meet with her, our time does not need to be all about me, I don’t need to demand my own way.

Maybe today, she is going to be having a hard day and she just needs love.

P~ Father, thank You for this!  Help me to walk in a way that doesn’t demand my own way, I’m not irritable, and I keep no record of wrong.  Thank You!!  I love You!!

LOVING SOMEONE, IN SPITE OF ‘THE GAP’ | Michelle Myers

S~ Love is patient and kind.  Love is not jealous, it does not brag, and it is not proud.  Love is not rude, is not selfish, and does not get upset with others.  Love does not count up wrongs that have been done.  Love is not happy with evil but is happy with the truth.  Love patiently accepts all things.  It always trusts, always hopes, and always remains strong.  Love never ends.”  Corinthians 13:4-8 (NCV)

O~ Love is not just a word.  There is an attitude and there are actions that bring LOVE to life.

A~ I am so thankful for this scripture.  I often have to refer to this scripture to check my own attitude and behavior.  And, more time than I care to admit, I am not in alignment with what this scripture says love is.  It is especially difficult when I am tired, stressed, overwhelmed, angry, or hurt.  Yet, the times that I have chosen Christ’s way and not given in to my own flesh; I can honestly say, I am more peaceful, my marriage is more peaceful, and my family is more peaceful.  The icky feelings of anger and hurt may still be there, but they don’t rule over me and get out of control, causing a massive storm that lasts longer than it needs to and is more destructive than constructive.

The emotions and frustrations can be so overwhelming.  I sometimes have to lock myself in the bathroom and process through the emotions with God.  I have to have Him help me calm down, and show me how to constructively handle a situation.  This has been especially difficult with my husband.  Our thinking processes are totally different.  Plus, gaps are formed in processing, maturity, etc.; when an addiction becomes part of someone’s life.  It has made it difficult, at times, to communicate, relate, and understand him.  And, I know that he has struggled in the same way with me.

One way, that we both have learned to deal with it, is to make a joke and laugh about it.  When he says something that is totally illogical or “out there”, instead of trying to reason with him, bring rationality into light, etc.; we joke about how he has “that gap thing going on”.  His awareness of his addiction and his willingness to truly face it, deal with it, and seek helpful solutions has made all of the difference.  I used to try and reason with him.  He would get offended and defensive when I pointed out that he wasn’t thinking clearly or rationally.  Minor issues would turn into huge storms, where nothing constructive resulted from them.  We were both left hurt, frustrated, and confused.

Trusting God in all of this has not been easy.  But, I am more aware now, than ever before that my job is to trust Him, and model an attitude and act in a manner, that cultivates a loving environment for my marriage and family.  When I don’t, the storms that result take up time and energy.  This is a terrible example for my children.  It prevents me from doing the work God has given me to do.  The truth is, it is of the enemy.  And, I don’t want to give the enemy any more of my time or  energy, nor do I want to be someone that the enemy is able to work through, to hurt other people.

P~ Thank you God for your wisdom and insight.  Thank you for my husband.  Thank you for opening his heart enough to allow you to work in him.  I am so thankful that I have a husband that is willing to acknowledge what we refer to as “the gap”, and be open enough to make some changes that will help all us function a little bit better as a couple and family.  Please continue to remind me of his current limitations and how his processing is just different than mine.  Please continue to help me see him through YOUR eyes.  And, as always, please continue to show me, where my thinking, motives, intentions, etc. are not always right or loving.

Trusting the Unknown | Tara Wiley

S~ Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known. I Corinthians 13:12 (NIV)

O~ This verse reminds me of Hebrews 11:1-2, the introduction to the great Hall of Faith: “Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see. This is what the ancients were commended for.”

Faith is, in its very definition, a life of trusting in something not fully known or understood. I cannot fully know God – He is infinite, and this human flesh my soul is currently wrapped in is very finite. I cannot comprehend everything He has for me, for this world, for the future. I do not even know what the very next second holds.

This can be terrifying.

Or it can be freeing.

The choice is mine, and it is a choice of faith. Trusting in One who knows me fully and who has proven Himself through all of history makes the choice a lot easier.

A~ I also can make this choice more easily when I remember that the definition of love that precedes these verses is the very love God offers to me: a perfect, unselfish, untarnished love. The reflections of love that I see in this life that define love for me – even the most admirable aspects of this human love are nothing in comparison to God’s perfect love. The words I have to define God Himself are just dim reflections.

When God startles me… when I cannot understand what He’s up to… or conversely, when He blows me away with His blessing… in all of these circumstances, I have a choice to make.

I choose faith.

P~ Lord, I do not know what the next moment holds, so why should I fret over the big picture unknowns of the next years of our life? When I choose to settle into this moment in faith, the fear disappears. Today, in this moment, I choose faith. I choose to trust You. Pour out increasing measures of faith in me, Lord, to trust You more readily with each passing day.

The Stranger | Kelley DeAses

S~  And now I will show you the most excellent way… [t]he greatest of these is love.  1 Corin. 12:31, 13:13 (NIV)

O~  After Paul talks about the body of Christ, the Church, and how everyone should contribute to it by use of his or her spiritual gifts, he segues into a small chapter detailing what love is and how it is paramount above all else.

A~  Last night, I took part in a viewing and time of discussion surrounding a documentary called “The Stranger.”  Produced by the Evangelical Immigration Table, it relayed the heartbreaking stories of three families — one from Mexico, one from China, and one from South Africa — to highlight an immigration system in this country which is sorely broken, ridiculously complex, and errs on the side of punitive measures over compassionate solutions at every turn.  At its core, this film challenged us to inform our thinking and form our response to immigration issues not as liberals or conservatives, Democrats or Republicans, but as Christ followers, asking “What does the Bible say we are to do with respect to the stranger/foreigner/alien/the least of these?  As Christians we are called to show the love of God and share the good news of the gospel.

P~  Father, Help me to re-frame my thinking to realize the “issues of the day” have human faces and real stories.  Give me Your heart of compassion and service for all those I meet, regardless of legal status.  And help me to pray and support the Church as it seeks to affect positive change, as well as God-fearing leaders who take on the monumental task of implementing policies which can either crush or empower individuals and families.

www.thestrangerfilm.org

http://evangelicalimmigrationtable.com

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on February 28, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I have never heard of that program Kelley. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

