February 25 Numbers 17-18; Psalm 29; Mark 4

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Service | Nikki Metzger

S~ I am giving you the priesthood as your special privilege of service.  Numbers 18:7 (NLT)

O~ The Lord is sharing with Aaron about the priests duties.  God calls is a special privilege of service.  It reminds me of what Peter says in 1 Peter 2:9 about us….you are a chosen people.  You are royal priests…

A~ So if we are part of God’s family,we are called priests, royal priests.  God says that the priesthood is a special privilege of service.  So I’m a part of that special privilege to God.  If we believe in Jesus, we are all a part of that.  What does that mean to me?

It is a special privilege to serve God’s creation.  Every work of service to my family; while mundane and boring, is actually a special privilege of service.  I’m blessed!  God picked me to be my kid’s mom and Chad’s wife!

P~ Father, thank You for that truth!  It is a privilege to serve You by serving my family!

Choose To Hear | Jill Terry

S~ And He was saying, “He who has ears to hear, let him hear.” Mark 4:9 (NAS)

O~ Jesus is teaching the ever-increasing crowds and the apostles. Jesus tells them very plainly if you have ears, listen to Me. Jesus goes on to say that some will hear the message and take it to heart, some will ignore His message and others will follow Him for a while and then step away from the Truth. (Mark 4: 13-20)

A~ Jesus offers a simple statement. Listen and believe but not all are ready or willing to follow Him. Jesus could force everyone to believe in Him but he does not take that path, we get to choose. Jesus offers unconditional grace and forgiveness, yet so many turn away from Him. I was 31 years old before I used the ears God gave me and chose to hear the truth.

I read a story a while ago about a Christian woman whose child was not a believer. She prayed every day for 20 years for her child to become a Christian. She died before that ever happened, but it did happen. God heard the cries and prayer of a mother for her child. She didn’t live long enough to see an answer to her prayers, but she was confident that one day God would answer them and He did.

Two of my boys are not believers. One was but has turned his back on Jesus and the other never has believed. I know I cannot force them to believe in the simplicity and beauty of the gospel and in the grace only found through Christ Jesus. But, I have the ability to pray and as long as there is a breath in me, I will pray for my children to become believers.

I may never see the day when my boys become Christians but I fully believe it will happen, one day. The power of prayer offers me the hope that one day I will be in paradise with all of my children!

P~ Dear Jesus, Thank you for the ability to pray. I lift my boys before You again to ask that they will one day be redeemed and become the Christian men that I know they are called to be. In Your name I pray. Amen

Where is your garden seed planted? | Joni Tyner

S~  Jesus speaking, “The seed on the rocky soil represents those who hear the message and immediately receive it with joy. 17. But since they don’t have deep roots, they don’t last long. They fall away as soon as they have problems or are persecuted for believing God’s Word.”  Mark 4: 16-17  (NLT)

O~ In Mark 4, Jesus shares a parable about 4 different types of soil that seeds can be planted in. He correlates this to how people respond to the message of the Good News. I specifically chose 16-17 because it struck me as sad.  I read the first part, “they immediately receive it with joy” and I am happy. I feel joy when I hear from God. That’s good.  Then I read on and these believers fizzle out. They didn’t  have strong deep roots and when hard times hit them, they checked out.  I’ve seen many people who run into difficult circumstances and they choose poor coping instead of God.  They may get apathetic, angry, destructive (to themselves and others) or just plain too busy.  How often have you heard of someone saying they are “trying to keep busy” as a coping method to a difficult situation?  The point is, they chose something other than God for their comfort.

A~ I remember a Sunday message years ago about what our faith (and home) is built upon.  There are two options, we can choose to build on the solid rock of Jesus, or we can choose shifting sand. I remember him saying how “trouble will come, it comes to all believers eventually” and “that when trouble comes, we’ll know where we built our house.”  This could also be translated as if you’ve got deep spiritual roots.

And trouble came.  We were awakened to a 3am phone call that no parent ever wants to get.  I remember that night and not finding words for a prayer, all I could do was clutch my Bible and cry “Jesus. Jesus.”  It really was a blur. (side note.  I found out later in scripture that the Holy Spirit intercedes for us when we don’t have words that can be spoken. “And the Holy Spirit helps us in our weakness. For example, we don’t know what God wants us to pray for, but the Holy Spirit prays for us with groanings that cannot be expressed in words.” Romans 8:26. )  I really needed the Lord to carry me over the next few months and years. I continued to go church and made the choice to cling to God’s character since our circumstances were out of control. I found out that I did have the beginnings of a good spiritual root system through passive church attendance.  I knew I needed peace in this craziness and that was through reading God’s Word.  I continued to lean into Jesus through lots of pain, fear and disappointment—and my spiritual roots grew deeper and stronger. They continue to grow as a result of this difficult season of life.

P~ Lord, I need You. I just do. I can’t imagine living through all of life’s messes without you.  Thank you for continuing to grow me when I was still planted on rocky soil.  Praise Jesus that my roots found a way to survive—and now even thrive!! Give me opportunities to encourage others when their trials are suffocating them so that they too, might grow deep roots of faith.

Faith Not Fear | Kim Chipman

S~ Then he asked them, “Why are you afraid? Do you still have no faith?” Mark 4:40 (NLT)

O~ Jesus was in a boat with His disciples when a fierce storm came up. The disciples freaked out, Jesus stilled the waters and stopped the storm. This was His response to the disciples.

A~ I’ve gotta say, I’m pretty sure this is OFTEN Your response to ME! Like, “What is your problem? Do you still have no faith?” You have shown Yourself over and over to me, and I do freak our less than I used to, but the disciples’ response is my response I have no doubt.

I look forward in my life and anxiety rises up…how will we ever raise these kids up well? College X 4? Cars, driving? What if they don’t follow You? (I didn’t for awhile, they may not…that would break this Mama’s heart!) Will we have enough to retire and not be a burden? What if one of us gets sick? Or dies? Before our kids are raised? Oh, the layers of life to get anxious about are many!!

“Why are you afraid? Do you still have no faith?” 

Other verses that come to my heart 2 Timothy 1:7, Isaiah 41:10, 1 John 4:18, Prov 3:5-6, Matthew 6:33-34, Matthew 22:37-39, Mark 12:30-31 The disciples, who spent personal, intimate time with Jesus, were terrified when He rebuked the waves. But fear is not from You. Your Word is clear about what to focus on and what my priorities should be.

P~ Lord, help my unbelief! Grow my trust. Help me to live in today – that is trouble enough. Help me to love You and love others well today. I love You!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on February 25, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks for speaking to things on my heart today.

Leave a Reply

