February 24 Numbers 14-16; Mark 3

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Warrior or slave? | Nikki Metzger

S~ Then they plotted among themselves, “Let’s choose a  new leader and go back to Egypt!” Numbers 14:4 (NLT)

O~ A group in the Israelites were devising a plan to get back to Egypt.  It was spurred on because they got reports of how big and strong the people who lived in the towns were.  They didn’t want to fight in battle, they wanted to go back to being a slave in Egypt.

A~ These people have a decision to make: go to Egypt and become a slave or stay and fight like a warrior against something big and strong.  I get to make that decision every day.  I’m a slave to food.  But God also offers me another option…..I can warrior up against this addiction, even though it’s big and strong.  ‘Warrior’ing up has the added benefit of God fighting for me; in front of me, behind me, all around me.

P~ Father, in this….I want to be Your warrior!

Generational Impact | Kim Chipman

S~  ‘The Lord is slow to anger and filled with unfailing love, forgiving every kind of sin and rebellion. But he does not excuse the guilty. He lays the sins of the parents upon their children; the entire family is affected—even children in the third and fourth generations.’ Numbers 14:18 (NLT)

O~ Scouts went into the Promised Land to check it out. 10 of the 12 came back reporting huge, strong, giant people that could never be defeated. Caleb and Joshua had faith that it didn’t matter – God was with them. The whole community was in an uproar and wanted to go back to Egypt. God was angry, but Moses plead on the people’s behalf to spare them.

A~ In some ways this verse seems contradictory to me. First, it speaks of Your patience and forgiveness but then it says You don’t excuse the guilty. What? We’re ALL guilty! Seems to me that while we are forgiven, there are still consequences to our sin – even into 3rd and 4th generations.

What motivation! I desire to serve You and bring You glory. I love You. I honor and respect You. I think Your gift of amazing grace is so humbling that my heart is SO GRATEFUL. I’m extra motivated to do the hard things when I think about it not only affecting ME, but affecting multiple generations after me.  It’s one thing for ME to bear the consequences of my choices. Sometimes it’s *really hard* to choose humility, selflessness, to honor others above myself – they don’t always deserve it! It’s not fair! Dying to myself for Your glory is painful! But SO worth it to make Your name great – to let Your light shine through me – to draw others to You, especially my children and my children’s children. It’s extra worth it if it can positively impact generations after me. Help me to be more like Joshua and Caleb and trust You.

P~ Thank You for Your patient forgiveness. Help me to choose well. Thank You for the reminder that it affects more than just ME…I’m pretty self focused most of the time. I’m working on that. I love You!

A Different Spirit | Susan Aken

S~ But because my servant Caleb has a different spirit and follows me wholeheartedly, I will bring him into the land he went to, and his descendants will inherit it. Numbers 14:24 (NIV)

O~ When the Israelites reached Canaan they sent in 12 spies (one from each tribe) to scout the land. Ten of the spies came back in fear telling them they could never take the land. Only Caleb and Joshua believed they could take the land in God’s power. Because of this, the 10 were judged and only Caleb and Joshua would ever enter the land. Then God spoke this praise about Caleb.

A~ Caleb is such a great example. He didn’t follow the crowd. He was willing to speak the truth even though it was different from the majority. God blessed him for having a “different spirit”. The majority were fearful, negative, lacked faith and did not trust God. Caleb had faith even in spite of insurmountable obstacles. He trusted God with his whole heart. I want to have that wholehearted devotion.

P~ Father, thank you for the example of Caleb. Thank you that we can trust you in spite of circumstances. Help me to be like Caleb. Help me to trust you no matter what and to follow you with my whole heart.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on February 24, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

