February 23 Numbers 12-13; Psalm 90; Mark 2

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

The Real Issue | Robin Laney (guest post)

S~ Miriam and Aaron began to talk against Moses because of his Cushite wife, for he had married a Cushite. “Has the Lord spoken only through Moses?” they asked. “Hasn’t he also spoken through us?” And the Lord heard this. Numbers 12:1-2 (NIV)

O~ Moses was not merely one of God’s prophets. God spoke to him face to face. Moses had seen God’s form. Because of his relationship with God, he had great power and influence over the Israelites who had been put in his charge. Miriam and Aaron were jealous of Moses but because he was not lacking in his leadership, they could not speak against him in that area. Instead of facing their own issues of pride and jealousy, they chose to attack his character by speaking against his choice of wife. God knew their hearts and punished them for their sin.

A~ Many times I take my own insecurities, weaknesses and expectations and project them on to others. My feelings get hurt or I feel neglected or offended and my words to those I perceive to be hurting me come out as, “You make me feel _______; You don’t give me what I need or want; I wish you would do or be ________;You never _______; You always _______; How could you?” The feelings I have in those moments of hurt are real and sometimes are brought on by the actions or words of others but so often there are internal issues for me that really need to be worked out with God before they are expressed. When I don’t deal with my true heart issues before taking my feelings to others my words can be condemning and accusatory. They tear down instead of build up.

When I work through my feelings first and allow God to reveal and heal the condition of my heart, I can then share how I feel in a way that communicates effectively without destroying. Most times, I see that the problem I think I have with someone else is really my own. And always, I can handle hurt better when I allow God to care for my heart before I respond to my feelings.

P~ Father, thank you for feelings and emotions. I pray that You would grant me the self-control to keep mine in check. It’s so easy, Father, to lash out and place the responsibility for my hurts, offenses, and insecurities on someone else. Help me to remember to always come to You first and show me clearly where my heart is not lined up with Yours. Teach me to communicate my feelings well so as to always build up and not tear down.

Life is Short! | Kim Chipman

S~ Teach us to realize the brevity of life, so that we may grow in wisdom. Psalm 90:12 (NLT)

O~ brevity [brev – i – tee] noun shortness of time or duration

wisdom [wiz-duh m] noun the quality or state of being wise; knowledge of what is true or right coupled with just judgment as to action; discernment or insight.

A~ Life is short. It just is! If I realize this (and remember it) then You say I will grow in wisdom. Sometimes I get worked up about things that really aren’t probably all that big of a deal in light of eternity. When I’m too close to something, trying to figure it out, afraid of the future…I need to take a step back to get perspective. I need to remember what I believe to be true. I need to be conscious of what I choose to trust, what I think about, what my decisions and responses are based on. Events here on this earth is a blip on the eternal screen, and ultimately when all is said and done I will be responsible for my choices and my heart alone. I really want to take a lot of people to heaven with me! I need wisdom…knowledge of what is true or right coupled with just judgment as to action…to do that!

P~ Lord, teach me! I want to grow in wisdom. I love You!

Satisfaction | Susan Aken

S~ Satisfy us in the morning with your unfailing love, that we may sing for joy and be glad all our days. Psalm 90:14 (NIV)

O~ This Psalm is a prayer of Moses. The man according to Numbers 12:3 who was more humble than anyone else on the face of the earth. A man we can learn much from. Moses asks God to satisfy us with His unfailing love so that we will be able to sing for joy and always be glad. What a beautiful prayer and a powerful truth!

A~ Isn’t this what we all want? To be glad all our days! To be filled with joy to the end of our lives? One translation I read said, “so that we may shout with joy and be glad all our days.” This is not just a “yeah, I’m ok.” This is JOY. How? We get that joy by finding “Satisfaction” (fulfillment of one’s wishes, expectations or needs) in the morning, first thing – where? We find it in the LORD’s unfailing love. If we have God’s unfailing love, if we truly grasp what that means, we will be satisfied. We will realize we have everything we need. For He is the source of all good things and every good gift. When I really get that, I am filled with joy. I can have that joy all my life if I remember that every morning.

P~ Father, how I praise your Holy name! You are so gracious, good and kind. You have all power and knowledge yet you love me. Thank you that in you I have all I need. Help me to be satisfied with your unfailing and unlimited love every day of my life.

Just What the Doctor Ordered | John DeAses (guest post)

S~ When Jesus heard this, he told them “Healthy people don’t need a doctor – sick  people do.  I have come to call not those who think they are righteous, but those who know they are sinners.”  Mark 2:17 (NLT)

O~ In response to the Pharisees who said why does Jesus eat with tax collectors and sinners, Jesus makes a profound point. The Pharisees looked down upon the tax collectors and sinners, whereas Jesus looked favorably upon this group.   In the eyes of the Pharisees, the tax collectors and sinners were not worthy of their time and were considered outcasts.   Indeed, they thought they were better than or more righteous.   At any rate, the Pharisees were deceiving themselves.  The deception lies in the view of oneself as being healthy when in all actuality, sickness exists.

A~ Jesus has come to call those who know they are sinners.  The day I recognized that I was a sinner and/or sick is the day I received the healing touch from God and was restored back to health.   The truth is I need to be restored back to health continuously.   My sinful nature requires that I have regular checkups with The Great Physician.

P~ Thank you for providing a clean bill of spiritual health this day and every day.   Walk-ins are welcome any time with you.  You have office hours that are 24/7.   I am truly grateful for this availability.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on February 23, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

