February 22 Numbers 10-11; Psalm 27; Mark 1

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Remembering The Miracles | Jill Terry (guest post)

S~ The Lord said to Moses, “Is the Lord’s power limited? Now you shall see whether My word will come true for you or not.” Numbers 11:23 (NAS)

O~ This verse, in fact this whole section of the Bible always astounds me. God has delivered the Israelites from Egypt. He has parted the Red Sea and drowned all of the soldiers chasing them. God gave them manna to eat and yet the Israelites still complain and doubt God.

Right before this verse, God has told Moses that He has heard their pleas and will give them meat for an entire month. Yet, Moses still questions God by asking Him how is that even possible since they are in the middle of the desert.

A~ I am amazed at the Israelites lack of faith and yet I do the same thing. I have seen the miracles God has done in my own life. He healed my husband and saved my youngest son and I from potentially fatal delivery complications. I have seen the times God has provided money or food for my family. Yet, sometimes I am very much like the Israelites and still doubt and question God’s ability. I wonder where money for a bill or food at the end of the month will come from but God has never let us down. I must always remember that God is on my side. My God who created the whole world and everything in it is quite capable of providing everything my family needs and more.

P~ Thank you Jesus for caring enough about my family and me to number the hairs on our head. Forgive me for my doubts when I know You are always there and You are always on my side. In Your name I pray. Amen

Short Arm? | Robin Laney (guest post)

S~ The Lord answered Moses, “Is the Lord’s arm too short? You will now see whether or not what I say will come true for you.” Numbers 11:23 (NIV)

O~ The Israelites had experienced God in so many incredible ways on their journey to the Promised Land. They benefited from the fresh miracle of manna every single morning yet they longed for the ‘free’ fish that they ate in Egypt. They whined and whined until God told Moses that He would provide so much meat for the people that it would come out their nostrils.

Moses had not only witnessed every one of God’s miracles concerning the Israelites’ rescue but he had actually facilitated many of them, including the parting of the Red Sea. Yet, when God told him that He would provide meat for the people, Moses immediately took the burden of providing it on to himself. He tried to figure out in his own mind how in the world he would feed a million people or more.

His burden of responsibility for God’s people was already great and he made it heavier by forgetting what God had already done.

A~ God created the Universe. His miracles and provisions are recorded over and over in His written Word, which, in itself, is a miracle. I have seen Him work in my life, time and time again, and my faith is strengthened by the testimony of others who have experienced His incredible power. Yet, I forget so quickly.

So many times I testify to His greatness yet when trouble comes, like Moses, I take the burden on myself as if it is too big for God. Is anything too difficult for Him? Is His arm too short?

P~ Lord, I am amazed by You! When I consider Your extravagant love, Your abundant mercy, Your immeasurable grace, Your perfect timing, Your constant provision, Your close attention to every detail and Your incredible power I am left speechless. Help me to be mindful, always, that You can do anything – far more than I could ever imagine or guess or request in my wildest dreams! (Eph 3:20 MSG)

Shelter From the Storm | Joni Tyner

S~  For He will conceal me there when troubles come; he will hide me in his sanctuary. He will place me out of reach on a high rock. Psalm 27:5 (NLT)

O~  “When troubles come.”  This tells me there WILL be troubles. It will come to all believers, –but, I will be kept safe in His dwelling. He is my protector and there is safety in staying close, abiding in Him.  David asks the Lord in 27:4 “One thing I ask, that I may dwell in the house of the Lord a days of my life.”  When we seek Him, He is there.  He will hide me in the shelter of His tabernacle.  Again, He is my Protector. He tells us that His house is our shelter.

A~   It’s winter in Nebraska, I think most people understand that means that the temperatures outside are cold and unfriendly.  Our state has many parks and camping areas that in the summer are full of joy, laughter and people—yet today, because it’s cold, they are deserted. People have retreated to their shelter (homes, hotels) until the extreme weather passes and it is once again pleasant and welcoming.   Similarly, life can give us extreme storms  and we need to have shelter from the difficulties of life.  His arms and His house, (the church body) are there waiting for us. A refuge in the storm.

I have been involved in a personal discipleship with a young woman for the past 6 months or so. We try to meet weekly and go through a lesson that helps us understand our faith better through scripture that points to Biblical standards.  We met last evening and we were talking about difficult times and hardships.  Life is hard for some people.  Sometimes, people have tough, TOUGH things that don’t just last weeks or months, but decades, —their entire life. How do they cope? What do they do?  What is their shelter from life’s difficulties?

I know for me, our family has been is a difficult season for the past six years, We have children who have made poor life choices and we are sucked into their consequences.  I have wept buckets of tears and I don’t understand why this storm cloud has parked over our family.  It relentlessly rains painful circumstances that grieve my heart.

I need a refuge from the storm. I need shelter to regain my perspective. 

I need hope that this is NOT all there is. There are still many unwritten chapters in our story.

The last part of verse 5, “He puts me on a high rock.”   God wants me to see clearly His movement in this storm. He wants me to see His faithfulness.  I can’t stay in the shadows, crying, being sad and hiding.  There comes a time that we need to step out of the shelter and move up to that high, visible rock.  There comes a day of joy, song and music. “I will have shouts of joy and sing and make music to the Lord.”  (verse 27:6-7)   And I do–most Sundays and pretty much every day in my car, I praise Jesus with my songs of praise. I am eagerly anticipating and looking forward to seeing His glory in our family.  My “assignment” is to trust Him and allow Him to work in the lives of my kids as I grow in patience, unconditional love and perspective.

P~ Lord, I love your sanctuary.  There was a time not long ago that it completely held my grieving heart. I needed rest for my weariness. I was broken and you held me. Your church sustained me and continued to pour hope into me. Now, most days, I feel like I’m on the high rock and I have shouts of joy and like to sing and make music.  Thank you so much for being my everything.  I love You.

A response to healing | Nikki Metzger

S~ So He went to her bedside, took her by the hand, and helped her sit up.  Then the fever left her, and she prepared a meal for them. Mark 1:31 (NLT)

O~ This is the account of when Jesus healed Peter’s mom in law.

A~ My thoughts tend to run toward the flesh, when I hear this story.  Every time too.  I always have this unholy side thought: Jesus healed this woman because He was hungry and wanted dinner.

No.

I am wrong.

After being in bed with with a fever and sickness, she wanted to serve the Man who healed her.  She was so weak and sick that she couldn’t even get up by herself, Jesus had to help her up.

Then imagine how she felt after the Author and Perfecter of our faith healed her.  I believe that when Jesus heals, He doesn’t just take away the sickness, I think He just heals everything else; achy joints, arthritic fingers, the pain in the leg.  Peter’s mother in law just wanted to serve (the way she probably knew) the Man who saved her.

As I’m asking Jesus for healing from food addiction, I want my response to be like Peter’s mother in law.  When I’m healed, I hope the first thing I do is just serve Jesus right back.  What a honor!

P~ Father, thank You for caring about those things that matter to me.  As we walk this journey of healing from food addiction, may I be like Peter’s mom in law…..when I’m healed I want to jump up and serve You!  In Jesus’ Name I pray!

Very Early in the Morning | Kelley DeAses

S~ Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where he prayed.  Mark 1:35 (NIV)

O~ I love the idea that I have the same morning ritual Jesus did during his time on earth.  I, too, get up very early in the morning, while it is still dark.  I don’t leave the house, but I go to a solitary place (well, anyplace is solitary when my husband is at work and my little guy is sleeping…) and sit with my Father.

A~  To be “like Christ” does not necessarily mean I have to get up early to read and pray.  But I am blessed by the knowledge we share this habit in common.  For all the ways I fall pitifully short of living a Christ-like life, in this small thing I can celebrate.  I do the same thing Jesus did.  Of course, I enjoy the luxury of a comfy chair, a soft blanket, a hot mug of freshly-brewed coffee from a K-cup, my ball point pen and composition notebook, and my favorite NIV Bible in its decorative cover.  Even still, the heart is the same.

P~ Father, Thank You for showing me this verse this morning and blessing my day with the knowledge that I share a daily routine Your Son observed when He was among us.  I must be doing something right!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on February 22, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

