February 19 Numbers 5-6; Psalm 22; Acts 26

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

“Tradition” | Kelley DeAses

S~ The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make his face to shine upon you; the Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace.  Numbers 6:24-26 (NIV)

O~  God conveyed to Moses that Aaron and his sons, the priests, were to bless the Israelites using these words.

A~  At the church of my childhood, and where I still attend on occasion with my parents, the pastor often recites these verses at the conclusion of the service as a blessing to send us out.  So to imagine these exact same words being spoken over believers thousands of years ago is a wonder.  It ties my own experience with that of the historical Church and gives me a sense of community which spans the boundaries of geography and time.

P~  Father, Thank you for all the ways You have shown Your love to Your children.  You have greatly blessed us to, in turn, be a blessing to those who do not know You.  Thank You for traditions that transcend our own time and families and circumstance and culture, but connect us all the way back to Your chosen ones You delivered out of their bondage all those centuries ago.

I Need You | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  Deliver my soul from the sword, my life from the power of the dog!  Psalm 22:20  (NLT)

O~  The writer of this Psalm was going through horrible things that others were inflicting on him, and he cries out to you.

A~  It is in you, Lord, that I find peace, that I am comforted, that I have understanding.  Yet when life gets hard, I withdraw, even from you and how much more wretched I become.  I see that I do this and yet I continue to do it.  😦

P~ I need you, Jesus.  Is this pride? Fear? Control?  I don’t know, I just know it’s keeping me from what I need most, You. Please show me and help me to turn to you in my pain.  Thank you for loving me.

Uncircumstantial | Kim Chipman

S~ Paul replied, “Whether quickly or not, I pray to God that both you and everyone here in this audience might become the same as I am, except for these chains.” Acts 26:29 (NLT)

O~ Paul has been imprisoned for quite some time for speaking about Jesus. He just recalled to King Agrippa how he himself used to persecute Christians until he had an encounter with Jesus. Since his encounter he has been preaching to the Gentiles about faith in Jesus. Agrippa asked if Paul thought he could persuade him so quickly? Whether quickly or not he wanted to persuade them all!

A~ Paul didn’t seem to care about getting out of jail, really, as much as winning everyone he came in contact with to Christ. I want to be more like that. Really not care about my circumstances as much as I care about others’ hearts. Use every opportunity to speak about You, to show Your love and grace available through faith. I sometimes (oftentimes) feel so inadequate and stumble around but I know You can use every situation you allow in my life. I know You want to use my every day comings and goings and relationships to show Yourself through me. I know it is a lie of the evil one that I need to get it together in some organized big thing. You can use every little thing. Paul is a great example of this. No matter where he is he talks about You and Your promises.

P~ Use me! I love You!

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on February 19, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

