February 12 Leviticus 18, 19; Psalm 13; Acts 19

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Who do I Imitate? | Joni Tyner

S~ So do not act like the people in Egypt, where you used to live or like the people of Canaan, where I am taking you. You must not imitate their way of life. Leviticus 18:3 (NLT)

O~ Leviticus has chapter upon chapter of rules about sacrifices to God and what to do and not do. Honestly,  I’ve skimmed over it,  there is just so much detail about this animal is worthy of sacrifice, that one is not. God had lots of rules for the Israelites, they had to bring unblemished specific animals to atone their sins.  We, today, live under the blood of Jesus,  the ultimate sacrifice for sin and do not need to show up at church with livestock. (praise’n you, Jesus!!)  So, in the middle of all those rules this scripture spoke to me as being appropriate for 2015.  This is my paraphrase:

“Do no act like the people of this world—that is who you used to be, Do not imitate their way of life.”

A~ I struggle with this, I want to be liked, I like to be included. How do I do this and yet not imitate “their” way of life?  How do I live and work and “play” in the world and still maintain my Christian values and integrity?  How do I teach my kids to live in the world but not imitate their way of life?

Over the past couple of years, I’ve grown in my commitment to read the Bible.  By getting into God’s Word on a consistent basis, I am constantly “fed” His values.  Things like honesty and integrity (not lying) , modesty,  generosity, contentment, love, forgiveness, kindness  and many others. When I have that daily reminder from reading the Bible, I am more likely to embrace the standards of the Bible.  I am a work in progress, but I do know what to do and what not to do.  I also have the Holy Spirit living within me to help me live to a higher standard.

P~ Dear Lord, please help me to not worry and compare myself to others, especially people who don’t follow You. I want to be an imitator of You!!!  I pray that Your Holy Spirit will constantly realign me with Your values and steer me clear of situations that are unpleasing to You.

Find Life | Kim Chipman

S~ If you obey my decrees and my regulations, you will find life through them. I am the Lord. Leviticus 18:5 (NLT)

O~ The Lord is giving Moses laws and standards for His people to live by.

A~ I grew up in a religion of rules. There was nothing life giving about my relationship with You. I felt like You were a task master, just ready to strike me with lightning the moment I walked over the line. I often felt guilt and shame.

As I have come to know You – really KNOW You – I know this is not Your character. You are love. you are also just, but You give guidelines so I can FIND LIFE. Not find guilt and shame for failing. LIFE. You want to meet me and share Your power but I must choose it…but it isn’t choosing rules so I don’t get in trouble. It’s choosing a relationship…it’s choosing LIFE.

P~ I love You! I love Your Word!

Put this into practice | Nikki Metzger

S~ You must be careful to keep all of My decrees and regulations by putting them into practice.  I am the Lord. Leviticus 19:37 (NLT)

O~ God is giving His people many rules and regulations to live by.  The Lord tells Moses to tell the people they need to them all and put it into practice.

A~ Oh, it’s so easy to sit in my living room and read, study, and pray.  It’s the putting it into practice that’s the hard part.  For me anyway, at this place in my life.

He’s saying it’s time to put what I know into practice, just do this!!  The process of getting healthy: I need to take my knowledge, prayers, habits, etc. and put them into practice.

My part in the Holy Spirit’s work of getting self control is preparation and carrying out God’s instructions (off Luke 12:47). “And a servant who knows what the Master wants, but isn’t prepared and doesn’t carry out those instructions, will be severely punished.” God’s clear.  Get healthy!  Exercise and eat healthy.  To do that, I need to prepare and put a plan into practice (today’s verse!)

P~ Father, help me put Your plan into practice.  Every day.

How Long? | Kelley DeAses

S~ How long must I wrestle with my thoughts and every day have sorrow in my heart?  How long will my enemy triumph over me?  Psalm 13:2 (NIV)

O~ There are certainly seasons in life for all of us when we are in the pit, whether following a major tragedy or simply a period where circumstances just don’t seem to be going our way.  And, like David, we want to shake our fist at heaven and cry, “How long, Lord?”

A~ I met a young woman last night at the children’s museum who has no doubt been asking God, “How long?”  She and I struck up a conversation while our kids were running around and playing happily.  She told me she was raising her two boys, ages two and four, on her own ever since her husband left them shortly after the youngest was born.  I was heartened to learn she has a faith in Jesus Christ and a church home (in fact, we attend the same church but had never met!) and is raising her little boys accordingly.  But as I read this psalm this morning I thought of the sorrow she must feel not to have a husband to support her and for her sons not to have their daddy to train them up.  In fact, I know her sorrow because I have been there too.  (She and I made plans to connect again at church, where hopefully we can spend more time and I can continue to encourage her with my testimony of finding life and hope after divorce.)

P~ Father, I pray for this young lady and am pleased You orchestrated our meeting last night.  Help me to be a blessing to her as she may feel in the pit; that even as she wonders “How long?” she might find You there in a way she could not have known in easier circumstances.

You, Above All Else | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  A number of them who had been practicing magic brought their incantation books and burned them at a public bonfire. The value of the books was several million dollars.  Acts 19:19  (NLT)

O~  What seemed important and valuable before, held no more value and importance when in your presence.

A~  I want to be so connected to you, Lord, that you are bigger and everything else is in its proper order.

P~ Dear Father, my desire of where I want to be and where I actually am don’t seem to match up.  Please show me the way. Keep me close to you and show me how to stay close to you.  I love you.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on February 12, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Luisa,

    Doesn’t that just say it all?

    “What seemed important and valuable before, held no more value and importance when in your presence.”

    Thank you for reminding me of this valuable truth this morning.

Leave a Reply

