February 5 Exodus 39, 40; Psalm 15; Acts 12

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Follow the Cloud | Kim Chipman

S~ Now whenever the cloud lifted from the Tabernacle, the people of Israel would set out on their journey, following it. But if the cloud did not rise, they remained where they were until it lifted. Exodus 40:36-37 (NLT)

O~ The Tabernacle was God’s home on earth, now completed. There was a cloud that settled over it during the day and at night fire glowed inside the cloud so everyone could see it. Now the Holy Spirit lives within each believer, we are His Tabernacle.

A~ My desire is to follow wherever You lead. There isn’t a physical cloud anymore, but by spending time with You I can sense Your leading and guiding. Sometimes I follow quickly, other times I question, drag my feet, search for clarity (even when I already have it, but may not understand or want to follow). I desire to be closely following the cloud. My soul craves Your presence.

P~ Lord, help me to follow You quickly, without questioning, justifying or disobeying. Help my unbelief! Grow my trust! I love You!

Slander | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  Those who refuse to slander others or harm their neighbor or speak evil of their friends. Psalm 15:3 (NLT)

O~  slander – make false and damaging statements about someone

Synonyms: defame (someone’s character), blacken someone’s nae, tell lies about, speak ill of someone’s reputation

A~ So, I have been learning boundaries in my life. In the process I have shared those situations with my husband, my sisters, my friends. Though it is helpful for me to share with someone I trust in order to help me process, I feel I have gone beyond that. 😦

P~ Heavenly Father please forgive me for continuing to speak about this person in my life and out difficulties.  Help me discern my motives in sharing.  Please remind me to seek you first for help. Thank you for your love, for your mercy.  I love you.

No Easy Answers | Susan Aken

S~ He had James, the brother of John, put to death with the sword. When he saw that this met with approval among the Jews, he proceeded to seize Peter also. This happened during the Festival of Unleavened Bread…Suddenly an angel of the Lord appeared and a light shone in the cell…Peter followed him out of the prison. Acts 12:2-9 (NIV)

O~ There was a time of great persecution against the church after Stephen was stoned. During that time, James was put to death and Peter was imprisoned. But God sent an angel to deliver Peter.

A~ Life is full of situations like these. Both James and Peter were disciples. Both believed in Jesus and followed Him. Both were giving their lives to tell others about Jesus. Yet, James was killed and Peter was delivered. Did Peter have greater faith? Did people pray for Peter more than James? Life is full of questions with no easy answers. Why does one baby die and another doesn’t? We don’t understand when one person who prays is healed and another who prays dies. I don’t think Peter had more faith. I think we can’t always know the answers. Also, we are so tied to an earthly perspective. God has an eternal perspective. He can’t possibly view death the way we do. Especially for Christians because death does not really exist for those in Christ, we just move to another place. It doesn’t make it less painful when there is a death we don’t understand, but we can have peace knowing that God has all wisdom, all power and sees the end from the beginning.

P~ Jesus, help me have faith that trusts you no matter what the outcome in life. I know there are people who are hurting because their prayer wasn’t answered the way they hoped. Please help them. Help us to trust you always. Help us to see from the perspective of eternity.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on February 5, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

