February 1 Exodus 30-32; Acts 8

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Creating Margin in my Life | Joni Tyner

S~ But the believers who were scattered preached the Good News about Jesus wherever they went. Acts 8:4 (NLT)

O~ ”the believers were scattered.” This tells me they were in all sorts of different places. They didn’t huddle together and keep to themselves. They were out and about doing God’s work. They were also preaching the Good News and sharing their faith with others. There was intention with their sharing of the gospel.  I’m guessing they didn’t necessarily choose the places the places they were “scattered” to, but they lived out their faith wherever they went.

A~ As a believer, I see this text demonstrating that we are to share the Good News where we are. This means talking to others about our faith in work, our social life, shopping, just wherever we are. I believe we will be most effective when were are prepared, this means knowing the scriptures and being intentional with people. We can create opportunities to share and have spiritual conversations.  Part of this being available is to put margin into our life while we are out and about.  When we aren’t rushed, we are most able to give help and love others.

Recently I ran over to Walmart on a Saturday  afternoon with to get some groceries “real quick”.  I dashed about and picked a young girl’s checkout line thinking she would be fast. (note: youth isn’t a solid indicator of speed at Walmart)  Not so. She was the sweetest thing, visiting and talking about everything with the lady in front of me. Then it was my turn and the same thing. A  big smile and full of questions, comments, fun little chit-chat–but I was in a hurry and needed to get this task done. I was frustrated and annoyed.  I practically grabbed the groceries out of her hand and I did bag them myself.  I KNEW I should have been friendly and receptive to her but I was running late and just didn’t have time to be “nice”.  The Holy Spirit was convicting me because I knew in a different scenario, I would have completely enjoyed her and it really was have been a mini-high in my day. Buuuut,…because I had zero margin in my shopping trip, I lost the opportunity to enjoy her sweet personality and perhaps offer her encouragement.  I was frustrated with myself that I made the decision to fit “one more thing”  into that afternoon.

P~  Lord, You know my multiple personalities.  I like to do lots of things and get lots of things done. I also like to socialize and talk and have fun.  I also love to do things for other people and so enjoy the opportunity to cheer them up or just brighten their day a bit.  Give me wisdom to balance out my day to day stuff and appropriately fit in people.  I want margin to be a part of my day so that when a Divine appointment comes my way, I’m not rushing through it or missing it all together.  Oh yea, when I’m strapped for time at the grocery store, maybe some discernment about which cashier is the fastest would be nice!! :O    (jk  Jesus!!)

Cannot Be Bought | Kim Chipman

S~ When Simon saw that the Spirit was given when the apostles laid their hands on people, he offered them money to buy this power. Acts 8:18 (NLT)

O~ Peter and John laid hands on some believers and they received the Holy Spirit. Simon was a sorcerer – amazing people and claiming to be someone great. When he saw them he wanted to buy this power.

A~ This guy Simon could live in America today! Trying to buy power to make himself great. Buy the quick fix – pay for power.

You want my heart. If living with integrity, character, and Your Spirit then anyone could/would do it. There are days I wish I could buy humility – my pride gets in my way over and over again. You want my heart. You want me to die to myself and choose You. This is so hard! It can’t be bought. You desire relationship. You can’t buy a relationship. You can’t buy connection. You have to choose that. I have the opportunity many zillions of times a day to choose You but I have to choose it. The great thing is that everyone is the same here. There are no expectations…just choose. If it were affection or relationship with expectations attached it wouldn’t be LOVE. You are love. You want me to love. If I have relationship with expectations it isn’t love…it’s transactional…Love isn’t a transaction, it isn’t a trade, it can’t be given with expectations. That doesn’t feel like love.

P~ Thank You so much for Your Word. Thank you for loving me, for loving me without expectations. Thank You for showing me this truth. Thank You that all I need to do is choose You. I love You!

A Right Heart | Kelley DeAses

S~ You have no part or share in this ministry, because your heart is not right before God.  Acts 8:21 (NIV)

O~ Peter is talking here to a man named Simon who had practiced sorcery and received considerable attention.  After hearing the message of the gospel, Simon believed and was baptized in the name of Jesus Christ.  But when he saw others being baptized with the Holy Spirit and the miracles they were able to perform, he sought to purchase this gift for himself.  Purchase, as in, with money!  In the above verse, Peter rebukes Simon for not having pure motives and a right heart.

A~  I am starting a new job today. While I have enjoyed the last few years as a stay-at-home wife and mom, my husband and I, when approached about this opportunity just the other day, felt it would be a good fit — a church staff position, part-time and flexible so as not to impede on family time.  But as I step into this, it is my true desire to follow God’s leading, and do what He wants me to do.  God has blessed our family richly as we have sought to sit with Him regularly and be sensitive to where He’s calling us.  I just crave that more and more – to know I am right where He has positioned me and doing just what He would have me do.

P~  Father, Pastor Francis Chan hit it on the head when he wrote, “Our greatest fear should not be of failure, but of succeeding at things in life that don’t really matter.”  As long as I am being lead and used by You, Lord — at home, at work, wherever I am — it matters.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on February 1, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Roxsan Rodrigues

    Mahalo ladies..I needed to be reminded to slow down and and not be in too much of a hurry where I dont enjoy the happiness of others around me.

Leave a Reply

