January 28 Exodus 21, 22; Psalm 12; Acts 4

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Spend Time With Jesus | Kim Chipman

S~ The members of the council were amazed when they saw the boldness of Peter and John, for they could see that they were ordinary men with no special training in the Scriptures. They also recognized them as men who had been with Jesus. Acts 4:13 (NLT)

O~ Peter and John were healing and speaking to the people and teaching that through Jesus there is resurrection of the dead. The priests and Sadducees arrested them and put them in jail. The next day the council of all the rulers and elders and teachers of religious law asked them “By what power or in whose name have you done this?” They were filled with the Holy Spirit and answered boldly.

A~ I am no different from Peter and John (in some ways). I am ordinary. Sometimes painfully. I have no special training in the Scriptures. I just read them daily (well, most days). I have the Holy Spirit available and can choose to be bold in witness of You.

A deep desire of my heart is that I would be recognized as having been with Jesus. I want my family to be drawn to You because of me. I want friends and acquaintances to see You through me. The only way that I can be recognized as having been with You is TO BE WITH YOU. Revolutionary? Not really. I just read this article the other day called The One Thing You Need To Make a Change. The author points out that we waste more time trying to find an easier way to do something than if we would just do the work. “We have no lack of information, but we have a severe lack of discipline.We search for quick fixes and exert our efforts in all of the wrong places. We want the results, but then we spend all of our energy trying to bypass the very thing that produces results: hard work.” So, if I want people to see You in me…I need to be disciplined to spend time with You. And I need to be listening, not talking.

P~ Lord, help me to remember all the amazing benefits to sitting with You. Help me remember that some other things can wait, this is important and worth the effort, diligence, and discipline. I love You so much and I want to take lots of people to heaven with me! I’m trying to get out of Your way so You can shine through. I love You!

We Can’t Stop | Kelley DeAses

S~ For we cannot help speaking about what we have seen and heard. Acts 4:20 (NIV)

O~ Peter and John have been arrested, spent the night in jail, and were threatened by the religious leaders to keep quiet. This all stemmed from the apostles’ healing of a crippled man in the name of the resurrected Jesus.  Empowered by the Holy Spirit, these two do not back down, but boldly retort that it would be impossible for them to keep quiet, having witnessed Jesus in His supernatural greatness.

A~ I have seen God work powerfully in my life and have heard amazing testimonies which have further confirmed my faith. Yet, in the face of far less daunting threats than those faced by Peter and John, I so often back down and keep quiet.

P~ Father, You have given me the same Spirit that first came upon Peter and John at Pentecost.  Help me to more fully operate out of the Spirit’s power which I know is available to me, but seems to get smothered when I am caught up in myself and my own insecurities.

Share Your Toys! | Susan Aken

S~ All the believers were one in heart and mind. No one claimed that any of their possessions was their own, but they shared everything they had. Acts 4:32 (NIV)

O~ This passage describes what the first church was like after the Holy Spirit was given to the believers.

A~ This verse always convicts me. “They shared everything they had.” If someone had a need, and one of the members could meet it, they did. I have always struggled with being selfish and a bit too concerned about my “stuff”. I want to live in a way that I would be willing to share whatever I have. I have learned a lot from my husband in this area. He has always considered his truck or trailer as being available to help others. I don’t want to hold on to “stuff” so tightly that I am not willing to use what I have to help someone. Sharing always brings joy (when shared without expectation of return). So why not do it freely?

P~ Lord, thank you that you have brought me a long way in this area and I know you are not done yet! Please help me continue to grow and be willing to share whatever I have. Help me be generous with my time, money and my stuff. It is all yours God. Every single thing is a gift. Please use it all for your glory.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on January 28, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

