January 25 Exodus 12,13; Psalm 21; Acts 1

Join our chronological walk through the Gospels at www.DiscoverOneThingOnlineStudy.com

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Live It Out | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  Then your children will ask, “What does all this mean?  What is this ceremony about?”

And in the future your children will ask you, ‘What does this all mean?’ Then you will tell them, ‘With mighty power the Lord brought us out of Egypt from our slavery.’   Exodus 12:13 and 13:14  (NLT)

O~  Your children will ask.

A~  I strive in this area as I’m pretty sure other moms do: How to share my faith. “Maybe I’ll say this…”

It sounds like here it is about living it out and when my children ask about why we do the things we do, I can share about my faith.  I don’t have to strive to make it happen, I can wait for the opportunity to share as I live out my faith.

P~  Heavenly Father, thank you for the example of those that went before me.  Help me to live for you in such a way that my children or others ask about it and when they do help me be ready to share.  Thank you. I love you.

Who am I Taking With Me? | Kim Chipman

S~ A rabble of non-Israelites went with them, along with great flocks and herds of livestock. Exodus 12:38 (NLT)

O~ As God said, after the plagues and the death of all the Egyptian firstborn the Egyptians drove the Israelites out. They not only LET them leave to worship God freely, but they MADE them leave. All of them and all of their stuff. Take it and GET OUT! Some non-Israelites (presumably Egyptians?) joined them – a rabble of them

rabble [rabuh l]: noun 1. a disorderly crowd; mob. 2. the rabble, the lower classes; the common people

A~ I’ve never noticed this before – other people left Egypt with the Israelites! Why would that be? I guess if I just saw the miracles, signs and plagues that You sent on behalf of Your people I’d want out of there, too! Clearly they were Your favored, Your presence was with them. A couple days ago it stood out to me that You were hardening Pharaoh’s heart so You could multiply Your miraculous signs and wonders…and people saw that and believed!

Who would follow me because of Your obvious presence in my life? Anyone? I don’t want anyone to follow ME, but to see YOU. Truly, the goal of my existence is to draw many to You, to make You known in a real, tangible way. Sometimes this is most difficult with the people I love the very most, my family. Do they see Jesus through me? Do they see your miracles in my life?

P~ Help me to get out of Your way enough that others can see You through me and desire to follow You because of your miraculous signs and wonders. Apart from You I can do nothing. Everything good in me is from You. I love You!

God Fights For Me | Kelley DeAses

S~ O Lord, the king rejoices in your strength.  How great is his joy in the victories you give!  Psalm 21:1 (NIV)

O~ David is talking about himself, the king.  Yet he acknowledges it is the Lord’s strength and the Lord’s victories which have brought him joy.  It was because of David’s humility, seeking God’s guidance and acknowledging Him in every circumstance, that God elevated David to a position of power (though a lowly shepherd and the youngest of his brothers) and gave him success (many victories over his enemies in battle) and longevity (he reigned forty years over Israel — seven years in Hebron and thirty-three in Jerusalem, and then his son Solomon sat on the throne, 1 Kings 2:11-12).

A~  The sermon our pastor delivered on Sunday was entitled, “Our God Fights For Us.”  And I have lived long enough to testify to the truth of that.  Any profound victory, divine revelation, spiritual growth, or effective witness I have experienced has been all Him.  I shudder to think where I would be without His hand saving me, protecting me, and gently guiding me.  And I don’t need to dwell on that, but simply remember to be grateful for the victories He has given me.

P~  Father,  Thank You for Your great love and Your great sacrifice for me.  Thank You for handing me victory over struggles, relationships, and situations where I was powerless to even stand up and fight.

We Will Not Be Shaken | Susan Aken

S~ For the king trusts in the LORD: through the unfailing love of the Most High he will not be shaken. Psalm 21:7 (NIV)

O~ David faced many hard things in his life but throughout it all he trusted in the unfailing love of the LORD. Therefore he knew he was secure and could never be shaken. He was secure in the hands of Almighty God.

A~ What a beautiful verse and promise. God’s unfailing love holds me securely. I do not need to be afraid. I will trust in His unfailing love. Circumstances may shake around me but I will not be shaken.

P~ Thank you Father for your unfailing love! Thank you that you hold me securely in your hands. You are my rock and my fortress. My ever present help in trouble. I will rest in your hands.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on January 25, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

